The BC Lions’ 1958 Season

Season Summary

  • Finished 5th in the WIFU

BC Lions 1958 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

BC Lions 1958 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 92 80 L1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 3 13 0 6 202 399 L3 3-3-0
    Home 8 1 7 0 2 118 213 L2 1-5-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 84 186 L1 2-4-0

Full 1958 League Standings

BC Lions 1958 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.578 1-7-0 (8) 2-6-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.406
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.594
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.813

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1958 BC Lions Attendance

  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Total: 185,837
  • High: 30,408
  • Avg: 23,229 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1957 Avg: +23,229
  • Low: 18,574
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 71.75
  • Diff from League Avg: +5,264

More 1958 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.56 3.25 -
Average Winning Score 19.67 11.08 -
Average Losing Score 11.00 1.73 -
Average Home Score 14.75 7.38 -
Average Visitor Score 10.50 2.88 -
Average Margin of Victory 7.00 12.00 -
Average Margin of Loss 16.77 2.13 +

Stadium

  • 1958 home stadium: Empire Stadium
  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Opened 1954

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 211536 141731 412263 423072 118 (14.8)84 (10.5)202 (12.6)
Opponent 523284 5169120 7926105 315990 186 (23.3)213 (26.6)399 (24.9)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (0-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (1-4-0) 2 (1-1-0) 9 (1-8-0)
After 2nd 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (2-6-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 15 (3-12-0)
After 3rd 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (1-7-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 15 (2-13-0)
After 4th 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (0-13-0)

BC Lions 1958 Player Awards and Nominations

1958 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Paul Cameron (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Tom Hinton (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Norm Fieldgate (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1958 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3) Bill Britton (HB) Western Ontario
2–3 (12) George Cummings (T) McMaster
3–3 (21) Art Jokanovitch (T) British Columbia (UBC)
4–3 Pass
5–3 Pass

BC Lions 1958 All-Star Selections

1 All-Division Selections
G Tom Hinton

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A
Sat. July 26
CGY 18 @ BC 17 L 13,981  
A
Fri. Aug. 1
HAM 7 @ BC 14 W 15,948  
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
B
Tue. Aug. 5 5:30 PM
BC 34 @ MTL 22 W 21,343  
B
Thu. Aug. 7
BC 27 @ OTT 33 L 7,687  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1
Sat. Aug. 16
SSK 49 @ BC 33 L 30,408  
1
Mon. Aug. 18
BC 0 @ CGY 42 L 15,133  
2
Mon. Aug. 25
CGY 34 @ BC 13 L 26,358  
3
Thu. Aug. 28
BC 1 @ WPG 31 L 16,611  
3
Mon. Sept. 1
BC 14 @ SSK 22 L 15,595  
4
Sat. Sept. 6
EDM 26 @ BC 7 L 26,653  
5
Sat. Sept. 13
BC 7 @ EDM 13 L 8,000  
5
Mon. Sept. 15
WPG 19 @ BC 8 L 20,000  
7
Sat. Sept. 27
BC 15 @ CGY 29 L 14,500  
7
Mon. Sept. 29
SSK 22 @ BC 6 L 20,226  
8
Mon. Oct. 6
CGY 14 @ BC 15 W 18,574  
9
Sat. Oct. 11
BC 10 @ WPG 8 W 14,484  
9
Mon. Oct. 13
BC 34 @ SSK 16 W 11,909  
10
Sat. Oct. 18
EDM 25 @ BC 22 L 24,700  
11
Sat. Oct. 25
BC 3 @ EDM 25 L 13,000  
12
Sat. Nov. 1
WPG 24 @ BC 14 L 18,918