CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1997 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1997 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 33 49 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 12 6 0 24 479 400 W4 4-2-0
Home 9 7 2 0 14 304 194 W2 5-1-0
Visitor 9 5 4 0 10 175 206 W2 2-4-0
Intra-division 10 6 4 0 12 252 257 W2 3-3-0
Inter-division 8 6 2 0 12 227 143 W2 4-2-0

Full 1997 League Standings

Eskimos 1997 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)1-1-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (4)2-0-0 (2)1-1-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)1-0-0 (1)1-1-0 (2)
Toronto Argonauts (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches

  • Jim Hillies – Defensive front
  • Gary Durchik – Offensive line
  • Brad Miller – Defensive
  • Ron “R.D.” Lancaster, Jr. – Offensive
  • Scott Fawcett – Special teams

1997 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 43,913
  • Avg: 31,894 (9 out of 9 games)
  • Variance over 1996 Avg: +2,077.0
  • Low: 26,010
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 53.09%
  • Variance from League Avg: +10,602

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 1997 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4thOT1
HVTHVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton46438982441266233951045515910010
Opponent4941906376139514192314879000

Edmonton Eskimos 1997 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 1 – Danny McManus
  • 1 – Eric Blount

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Willie Pless
  • 2 – Glenn Rogers, Jr.
  • 1 – Kavis Reed

Lineman Star

  • 1 – Derek MacCready
  • 1 – Leo Groenewegen

 

Edmonton Eskimos 1997 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Sun. June 8 11:00 PM EDM 15 @ BC 32 L 10,284
B 8 Thu. June 19 9:30 PM SSK 17 @ EDM 18 W 32,291
1 9 Wed. June 25 9:30 PM EDM 23 @ CGY 22 W 24,868 TSN
2 15 Fri. July 4 9:30 PM EDM 24 @ SSK 18 W 25,751 TSN, RDS
3 18 Thu. July 10 10:00 PM BC 41 @ EDM 31 L 26,010 TSN
4 22 Thu. July 17 9:30 PM MTL 0 @ EDM 32 W 27,811
5 25 Thu. July 24 7:30 PM EDM 34 @ MTL 24 W 10,025 TSN, RDS, ESPN2
6 30 Thu. July 31 9:30 PM SSK 34 @ EDM 37 W 30,917
7 34 Thu. Aug. 7 9:30 PM WPG 11 @ EDM 45 W 29,293
8 37 Thu. Aug. 14 7:00 PM EDM 14 @ TOR 38 L 18,031 RDS, TSN
9 42 Thu. Aug. 21 9:30 PM HAM 24 @ EDM 28 W 26,960
10 47 Mon. Sept. 1 4:00 PM EDM 14 @ CGY 27 L 37,611 CBC
11 49 Fri. Sept. 5 9:30 PM CGY 20 @ EDM 24 W 43,913 TSN
12 54 Sat. Sept. 13 10:30 PM EDM 1 @ BC 27 L 25,088
13 58 Sat. Sept. 20 10:00 PM TOR 25 @ EDM 24 L 38,619 TSN
14 63 Sun. Sept. 28 4:00 PM EDM 15 @ SSK 29 L 29,361
15 68 Sun. Oct. 5 3:00 PM CGY 32 @ EDM 42 OT W 31,572 CBC
16 71 Sun. Oct. 12 2:00 PM EDM 20 @ WPG 2 W 18,524 CBC
17 75 Sun. Oct. 19 3:00 PM BC 7 @ EDM 41 W 31,958
18 78 Sat. Oct. 25 2:00 PM EDM 30 @ HAM 19 W 16,110 CBC, RDS
Playoffs Week 2 84 Sun. Nov. 9 3:45 PM SSK 31 @ EDM 30 L 38,258 CBC

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.