The BC Lions’ 1963 Season

Season Summary

BC Lions 1963 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

BC Lions 1963 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 3 0 0 6 88 35 W3 3-0-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 387 232 W1 5-1-0
    Home 8 8 0 0 16 228 92 W8 6-0-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 159 140 L1 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 10 2 0 20 307 148 W1 5-1-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 80 84 L2 2-2-0

Full 1963 League Standings

BC Lions 1963 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.438 6-0-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.500 2-0-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.688
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.125
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.438
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.429
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.643
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1963 BC Lions Attendance

  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Total: 251,712
  • High: 36,659
  • Avg: 31,464 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1962 Avg: +2,554
  • Low: 27,639
  • Sellouts: 3
  • % of Capacity: 97.19
  • Diff from League Avg: +10,740

More 1963 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19631962 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.69 4.31 -
Average Winning Score 26.17 2.55 -
Average Losing Score 18.25 2.14 +
Average Home Score 28.50 8.25 +
Average Visitor Score 19.88 3.13 -
Average Margin of Victory 16.08 0.51 +
Average Margin of Loss 9.50 2.17 -

Stadium

  • 1963 home stadium: Empire Stadium
  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Opened 1954

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 6040100 6562127 494796 541064 228 (28.5)159 (19.9)387 (24.2)
Opponent 54247 275077 131124 473784 140 (17.5)92 (11.5)232 (14.5)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 9 (9-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 7 (7-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 14 (12-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0)
After 4th 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)

BC Lions 1963 Player Awards and Nominations

1963 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Joe Kapp (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Tom Brown (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Norm Fieldgate (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1963 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–3 (12) Noal Bates (G) Toronto
3–3 (21) Peter Kempf (C) British Columbia (UBC)
5–3 Pass
6–3 Pass
7–3 Pass
8–3 Pass
9–3 Pass
10–3 Pass
11–3 Pass
12–3 Pass
13–3 Pass
14–3 Pass
15–3 Pass
16–3 Pass
17–3 Pass
18–3 Pass
19–3 Pass
20–3 Pass

BC Lions 1963 All-Star Selections

7 All-Canadian Selections
QB Joe Kapp
HB Willie Fleming, Jr.
G Tom Hinton
T Lonnie Dennis
DE Dick Fouts
ILB Tom Brown
CLB Norm Fieldgate
8 All-Division Selections
QB Joe Kapp
HB Willie Fleming, Jr.*
HB Clarence “Nub” Beamer, Jr.
G Tom Hinton
T Lonnie Dennis
DE Dick Fouts
ILB Tom Brown
CLB Norm Fieldgate

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 3
Wed. July 17
BC 30 @ TOR 27 W 24,076
B 6
Wed. July 24
11:00 PM
SSK 0 @ BC 40 W 18,240
C 12
Thu. Aug. 1
OTT 8 @ BC 18 W 23,190
1 16
Thu. Aug. 8
10:00 PM
BC 16 @ SSK 7 W 12,605
2 19
Mon. Aug. 12
EDM 12 @ BC 31 W 27,639
3 24
Mon. Aug. 19
TOR 14 @ BC 22 W 31,589
4 31
Mon. Aug. 26
BC 22 @ CGY 19 W 22,500
32
Thu. Aug. 29
BC 15 @ WPG 16 L 19,632
6 38
Sat. Sept. 7
CGY 21 @ BC 37 W 36,659
7 43
Mon. Sept. 9
10:00 PM
BC 8 @ SSK 2 W 15,384
8 48
Mon. Sept. 16
MTL 9 @ BC 20 W 31,438
49
Sat. Sept. 21
BC 21 @ HAM 38 L 26,652
9 52
Mon. Sept. 23
BC 17 @ OTT 23 L 20,191
10 57
Mon. Sept. 30
CGY 14 @ BC 32 W 32,529
11 60
Sat. Oct. 5
BC 40 @ EDM 1 W 14,000
12 64
Sat. Oct. 12
11:30 PM
SSK 6 @ BC 26 W 30,079
13 69
Sat. Oct. 19
EDM 6 @ BC 32 W 29,133
14 77
Sun. Oct. 27
BC 20 @ WPG 34 L 16,973
15 80
Sun. Nov. 3
WPG 10 @ BC 28 W 32,646
P2 86
Sat. Nov. 16
3:30 PM
BC 19 @ SSK 7 W 16,262 CTV, CBC
87
Wed. Nov. 20
11:00 PM
SSK 13 @ BC 8 L 26,738 CBC, CTV
88
Sat. Nov. 23
5:00 PM
SSK 1 @ BC 36 W 25,603 CTV, CBC
GC 90
Sat. Nov. 30
4:00 PM
HAM 21 @ BC 10 L 36,461 CTV, CBC