CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1989 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1989 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 65 38 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 16 2 0 32 644 302 W7 6-0-0
Home 9 9 0 0 18 343 156 W9 6-0-0
Visitor 9 7 2 0 14 301 146 W3 5-1-0
Intra-division 10 9 1 0 18 362 201 W3 5-1-0
Inter-division 8 7 1 0 14 282 101 W7 6-0-0

Full 1989 League Standings

Eskimos 1989 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (4)2-0-0 (2)2-0-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches

  • Brian Dickinson – Special assistant
  • Don Sutherin – Defensive secondary
  • Mike Faragalli – Receivers
  • Don Matthews – Linebackers
  • Gary Durchik – Offensive line

1989 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 41,327
  • Avg: 30,815 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 1988 Avg: +69.0
  • Low: 27,242
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 51.29%
  • Variance from League Avg: +5,398

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1989 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton74531279491185709416410563168
Opponent3634703846843113445153104

Edmonton Eskimos 1989 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – Tracy Ham
  • 1 – Jerry Kauric

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Don Wilson
  • 2 – Danny Bass
  • 1 – Enis Jackson
  • 1 – Stanley Blair
  • 1 – Mark Mathis

Lineman Star

  • 3 – Hector Pothier
  • 2 – Brett Williams
  • 1 – Stewart Hill

 

Edmonton Eskimos 1989 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Wed. June 28 9:30 PM EDM 24 @ SSK 28 L 18,988
B 9 Wed. July 5 9:30 PM CGY 10 @ EDM 41 W 37,192
1 12 Thu. July 13 9:30 PM BC 15 @ EDM 20 W 30,041 CFN
2 17 Fri. July 21 9:30 PM EDM 54 @ CGY 4 W 21,235 CFN
3 20 Thu. July 27 7:30 PM EDM 17 @ TOR 21 L 34,840 CBC
4 24 Thu. Aug. 3 9:30 PM TOR 21 @ EDM 22 W 28,238 CBC
5 27 Wed. Aug. 9 10:30 PM EDM 33 @ BC 13 W 32,158 TSN
6 32 Thu. Aug. 17 7:30 PM EDM 39 @ OTT 4 W 21,413 CBC
7 36 Wed. Aug. 23 9:30 PM HAM 14 @ EDM 37 W 28,861 TSN
8 40 Wed. Aug. 30 9:30 PM SSK 19 @ EDM 45 W 31,667 CFN
9 43 Mon. Sept. 4 3:30 PM EDM 31 @ CGY 14 W 33,139 TSN
10 46 Fri. Sept. 8 9:30 PM CGY 27 @ EDM 38 W 41,327 CFN
11 53 Sun. Sept. 17 3:00 PM EDM 35 @ SSK 48 L 24,776 CBC
12 57 Sun. Sept. 24 3:00 PM BC 25 @ EDM 32 W 30,173 CBC
13 58 Fri. Sept. 29 7:30 PM EDM 33 @ HAM 12 W 16,387 CFN
14 65 Mon. Oct. 9 3:00 PM WPG 7 @ EDM 45 W 28,869 CBC
15 69 Sun. Oct. 15 3:30 PM OTT 11 @ EDM 55 W 30,920 TSN
16 72 Sun. Oct. 22 2:30 PM EDM 34 @ WPG 11 W 23,590 CFN
17 74 Sat. Oct. 28 10:30 PM EDM 25 @ BC 19 W 27,115 CFN
18 81 Sun. Nov. 5 3:00 PM SSK 17 @ EDM 49 W 27,242 CBC
Playoffs Week 2 85 Sun. Nov. 19 4:30 PM SSK 32 @ EDM 21 L 35,112 CFN

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.