The BC Lions 1962 Season

BC Lions 1962 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 1 2 0 2 49 56 L1 1-2-0
Regular Season 16 7 9 0 14 346 342 W1 3-3-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 162 182 W1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 184 160 L1 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 6 6 0 12 277 251 W1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 69 91 L1 1-3-0

Full 1962 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (2-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 8 (5-3-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (4-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (7-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (7-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Thu. July 19
BC 6 @ OTT 18 L 14,200  
A
Mon. July 23
BC 30 @ HAM 20 W 4,500  
B
Sat. July 28
TOR 18 @ BC 13 L 20,166  
1
Thu. Aug. 9
SSK 7 @ BC 33 W 27,684  
2
Thu. Aug. 16
CGY 35 @ BC 20 L 30,135  
3
Mon. Aug. 20
BC 12 @ CGY 4 W 16,200  
4
Mon. Aug. 27
OTT 18 @ BC 7 L 29,423  
4
Fri. Aug. 31
BC 10 @ EDM 22 L 14,500  
6
Thu. Sept. 6
BC 19 @ MTL 21 L 19,350  
6
Sun. Sept. 9
BC 37 @ TOR 21 W 22,254  
8
Mon. Sept. 17
HAM 31 @ BC 6 L 27,051  
8
Sat. Sept. 22
BC 14 @ SSK 26 L 12,283  
9
Mon. Sept. 24
WPG 22 @ BC 27 W 20,143  
9
Sat. Sept. 29
BC 46 @ EDM 24 W 18,322  
10
Sat. Oct. 6
BC 18 @ WPG 6 W 16,060  
11
Sat. Oct. 13
EDM 26 @ BC 7 L 28,058  
12
Sat. Oct. 20
BC 28 @ CGY 36 L 18,800  
13
Sat. Oct. 27
WPG 35 @ BC 34 L 25,419  
14
Sun. Nov. 4
SSK 8 @ BC 28 W 20,498  

BC Lions 1962 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.555 3-3-0 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.455 0-2-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.594
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.406
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.679
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.393
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.464
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.286

Team Scoring

19621961 +/-
Average Combined Score 43.00 +5.00
Average Winning Score 28.71 +7.71
Average Losing Score 16.11 +3.03
Average Home Score 20.25 +6.50
Average Visitor Score 23.00 +9.88
Average Margin of Victory 15.57 +3.57
Average Margin of Loss 11.67 -2.95

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 335285 424789 513990 364682 162 (20.3)184 (23.0)346 (21.6)
Opponent 353469 512879 533790 4361104 160 (20.0)182 (22.8)342 (21.4)

Coaches

Head Coach

BC Lions 1962 Player Awards and Nominations

1962 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Clarence “Nub” Beamer, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Tom Brown (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Norm Fieldgate (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1962 All-Star Selections

1 All-Canadian Selections
ILB Tom Brown
3 All-Division Selections
HB Clarence “Nub” Beamer, Jr.
T Lonnie Dennis
ILB Tom Brown

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

BC Lions 1962 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
No draft picks for 1962 in database.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements