The BC Lions’ 1957 Season

Season Summary

  • Finished 4th in the WIFU

BC Lions 1957 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

BC Lions 1957 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 0 4 0 0 39 71 L4 0-4-0
Regular Season 16 4 11 1 9 284 369 L3 3-3-0
    Home 8 2 5 1 5 177 211 L2 1-4-1
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 107 158 L1 2-4-0

Full 1957 League Standings

BC Lions 1957 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.555 2-5-1 (8) 2-6-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.875
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.219
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1957 BC Lions Attendance

  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Total: 181,886
  • High: 28,100
  • Avg: 22,735 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1956 Avg: -3,352
  • Low: 16,928
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 70.23
  • Diff from League Avg: +22,435

More 1957 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 40.81 2.56 +
Average Winning Score 30.75 7.58 +
Average Losing Score 12.73 1.53 +
Average Home Score 22.13 4.00 +
Average Visitor Score 13.38 0.13 +
Average Margin of Victory 19.00 7.00 +
Average Margin of Loss 14.64 3.56 -

Stadium

  • 1957 home stadium: Empire Stadium
  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Opened 1954

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 411556 492877 212142 6643109 177 (22.1)107 (13.4)284 (17.8)
Opponent 433376 4951100 562985 6345108 158 (19.8)211 (26.4)369 (23.1)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (1-1-1) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (3-4-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (1-4-1)
After 2nd 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (1-4-0) 6 (3-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 9 (1-7-1)
After 3rd 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-4-1) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 9 (0-8-1)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 11 (0-11-0)

BC Lions 1957 Player Awards and Nominations

1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Paul Cameron (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ed Sharkey (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Ted Hunt (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1957 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–1 (1) [TOR] Jim Hughes (T) Queen's
1–2 (2) [CGY] Ed Skrzypek (QB) Toronto
1–4 (4) George Rawlyk (C) McMaster
2–4 (13) Ian Stewart (E) British Columbia (UBC)
3–4 (22) Rob Holland (HB) McGill
4–4 Pass
5–4 Pass
6–4 Pass

BC Lions 1957 All-Star Selections

3 All-Division Selections
HB By Bailey
G Ed Sharkey
SEC Ed Sharkey

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A 1
Sat. July 27
CGY 19 @ BC 14 L 15,454
3
Fri. Aug. 2
EDM 29 vs BC 8 L 10,261
B 4
Mon. Aug. 5
EDM 14 @ BC 11 L 14,919
6
Sun. Aug. 11
EDM 9 vs BC 6 L 16,000
1 9
Sat. Aug. 17
SSK 20 @ BC 44 W 26,807
10
Mon. Aug. 19
BC 1 @ CGY 8 L 10,000
2 14
Mon. Aug. 26
CGY 22 @ BC 20 L 28,100
3 15
Fri. Aug. 30
BC 14 @ WPG 20 L 16,442
18
Mon. Sept. 2
BC 13 @ SSK 28 L 14,497
4 19
Sat. Sept. 7
EDM 35 @ BC 13 L 26,121
5 23
Sat. Sept. 14
BC 6 @ EDM 25 L 17,500
24
Mon. Sept. 16
WPG 41 @ BC 21 L 22,218
6 28
Wed. Sept. 25
BC 21 @ CGY 22 L 11,000
7 30
Mon. Sept. 30
SSK 21 @ BC 21 T 19,398
8 34
Mon. Oct. 7
CGY 1 @ BC 27 W 16,928
9 37
Sat. Oct. 12
BC 22 @ WPG 16 W 14,700
39
Mon. Oct. 14
BC 30 @ SSK 10 W 10,061
10 40
Sat. Oct. 19
EDM 29 @ BC 12 L 24,619
11 43
Sat. Oct. 26
BC 0 @ EDM 29 L 14,000
12 46
Sat. Nov. 2
WPG 42 @ BC 19 L 17,695