The Canadian Football League

Operating 1958 — Present

CFL Notes

  • League Formed: January 19, 1958
  • Seasons suspended: 2020
  • Seasons operated: 66 and counting


The Canadian Football League was formed in 1958 when the nine founding franchises – BC, Calgary, Edmonton, Hamilton, Montreal, Ottawa, Saskatchewan, Toronto and Winnipeg – withdrew the Canadian Football Council from the Canadian Rugby Union, renamed the CFC the Canadian Football League and appointed G. Sydney Halter the league’s Commissioner.

Canadian football developed from rugby roots and professional Canadian Football originated from various Rugby Unions in Canada which date as far back as 1861. The modern era of Canadian Football is generally agreed to begin in 1954 when the Grey Cup, the now symbol of professional football supremacy in Canada, became exclusively contested by professional teams.

The CFL is known as a wide open, fast paced and exciting brand of football.

“There is no team sport known to civilized man which is more spectacular, dramatic, bruising — brutal even — or yet more fascinating than professional football.”

Gordon Currie in 100 Years of Canadian Football Toronto: Pagurian Press, 1968.

CFL Database Stats

  • 5,918 Games
    • 154 Exhibition
    • 621 Pre-Season
    • 4,781 Regular Season
    • 295 Playoff
    • 67 Grey Cups
  • 9,732 Players


Randy Ambrosie (Winnipeg, MB)
July 5, 2017 – Present

All CFL Commissioners