Canadian Football All-Star Teams

All-Star Team Formats and History

In 1962, the CFL's first All-Canadian team was selected by the Canadian Press (by coaches and sports writers in league cities, tallied by the CP). It consisted of 24 players, 12 each on offence and defence. Previously, the CP selected All-Star teams independently for each league (the IRFU and WIFU), which continued as those leagues formed conferences in the CFL. It wasn't until the fifth year (seventh if you count the formation of the CFC) of the combined league that a league wide team was selected, one year after the start of inter-divisional play. Starting in 1963, selection of the Divisional and All-Canadian teams was assumed by the Football Reporters of Canada.

Besides changes in the names and ratio of positions selected, the team makeup stayed largely the same for 24 years. In 1977, two special teams positions were added (a Kicker and a Punter), with a third special teams position added in 1986 for a coverage or return specialist.

The Canadian Press first selected an All-Star team for the IRFU in 1932, consisting of twelve players reflecting the two-way play of the game at the time, not expanding the team to offence and defence positions until 1953. The WIFU had their first team selected in 1937, in their second year of existence, and they too saw the team expanded to twenty-four selections in 1953.

The Canadian Press also selected all-star teams for the ORFU and collegiate ranks in the 1930's, and an All-Eastern team would be selected from these teams. Only the IRFU teams are listed here, but in the future CFLdb may expand to include these additional league and combined teams.

Positions on the all-star squads have evolved with the game. CFLdb presents the players using the names of the positions as published as much as possible, and does not convert them to modern positions.

Division All-Star Teams

East/North/IRFU All-Star Teams

By Year Selected
By Player Selected

All-Time Player All-Star Selection Breakdown

All-Time Team All-Star Selection Breakdown

Team All-Canadian Selections Division Selections
1 Calgary Stampeders 204 448
2 Winnipeg Blue Bombers 195 468
Edmonton Eskimos 195 417
4 BC Lions 177 348
5 Saskatchewan Roughriders 165 394
6 Toronto Argonauts 161 454
7 Hamilton Tiger-Cats 154 438
8 Montreal Alouettes 143 424
9 Ottawa Rough Riders 86 321
10 Ottawa RedBlacks 12 41
11 Baltimore Stallions 9 13
12 Montreal Concordes 7 22
13 Ottawa Renegades 4 13
Baltimore CFL Colts 4 8
15 San Antonio Texans 3 4
16 Birmingham Barracudas 2 6
Sacramento Gold Miners 2 3
18 Memphis Mad Dogs 1 4
19 Hamilton Tigers 0 21
Montreal AAA Winged Wheelers 0 18
Regina Roughriders 0 14
Calgary Bronks 0 10
Montreal Indians 0 8
Winnipegs 0 7
Hamilton Wildcats 0 2
Montreal Bulldogs 0 2
Shreveport Pirates 0 2
Vancouver Grizzlies 0 2
Montreal Royals 0 1