The BC Lions 1961 Season

BC Lions 1961 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 82 80 L1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 1 13 2 4 215 393 L1 1-4-1
    Home 8 1 5 2 4 110 171 L1 1-4-1
    Visitor 8 0 8 0 0 105 222 L8 0-6-0
   Divisional opponent 12 1 10 1 3 173 300 L1 1-4-1
   Non-divisional opponent 4 0 3 1 1 42 93 L1 0-3-1

Full 1961 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (0-1-1) 2 (0-1-1) 4 (1-3-0) 3 (0-3-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (0-4-1) 4 (0-3-1) 7 (1-6-0)
After 2nd 2 (0-1-1) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (1-4-0) 2 (0-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 4 (0-3-1) 1 (0-0-1) 11 (1-10-0)
After 3rd 1 (0-0-1) 2 (0-1-1) 5 (1-4-0) 2 (0-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 3 (0-2-1) 2 (0-1-1) 11 (1-10-0)
After 4th 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 5 (0-5-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 13 (0-13-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
B
Thu Jul 20
BC 17 @ TOR 28 L 22,415  
B
Mon Jul 24
HAM 27 @ BC 38 W 18,769  
C
Sat Jul 29
SSK 3 vs BC 13 W 28,000  
C
Tue Aug 1
OTT 22 @ BC 14 L 17,988  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Mon Aug 7
EDM 29 @ BC 19 L 28,617  
1
Sat Aug 12
BC 7 @ OTT 41 L 17,329  
2
Tue Aug 15
BC 21 @ HAM 30 L 17,103  
3
Mon Aug 21
MTL 7 @ BC 7 T 26,863  
4
Thu Aug 24
BC 6 @ SSK 25 L 12,341  
5
Mon Aug 28
BC 20 @ EDM 21 L 13,000  
7
Sat Sep 9
CGY 35 @ BC 17 L 32,066  
8
Thu Sep 14
BC 15 @ WPG 36 L 16,016  
9
Mon Sep 18
TOR 15 @ BC 7 L 24,428  
9
Sat Sep 23
BC 9 @ CGY 28 L 16,000  
10
Sat Sep 30
EDM 9 @ BC 21 W 20,210  
11
Sat Oct 7
BC 20 @ WPG 24 L 13,050  
12
Mon Oct 9
BC 7 @ SSK 17 L 11,529  
13
Mon Oct 16
WPG 16 @ BC 15 L 20,778  
15
Sat Oct 28
SSK 17 @ BC 17 T 19,836  
16
Sun Nov 5
CGY 43 @ BC 7 L 19,564  

BC Lions 1961 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.563 1-4-1 (6) 0-6-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.536 0-1-1 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.438
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.656
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.344
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.813
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.321
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.536

Team Scoring

19611960 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.00 -2.75
Average Winning Score 21.00 -7.60
Average Losing Score 13.08 -0.03
Average Home Score 13.75 -5.25
Average Visitor Score 13.13 -4.88
Average Margin of Victory 12.00 -3.60
Average Margin of Loss 14.62 -0.72

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 293160 362460 214162 24933 110 (13.8)105 (13.1)215 (13.4)
Opponent 603595 296493 296897 5355108 222 (27.8)171 (21.4)393 (24.6)

Coaches

Head Coaches

BC Lions 1961 Player Awards and Nominations

1961 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Willie Fleming, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ed Sullivan (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Norm Fieldgate (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1961 All-Star Selections

No BC Lions Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1961.

See an error? Please send corrections.

BC Lions 1961 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–3 (8) [MTL] Wayne Neal (G) Western Ontario

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway