CFLdb Stats Database

STATISTICS

CFLdb's Unofficial Independent
Canadian Football Statistics Database

The Edmonton Eskimos’ 2002 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 2002 Record
GP W L T OTL PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 0 2 76 68 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 18 13 5 0 0 26 516 450 L1 4-2-0
Home 9 8 1 0 0 16 309 210 W1 5-1-0
Visitor 9 5 4 0 0 10 207 240 L1 4-2-0
Intra-division 10 7 3 0 0 14 267 245 L1 4-2-0
Inter-division 8 6 2 0 0 12 249 205 L1 4-2-0

Full 2002 League Standings

Eskimos 2002 Opponent Appearances and Record

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Ottawa Renegades (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches

  • Danny Maciocia – Offensive Coordinator
  • Greg Marshall – Defensive Coordinator
  • Bill Macdermott – Offensive line
  • Rick Campbell – Special teams
  • Dan McKinnon – Receivers

2002 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 61,481
  • Avg: 38,160 (Over 9 games)
  • Variance over 2001 Avg: +2,652.0
  • Low: 30,152
  • Sellouts: 1
  • % of Capacity: 63.52%
  • Variance from League Avg: +13,372

More Attendance Info

Stadium

  • 2002 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st2nd3rd4th
HVTHVTHVTHVT
Edmonton6561126876415176391158143124
Opponent575411163651284049895072122

Edmonton Eskimos 2002 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – John Avery, III
  • 1 – Ricky Ray
  • 1 – Jason Maas

Defensive Star

  • 2 – Singor Mobley
  • 1 – Terry Ray
  • 1 – A.J. Gass

Lineman Star

  • 4 – Elfrid Payton
  • 1 – Tim Prinsen
  • 1 – Steve Charbonneau

Special Teams Star

  • 1 – Winston October
  • 1 – Sean Fleming

 

Edmonton Eskimos 2002 Schedule

Week Game Date Time (EDT clock icon ) Result Attendance TV
A 5 Fri. June 14 9:30 PM EDM 24 @ SSK 27 L 19,614
B 8 Thu. June 20 9:00 PM CGY 41 @ EDM 52 W 33,107
1 13 Fri. June 28 10:00 PM EDM 27 @ CGY 21 W 33,584 TSN
2 16 Thu. July 4 9:00 PM OTT 24 @ EDM 40 W 30,152 TSN
3 23 Sat. July 13 9:00 PM TOR 17 @ EDM 31 W 33,108 TSN
4 27 Fri. July 19 9:30 PM EDM 11 @ SSK 45 L 25,149 TSN
5 31 Fri. July 26 9:00 PM BC 27 @ EDM 37 W 32,844 TSN
6 36 Fri. Aug. 2 7:00 PM EDM 14 @ MTL 37 L 20,002 RDS, TSN
7 37 Wed. Aug. 7 9:00 PM HAM 5 @ EDM 33 W 38,852 TSN
8 43 Thu. Aug. 15 9:00 PM WPG 32 @ EDM 35 W 32,174 TSN
9 48 Fri. Aug. 23 7:00 PM EDM 30 @ TOR 7 W 23,642
10 54 Mon. Sept. 2 4:00 PM EDM 28 @ CGY 20 W 35,967 CBC
11 55 Fri. Sept. 6 9:00 PM CGY 11 @ EDM 45 W 61,481 TSN
12 59 Fri. Sept. 13 10:30 PM EDM 18 @ BC 23 L 21,886 TSN
13 64 Sat. Sept. 21 3:00 PM SSK 25 @ EDM 31 W 44,480 CBC
14 70 Sun. Sept. 29 1:00 PM EDM 34 @ HAM 33 W 16,054
15 73 Sun. Oct. 6 1:00 PM EDM 37 @ OTT 34 W 20,576 TSN
16 78 Mon. Oct. 14 4:00 PM MTL 48 @ EDM 30 L 36,255 CBC, RDS
18 83 Fri. Oct. 25 9:00 PM SSK 21 @ EDM 27 W 34,101 TSN
19 88 Sat. Nov. 2 3:00 PM EDM 8 @ WPG 20 L 28,780 CBC
Playoffs Week 2 94 Sun. Nov. 17 4:00 PM WPG 30 @ EDM 33 W 34,322 RDS, CBC
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 24 6:00 PM MTL 25 @ EDM 16 L 62,531 CBC, RDS

Acknowledgement

While CFLdb has compiled much of the data here, the CFL and Head Statistician Steve Daniel has generously provided their raw game records. I would appreciate credit to the CFL and CFLdb in any work you create using data sourced here. Read the full details of the accreditation policy or read more about my sources and verification procedures.

Conventions and Data Accuracy

I strive to make the data presented here as accurate as possible. The nature of some of the data requires estimates and choices. I do not recommend some data be used as fact. You can read more about the conventions used on this site.

Sister Sites

CFLdb

The original and main site, featuring commentary and links, schedules, FAQ, rulebook and more information.

CFLdb Razzle Dazzle

A collection of Canadian Football infographics, video and other creative works.