The BC Lions 1963 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

BC Lions 1963 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 3 0 0 6 88 35 W3 3-0-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 387 232 W1 5-1-0
    Home 8 8 0 0 16 228 92 W8 6-0-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 159 140 L1 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 10 2 0 20 307 148 W1 5-1-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 80 84 L2 2-2-0

Full 1963 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 9 (9-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 7 (7-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 14 (12-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0)
After 4th 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 17
BC 30 @ TOR 27 W 24,076  
B
Wed Jul 24 11:00 PM
SSK 0 @ BC 40 W 18,240  
C
Thu Aug 1
OTT 8 @ BC 18 W 23,190  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 8 10:00 PM
BC 16 @ SSK 7 W 12,605  
2
Mon Aug 12
EDM 12 @ BC 31 W 27,639  
3
Mon Aug 19
TOR 14 @ BC 22 W 31,589  
4
Mon Aug 26
BC 22 @ CGY 19 W 22,500  
4
Thu Aug 29
BC 15 @ WPG 16 L 19,632  
6
Sat Sep 7
CGY 21 @ BC 37 W 36,659  
7
Mon Sep 9 10:00 PM
BC 8 @ SSK 2 W 15,384  
8
Mon Sep 16
MTL 9 @ BC 20 W 31,438  
8
Sat Sep 21
BC 21 @ HAM 38 L 26,652  
9
Mon Sep 23
BC 17 @ OTT 23 L 20,191  
10
Mon Sep 30
CGY 14 @ BC 32 W 32,529  
11
Sat Oct 5
BC 40 @ EDM 1 W 14,000  
12
Sat Oct 12 11:30 PM
SSK 6 @ BC 26 W 30,079  
13
Sat Oct 19
EDM 6 @ BC 32 W 29,133  
14
Sun Oct 27
BC 20 @ WPG 34 L 16,973  
15
Sun Nov 3
WPG 10 @ BC 28 W 32,646  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 16 3:30 PM
BC 19 @ SSK 7 W 16,262 CTV, CBC
P2
Wed Nov 20 11:00 PM
SSK 13 @ BC 8 L 26,738 CBC, CTV
P2
Sat Nov 23 5:00 PM
SSK 1 @ BC 36 W 25,603 CTV, CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 30 4:00 PM
HAM 21 @ BC 10 L 36,461 CTV, CBC

BC Lions 1963 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.438 6-0-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.500 2-0-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.688
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.125
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.438
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.429
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.643
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Team Scoring

19631962 +/-
Average Combined Score 38.69 -4.31
Average Winning Score 26.17 -2.55
Average Losing Score 18.25 +2.14
Average Home Score 28.50 +8.25
Average Visitor Score 19.88 -3.12
Average Margin of Victory 16.08 +0.51
Average Margin of Loss 9.50 -2.17

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 6040100 6562127 494796 541064 228 (28.5)159 (19.9)387 (24.2)
Opponent 54247 275077 131124 473784 140 (17.5)92 (11.5)232 (14.5)

Coaches

Head Coach

BC Lions 1963 Player Awards and Nominations

1963 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Joe Kapp (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Tom Brown (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Norm Fieldgate (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1963 All-Star Selections

No BC Lions Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1963.

See an error? Please send corrections.

BC Lions 1963 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–3 (12)   Noal Bates (G) Toronto
3–3 (21)   Peter Kempf (C) British Columbia (UBC)
5–3   Pass
6–3   Pass
7–3   Pass
8–3   Pass
9–3   Pass
10–3   Pass
11–3   Pass
12–3   Pass
13–3   Pass
14–3   Pass
15–3   Pass
16–3   Pass
17–3   Pass
18–3   Pass
19–3   Pass
20–3   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway