The Canadian Football Council

Operated 1956 — Jan. 19, 1958

CFC Notes

  • League Formed: January 22, 1956
  • Disbanded: January 19, 1958
  • Seasons suspended: None
  • Seasons operated: 2


The Canadian Football Council was formed in 1956 with G. Sydney Halter at Commissioner. The CFC brought together the nine professional teams from the IRFU and WIFU under one organization. The two unions continued to operate as autonomous entities under the CFC during its existence. The CFC was renamed the Canadian Football League in 1958 when they withdrew from the Canadian Rugby Union.

CFC Database Stats


G. Sydney Halter, Q.C. (Winnipeg)
Jan. 22, 1956 – Jan. 19, 1958

All CFC Commissioners