CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1983 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1983 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 1 3 0 2 94 121 L1 1-3-0
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 450 377 L2 2-4-0
Home 8 4 4 0 8 222 204 L1 3-3-0
Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 228 173 L3 2-4-0
Intra-division 8 3 5 0 6 204 215 L1 2-4-0
Inter-division 8 5 3 0 10 246 162 L1 3-3-0

Full 1983 League Standings

Eskimos 1983 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)0-1-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Montreal Concordes (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1983 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 53,577
  • Avg: 50,021 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1982 Avg: -7,879.0
  • Low: 39,742
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 83.26%
  • Variance from League Avg: +19,818

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1983 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton354075757314850581086257119
Opponent4244867834112503787345892

Edmonton Eskimos 1983 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – Warren Moon

Defensive Star

  • 1 – Larry Highbaugh
  • 1 – James “Quick” Parker

Lineman Star

  • 1 – Leo Blanchard
  • 1 – Tom Tuinei

 

Edmonton Eskimos 1983 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 4 Fri. June 10 BC 52 @ EDM 20 L 42,196
B 9 Sat. June 18 9:00 PM EDM 9 @ SSK 20 L 22,095
C 11 Wed. June 22 9:30 PM WPG 17 @ EDM 34 W 38,951
D 17 Wed. June 29 9:30 PM EDM 31 @ CGY 32 L 21,838
1 22 Sat. July 9 5:00 PM EDM 35 @ HAM 32 W 17,211 CBC
2 24 Fri. July 15 7:30 PM WPG 20 @ EDM 18 L 39,742 CTV
4 31 Thu. July 28 8:00 PM EDM 44 @ OTT 4 W 18,622
5 35 Fri. Aug. 5 7:30 PM SSK 21 @ EDM 36 W 51,448 CTV
6 39 Fri. Aug. 12 7:30 PM BC 43 @ EDM 13 L 52,765 CTV
7 44 Sat. Aug. 20 5:30 PM EDM 28 @ MTL 15 W 20,126 CBC
8 48 Fri. Aug. 26 7:30 PM OTT 17 @ EDM 14 L 49,880 CTV
9 53 Mon. Sept. 5 2:00 PM EDM 15 @ CGY 18 L 30,481 CBC
10 58 Sun. Sept. 11 2:00 PM HAM 21 @ EDM 50 W 51,428 CTV
11 62 Sun. Sept. 18 1:30 PM EDM 46 @ SSK 21 W 28,377
12 66 Sun. Sept. 25 3:00 PM EDM 30 @ BC 31 L 52,430 CBC
13 70 Sun. Oct. 2 2:00 PM CGY 28 @ EDM 31 W 52,255 CTV
14 72 Sun. Oct. 9 1:30 PM EDM 15 @ TOR 19 L 27,746 CBC
15 76 Sat. Oct. 15 7:30 PM MTL 32 @ EDM 45 W 49,074 CTV
16 82 Sun. Oct. 23 2:00 PM EDM 15 @ WPG 33 L 24,206 CBC
17 84 Sat. Oct. 29 7:30 PM TOR 22 @ EDM 15 L 53,577 CTV
Playoffs Week 1 92 Sun. Nov. 13 4:00 PM EDM 22 @ WPG 49 L 31,379 CTV

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.