CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1981 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1981 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 4 0 0 8 80 30 W4 4-0-0
Regular Season 16 14 1 1 29 576 277 W7 6-0-0
Home 8 8 0 0 16 328 104 W8 6-0-0
Visitor 8 6 1 1 13 248 173 W3 5-0-1
Intra-division 8 7 1 0 14 252 164 W6 6-0-0
Inter-division 8 7 0 1 15 324 113 W3 5-0-1

Full 1981 League Standings

Eskimos 1981 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)0-0-1 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches

  • Dan Daniel
  • Cal Murphy
  • Don Matthews
  • Bruce Lemmerman

1981 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 43,346
  • High: 48,472
  • Avg: 44,894 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1980 Avg: +2,813.0
  • Low: 43,346
  • Sellouts: 8
  • % of Capacity: 103.57%
  • Variance from League Avg: +15,433

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1981 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 43,346
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1980 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton5650106133902236522877486160
Opponent1125363182113292756333972

Edmonton Eskimos 1981 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 1 – Warren Moon

Defensive Star

  • 1 – Ed “Too Small” Jones
  • 1 – Danny Kepley
  • 1 – James “Quick” Parker

Lineman Star

  • 2 – David Boone, Jr.

 

Edmonton Eskimos 1981 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Fri. June 5 9:00 PM EDM 12 @ CGY 11 W 29,292
B 6 Wed. June 10 8:00 PM EDM 25 @ WPG 16 W 8,405
C 10 Tue. June 16 9:30 PM SSK 1 @ EDM 17 W 43,426
D 17 Fri. June 26 9:30 PM BC 2 @ EDM 26 W 43,346
1 20 Fri. July 3 8:00 PM EDM 47 @ OTT 21 W 22,053 CTV
2 25 Sat. July 11 9:30 PM CGY 10 @ EDM 30 W 43,346 CBCW
3 30 Sun. July 19 4:00 PM EDM 28 @ WPG 38 L 25,785 CTVW
4 34 Sun. July 26 1:30 PM EDM 33 @ MTL 17 W 45,835 CTV
5 37 Sat. Aug. 1 9:00 PM HAM 5 @ EDM 41 W 43,346 CBC, R/C
7 43 Thu. Aug. 13 8:00 PM EDM 22 @ TOR 12 W 38,288 CTVR
8 48 Sat. Aug. 22 9:00 PM WPG 10 @ EDM 28 W 43,346 CBC, R/C
9 54 Sun. Aug. 30 4:00 PM SSK 34 @ EDM 44 W 43,346 CTVW
10 58 Mon. Sept. 7 7:00 PM EDM 34 @ HAM 34 T 30,121 CTV
11 62 Sun. Sept. 13 4:00 PM BC 21 @ EDM 38 W 45,346 CBCW
12 64 Sat. Sept. 19 9:00 PM EDM 21 @ CGY 10 W 34,657 CBC
13 68 Sat. Sept. 26 9:00 PM MTL 11 @ EDM 62 W 48,472 CTV, R/C
14 72 Sat. Oct. 3 11:00 PM EDM 22 @ BC 12 W 29,458 CTVR
15 77 Mon. Oct. 12 1:30 PM OTT 6 @ EDM 24 W 45,805 CBC
16 82 Sun. Oct. 18 4:00 PM EDM 41 @ SSK 29 W 30,312 CBCW
17 84 Sat. Oct. 24 9:00 PM TOR 7 @ EDM 61 W 46,146 CTV
Playoffs Week 2 94 Sun. Nov. 15 4:00 PM BC 16 @ EDM 22 W 52,861 CBC
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 22 1:30 PM EDM 26 vs OTT 23 W 53,307 CBC, CTV

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.