CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1978 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1978 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 99 58 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 10 4 2 22 452 301 L2 2-3-1
Home 8 4 3 1 9 193 146 L2 3-2-1
Visitor 8 6 1 1 13 259 155 L1 4-1-1
Intra-division 12 7 3 2 16 291 236 L2 2-3-1
Inter-division 4 3 1 0 6 161 65 W3 3-1-0

Full 1978 League Standings

Eskimos 1978 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)1-1-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-1 (2)0-0-1 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1)1-0-0 (1)--
Montreal Alouettes (1)--1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (1)0-1-0 (1)--
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)0-1-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Toronto Argonauts (1)--1-0-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1978 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 35,562
  • High: 42,778
  • Avg: 36,027 (8 out of 72 games)
  • Variance over 1977 Avg: +10,703.0
  • Low: 24,962
  • Sellouts: 7
  • % of Capacity: 101.31%
  • Variance from League Avg: +4,157

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1978 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 42,500
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1978 – Opened 1978

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton49459466931593850884071111
Opponent173855702898164662434386

Edmonton Eskimos 1978 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 1 Tue. June 13 10:00 PM EDM 19 @ CGY 25 L 22,155
B 5 Sat. June 17 9:30 PM TOR 14 @ EDM 26 W 25,007
C 10 Sat. June 24 EDM 8 @ HAM 18 L 20,056
D 17 Tue. July 4 BC 1 @ EDM 46 W 22,795
1 22 Thu. July 13 CGY 17 @ EDM 33 W 25,277
2 24 Tue. July 18 9:00 PM EDM 29 @ WPG 28 W 25,973 CBCW
3 29 Wed. July 26 10:00 PM EDM 46 @ SSK 11 W 19,587
4 32 Tue. Aug. 1 9:30 PM OTT 24 @ EDM 23 L 25,000 CTV
6 41 Wed. Aug. 16 8:00 PM EDM 40 @ TOR 3 W 49,168 CTV
7 45 Wed. Aug. 23 9:30 PM WPG 8 @ EDM 14 W 24,962 CTVW
8 49 Wed. Aug. 30 9:30 PM BC 10 @ EDM 18 W 42,768
9 51 Mon. Sept. 4 4:00 PM EDM 28 @ CGY 28 T 26,888 CBC
10 57 Sun. Sept. 10 4:30 PM HAM 16 @ EDM 56 W 42,763 CBCW
11 62 Sun. Sept. 17 4:30 PM EDM 25 @ SSK 20 W 21,149
12 64 Sun. Sept. 24 4:30 PM CGY 20 @ EDM 20 T 42,778 CBCR
13 69 Sun. Oct. 1 2:00 PM EDM 42 @ MTL 22 W 54,652 CBC
14 73 Mon. Oct. 9 4:30 PM BC 15 @ EDM 3 L 42,673 CTV
15 78 Sun. Oct. 15 3:30 PM EDM 38 @ WPG 10 W 28,080 CTVW
17 84 Sun. Oct. 29 4:30 PM SSK 36 @ EDM 26 L 42,673 CTV
18 87 Sat. Nov. 4 11:00 PM EDM 11 @ BC 33 L 20,822 CTVW
Playoffs Week 2 93 Sat. Nov. 18 4:00 PM CGY 13 @ EDM 26 W 42,673 CTV
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 26 1:00 PM EDM 20 vs MTL 13 W 54,386 CTV, CBC

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.