CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1987 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1987 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 54 64 L1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 11 7 0 22 617 462 W1 3-3-0
Home 9 7 2 0 14 358 217 L1 5-1-0
Visitor 9 4 5 0 8 259 245 W1 2-4-0
Intra-division 8 4 4 0 8 260 192 L2 3-3-0
Inter-division 10 7 3 0 14 357 270 W2 5-1-0

Full 1987 League Standings

Eskimos 1987 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)0-1-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (3)2-0-0 (2)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4)2-0-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3)1-0-0 (1)1-1-0 (2)

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches

  • Mike Roach – Linebackers
  • Doug Sams – Defensive line
  • Don Sutherin – Defensive secondary
  • Gary Durchik – Offensive line
  • Steve Goldman – Offensive backfield

1987 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 40,486
  • Avg: 33,581 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 1986 Avg: -6,515.0
  • Low: 29,930
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 55.89%
  • Variance from League Avg: +7,591

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1987 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton88561449295187125561815352105
Opponent425395535911241741158159140

Edmonton Eskimos 1987 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – Matt Dunigan
  • 1 – Henry “Gizmo” Williams

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Stanley Blair
  • 1 – Danny Bass

Lineman Star

  • 4 – Stewart Hill

 

Edmonton Eskimos 1987 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Sat. June 6 8:00 PM CGY 33 @ EDM 39 W 34,501
B 9 Tue. June 16 10:30 PM EDM 15 @ BC 31 L 28,384
1 13 Sat. June 27 8:00 PM CGY 16 @ EDM 54 W 29,930 CBC
3 18 Sun. July 5 1:30 PM EDM 36 @ HAM 33 W 15,720 CFN
21 Sun. July 12 4:00 PM HAM 40 @ EDM 30 L 32,265 CFN
4 24 Sat. July 18 8:00 PM EDM 18 @ BC 26 L 43,772 CBC
5 27 Fri. July 24 8:00 PM EDM 42 @ WPG 28 W 29,260 CFN
6 31 Sat. Aug. 1 8:00 PM SSK 28 @ EDM 38 W 30,399 CBC
33 Fri. Aug. 7 8:00 PM EDM 20 @ TOR 23 L 30,264 CFN
9 42 Sun. Aug. 23 4:00 PM OTT 24 @ EDM 45 W 32,167 CFN
43 Fri. Aug. 28 8:00 PM EDM 39 @ SSK 13 W 24,000 CFN
10 47 Mon. Sept. 7 4:00 PM EDM 20 @ CGY 29 L 33,842 CFN
11 50 Sat. Sept. 12 8:00 PM TOR 20 @ EDM 42 W 40,486 CBC
53 Sat. Sept. 19 8:00 PM SSK 13 @ EDM 34 W 31,862 CBC
13 59 Fri. Oct. 2 8:00 PM OTT 19 @ EDM 34 W 31,331 CFN
15 66 Mon. Oct. 12 3:00 PM EDM 20 @ WPG 38 L 24,999 CBC
69 Sun. Oct. 18 4:00 PM EDM 25 @ SSK 34 L 24,282 CFN
16 72 Sun. Oct. 25 2:00 PM WPG 24 @ EDM 49 W 33,376 CBC
17 77 Sun. Nov. 1 4:00 PM BC 33 @ EDM 32 L 40,414 CFN
18 79 Sat. Nov. 7 1:30 PM EDM 39 @ OTT 21 W 15,107 CBC
Playoffs Week 1 83 Sun. Nov. 15 4:30 PM CGY 16 @ EDM 30 W 26,809 CFN
Playoffs Week 2 85 Sun. Nov. 22 4:30 PM EDM 31 @ BC 7 W 44,385 CBC
Grey Cup 86 Sun. Nov. 29 5:30 PM TOR 36 vs EDM 38 W 59,478 CBC

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.