CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1996 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1996 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 0 2 0 0 49 57 L2 0-2-0
Regular Season 18 11 7 0 22 459 354 W1 4-2-0
Home 9 7 2 0 14 232 145 W1 5-1-0
Visitor 9 4 5 0 8 227 209 W1 2-4-0
Intra-division 10 7 3 0 14 274 213 W5 5-1-0
Inter-division 8 4 4 0 8 185 141 L3 2-4-0

Full 1996 League Standings

Eskimos 1996 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)0-1-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches

  • Bill Macdermott – Offensive line
  • Ron “R.D.” Lancaster, Jr. – Offensive
  • Brad Miller – Defensive
  • Greg Newhouse – Defensive Coordinator
  • Jim Sandusky – Special teams

1996 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 40,727
  • Avg: 29,817 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 1995 Avg: -1,656.0
  • Low: 25,773
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 49.63%
  • Variance from League Avg: +7,572

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1996 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton424183114771913645814064104
Opponent2634604340833069994666112

Edmonton Eskimos 1996 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – Sean Fleming
  • 1 – Jim Sandusky

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Willie Pless
  • 2 – Singor Mobley
  • 1 – Glenn Rogers, Jr.

Lineman Star

  • 1 – Malvin Hunter
  • 1 – Bennie Goods
  • 1 – Leroy Blugh

 

Edmonton Eskimos 1996 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
B 5 Fri. June 14 10:30 PM EDM 18 @ SSK 23 L 25,632
9 Fri. June 21 9:30 PM WPG 34 @ EDM 31 L 34,091
1 12 Thu. June 27 10:30 PM EDM 28 @ BC 14 W 29,425
2 17 Fri. July 5 9:30 PM MTL 13 @ EDM 16 W 26,211 TSN, RDS
3 20 Wed. July 10 9:30 PM EDM 24 @ SSK 27 L 21,014
4 25 Wed. July 17 9:30 PM WPG 27 @ EDM 16 L 28,751
5 29 Thu. July 25 7:30 PM EDM 34 @ OTT 18 W 13,323
6 35 Sat. Aug. 3 9:30 PM OTT 2 @ EDM 30 W 25,773 TSN
7 38 Thu. Aug. 8 7:30 PM EDM 21 @ TOR 24 L 20,030 TSN
8 45 Sat. Aug. 17 7:00 PM SSK 8 @ EDM 25 W 36,011 TSN, RDS
9 48 Fri. Aug. 23 9:30 PM HAM 8 @ EDM 35 W 27,202
10 54 Mon. Sept. 2 4:00 PM EDM 13 @ CGY 31 L 35,314 CBC
11 55 Fri. Sept. 6 9:30 PM CGY 19 @ EDM 20 W 40,727 TSN
12 62 Sun. Sept. 15 7:00 PM EDM 14 @ HAM 20 L 17,301 TSN
13 63 Fri. Sept. 20 8:30 PM EDM 41 @ WPG 12 W 28,744 TSN
14 70 Sun. Sept. 29 4:00 PM BC 12 @ EDM 32 W 28,784 TSN
15 71 Fri. Oct. 4 7:30 PM EDM 18 @ MTL 32 L 17,886 TSN, RDS
16 75 Sat. Oct. 12 6:30 PM EDM 34 @ BC 31 W 18,031 TSN
17 82 Sun. Oct. 20 3:00 PM TOR 24 @ EDM 17 L 27,567 CBC
18 86 Sun. Oct. 27 4:00 PM CGY 32 @ EDM 41 W 27,332 TSN, RDS
Playoffs Week 1 92 Sun. Nov. 10 4:00 PM WPG 7 @ EDM 68 W 13,472 CBC
Playoffs Week 2 94 Sun. Nov. 17 4:00 PM EDM 15 @ CGY 12 W 17,693 CBC
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 24 6:30 PM EDM 37 vs TOR 43 L 38,595 CBC

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.