The BC Lions’ 1955 Season

Season Summary

  • Finished 4th in the WIFU

BC Lions 1955 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

BC Lions 1955 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 1 1 0 0 2 30 24 W1 1-0-0
Regular Season 16 5 11 0 10 211 330 L2 1-5-0
    Home 8 2 6 0 4 108 140 W1 1-5-0
    Visitor 8 3 5 0 6 103 190 L4 2-4-0

Full 1955 League Standings

BC Lions 1955 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.547 2-6-0 (8) 3-5-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.250
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.875
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.438

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1955 BC Lions Attendance

  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Total: 197,688
  • High: 29,503
  • Avg: 24,711 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1954 Avg: +7,838
  • Low: 16,951
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 76.33
  • Diff from League Avg: +23,291

More 1955 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19551954 +/-
Average Combined Score 33.81 6.00 +
Average Winning Score 22.60 13.60 +
Average Losing Score 8.91 2.84 +
Average Home Score 13.50 8.13 +
Average Visitor Score 12.88 5.75 +
Average Margin of Victory 7.80 2.80 +
Average Margin of Loss 14.36 2.30 -

Stadium

  • 1955 home stadium: Empire Stadium
  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Opened 1954

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 213152 182543 20424 494392 108 (13.5)103 (12.9)211 (13.2)
Opponent 283866 3569104 355186 423274 190 (23.8)140 (17.5)330 (20.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (3-4-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 2nd 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (1-10-0)
After 3rd 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 11 (1-10-0)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)

BC Lions 1955 All-Star Selections

1 All-Division Selections
DG Bob Levenhagen

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 1
Wed. Aug. 10
TOR 24 @ BC 30 W 22,448
1 8
Mon. Aug. 22
CGY 8 @ BC 14 W 28,103
2 10
Sat. Aug. 27
BC 12 @ EDM 29 L 17,500
12
Mon. Aug. 29
SSK 19 @ BC 13 L 27,008
3 15
Sat. Sept. 3
BC 15 @ WPG 7 W 16,458
16
Mon. Sept. 5
BC 24 @ SSK 23 W 16,052
4 18
Sat. Sept. 10
EDM 18 @ BC 13 L 29,503
5 22
Sat. Sept. 17
WPG 20 @ BC 19 L 27,132
25
Mon. Sept. 19
BC 24 @ CGY 18 W 11,000
6 28
Mon. Sept. 26
EDM 15 @ BC 0 L 24,241
7 30
Sat. Oct. 1
SSK 24 @ BC 9 L 23,321
33
Mon. Oct. 3
BC 6 @ CGY 18 L 12,000
8 34
Sat. Oct. 8
BC 2 @ EDM 38 L 16,500
36
Mon. Oct. 10
WPG 18 @ BC 4 L 21,429
9 38
Sat. Oct. 15
CGY 18 @ BC 36 W 16,951
10 41
Sat. Oct. 22
BC 7 @ SSK 33 L 10,000
42
Mon. Oct. 24
BC 13 @ WPG 24 L 14,730