CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1986 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1986 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 41 40 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 13 4 1 27 540 365 W1 4-1-1
Home 9 8 1 0 16 328 180 W6 6-0-0
Visitor 9 5 3 1 11 212 185 T1 3-2-1
Intra-division 10 9 1 0 18 326 178 W1 5-1-0
Inter-division 8 4 3 1 9 214 187 T1 3-2-1

Full 1986 League Standings

Eskimos 1986 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)2-0-0 (2)1-0-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)1-0-0 (1)0-0-1 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches

  • Steve Goldman – Offensive backfield
  • Don Sutherin – Defensive secondary
  • Mike Roach – Linebackers
  • Paul Boudreau – Offensive line
  • Denny Creehan – Defensive line

1986 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 53,504
  • Avg: 40,097 (9 out of 81 games)
  • Variance over 1985 Avg: -1,933.0
  • Low: 32,757
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 66.74%
  • Variance from League Avg: +14,322

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1986 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4thOT1
HVTHVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton5034841026116390441348673159000
Opponent28214966561221945646763130000

Edmonton Eskimos 1986 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – Matt Dunigan
  • 1 – Tom Richards

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Danny Bass
  • 1 – Craig Shaffer
  • 1 – Cliff Toney

Lineman Star

  • 3 – Stewart Hill
  • 1 – Rudy Phillips
  • 1 – Tom Tuinei
  • 1 – James Zachery

 

Edmonton Eskimos 1986 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (PDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Mon. June 9 5:30 PM EDM 7 @ WPG 22 L 21,526
B 7 Mon. June 16 6:30 PM SSK 18 @ EDM 34 W 29,604
1 11 Tue. June 24 6:30 PM EDM 21 @ CGY 20 W 27,120 CTVW
2 17 Thu. July 3 6:30 PM BC 13 @ EDM 36 W 32,757 CBCW
4 23 Sat. July 12 6:00 PM EDM 31 @ SSK 19 W 16,498 CBC
25 Thu. July 17 7:30 PM OTT 39 @ EDM 49 W 33,922 CBCW
6 34 Fri. Aug. 1 6:30 PM TOR 35 @ EDM 34 L 38,672 CTV
7 36 Thu. Aug. 7 6:30 PM EDM 6 @ MTL 17 L 11,203 CBCE
9 42 Fri. Aug. 15 6:30 PM WPG 5 @ EDM 33 W 40,617
10 47 Sat. Aug. 23 4:30 PM EDM 20 @ TOR 26 L 28,833
11 51 Mon. Sept. 1 1:00 PM EDM 42 @ CGY 19 W 33,626 CTV
12 55 Sun. Sept. 7 1:00 PM MTL 22 @ EDM 37 W 37,332
14 61 Fri. Sept. 19 7:00 PM EDM 32 @ BC 3 W 59,478 CTV
64 Fri. Sept. 26 6:30 PM BC 13 @ EDM 31 W 41,570 CTVW
16 69 Sat. Oct. 4 4:30 PM EDM 24 @ HAM 23 W 17,352 CBC
72 Fri. Oct. 10 6:30 PM HAM 9 @ EDM 28 W 38,385
18 79 Sun. Oct. 19 12:00 PM CGY 30 @ EDM 38 W 53,504 CTV
81 Sat. Oct. 25 6:30 PM EDM 20 @ WPG 42 L 32,946
19 85 Sat. Nov. 1 10:30 AM EDM 16 @ OTT 16 OT T 14,058 CTV
20 91 Sun. Nov. 9 1:00 PM SSK 14 @ EDM 42 W 44,121 CTV
Playoffs Week 1 94 Sun. Nov. 16 1:30 PM CGY 18 @ EDM 27 W 24,065 CBC
Playoffs Week 2 96 Sun. Nov. 23 1:30 PM BC 5 @ EDM 41 W 32,490 CTV
Grey Cup 97 Sun. Nov. 30 1:00 PM HAM 39 vs EDM 15 L 59,621 CTV, CBC

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.