CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1979 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1979 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 138 98 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 12 2 2 26 495 219 W2 4-2-0
Home 8 8 0 0 16 311 80 W8 6-0-0
Visitor 8 4 2 2 10 184 139 W1 3-2-1
Intra-division 12 9 2 1 19 374 155 W2 4-2-0
Inter-division 4 3 0 1 7 121 64 W3 3-0-1

Full 1979 League Standings

Eskimos 1979 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)1-0-0 (1)1-0-1 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)1-1-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1)--1-0-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (1)1-0-0 (1)--
Ottawa Rough Riders (1)--0-0-1 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (1)1-0-0 (1)--
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3)2-0-0 (2)1-0-0 (1)

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1979 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 42,500
  • High: 43,321
  • Avg: 42,540 (Over 8 games)
  • Variance over 1978 Avg: +6,513.0
  • Low: 40,231
  • Sellouts: 7
  • % of Capacity: 100.10%
  • Variance from League Avg: +11,443

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1979 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 42,500
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1978 – Opened 1978

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton7624100100601605835937765142
Opponent142337284270134154253358

Edmonton Eskimos 1979 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Tue. June 12 5:30 PM BC 32 @ EDM 27 L 41,326
B 8 Tue. June 19 EDM 31 @ TOR 16 W 35,741
C 10 Sun. June 24 OTT 30 @ EDM 27 L 41,379
14 Fri. June 29 10:00 PM EDM 53 @ SSK 20 W 17,460
1 20 Tue. July 10 8:00 PM EDM 28 @ WPG 10 W 24,024 CBCW
2 24 Tue. July 17 9:30 PM SSK 20 @ EDM 52 W 43,321
4 32 Tue. July 31 10:30 PM CGY 9 @ EDM 44 W 42,887
5 35 Tue. Aug. 7 11:00 PM EDM 14 @ BC 14 T 30,137
6 39 Tue. Aug. 14 8:00 PM EDM 24 @ OTT 24 T 27,050
7 44 Tue. Aug. 21 9:30 PM WPG 13 @ EDM 41 W 42,778
8 48 Tue. Aug. 28 9:30 PM TOR 13 @ EDM 28 W 42,778 CBC
9 51 Mon. Sept. 3 4:30 PM EDM 27 @ CGY 1 W 34,825 CTV
10 56 Sun. Sept. 9 4:30 PM SSK 0 @ EDM 40 W 40,231 CBCW
11 60 Sun. Sept. 16 4:30 PM BC 8 @ EDM 40 W 42,776 CBCW
12 65 Sun. Sept. 23 3:00 PM EDM 22 @ HAM 21 W 18,186 CBC
13 69 Sun. Sept. 30 4:30 PM EDM 19 @ CGY 26 L 33,245
14 72 Mon. Oct. 8 4:30 PM MTL 6 @ EDM 47 W 42,778 R/C, CBC
15 78 Sun. Oct. 14 4:30 PM EDM 25 @ SSK 26 L 20,042
17 85 Sun. Oct. 28 4:30 PM WPG 11 @ EDM 19 W 42,778 CBCR
18 87 Sat. Nov. 3 11:00 PM EDM 25 @ BC 17 W 26,575 CTV
Playoffs Week 2 94 Sun. Nov. 18 4:00 PM CGY 7 @ EDM 19 W 43,033 CBC
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 25 1:30 PM EDM 17 @ MTL 9 W 65,113 CTV, CBC

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.