Season Summary

  • Finished 4th in the Western Conference
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Thu Jul 15 10:00 PM
SSK 14 @ BC 17 W 20,184  
Ex
Thu Jul 15 11:30 PM
CGY 7 @ BC 5 L    
Ex
Tue Jul 20 8:05 PM
BC @ MTL 13 L 15,000  
Ex
Thu Jul 22 8:15 PM
BC 19 @ TOR 8 W 19,637  
Ex
Mon Jul 26
OTT 20 @ BC 28 ND 21,148  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Wed Aug 4
BC 21 @ WPG 23 L 17,980  
2
Sat Aug 7
EDM 13 @ BC 38 W 32,055  
4
Mon Aug 16
WPG 12 @ BC 6 L 36,457  
4
Fri Aug 20 10:05 PM
BC 10 @ SSK 10 T 16,676  
5
Sun Aug 29
TOR 1 @ BC 36 W 20,855  
6
Thu Sep 2
BC 14 @ WPG 7 W 21,012  
8
Sat Sep 11
CGY 10 @ BC 24 W 36,704  
9
Sat Sep 18
MTL 11 @ BC 6 L    
10
Sat Sep 25
BC 7 @ CGY 21 L 19,000  
11
Mon Sep 27 10:00 PM
BC 26 @ SSK 14 W 12,587  
11
Sat Oct 2
EDM 27 @ BC 41 W 31,402  
12
Sat Oct 9 11:00 PM
BC 12 @ EDM 14 L 18,411 CTVW
13
Sun Oct 17 2:00 PM
BC 7 @ HAM 25 L 26,803 CTVE
14
Tue Oct 19
BC 14 @ OTT 35 L 18,537  
14
Sun Oct 24 5:00 PM
SSK 30 @ BC 14 L 37,788  
15
Sun Oct 31
CGY 20 @ BC 10 L 24,191  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1965.
Regular Season 16 6 9 1 13 286 273 L5 1-5-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 175 124 L2 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 2 5 1 5 111 149 L3 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 5 6 1 11 223 201 L3 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 63 72 L3 1-3-0

Full 1965 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (1-3-1) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (5-3-1) 4 (1-3-0) 3 (0-3-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (1-1-1) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (4-1-1) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (1-1-1) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (5-1-1) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 9 (0-9-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.570 3-3-0 (6) 2-3-1 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.446 1-1-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.750
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.357
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214
19651964 +/-
Average Combined Score 34.94 +3.94
Average Winning Score 29.83 +5.83
Average Losing Score 10.78 +0.28
Average Home Score 21.88 +0.00
Average Visitor Score 13.88 -5.25
Average Margin of Victory 17.83 +1.56
Average Margin of Loss 10.44 +0.94
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 423678 492877 201535 643296 175 (21.9)111 (13.9)286 (17.9)
Opponent 381048 405898 113546 354681 149 (18.6)124 (15.5)273 (17.1)
Head Coach
1965 Player Awards and Nominations
1965 Most Outstanding
BC Lions 1965 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
DE Dick Fouts
2 All-Division Selections
DT Mike Cacic
DE Dick Fouts

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1965 BC Lions Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9)   Bayne Norrie (HB) Queen's
2–9 (18)   Dave Boston (LB) Mount Allison
3–9 (27)   Roger Hardy (HB) British Columbia (UBC)
4–9 (36)   John Reykeal (C) British Columbia (UBC)
5–9   Pass
6–9   Pass
7–9   Pass
8–9   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements