The BC Lions’ 1969 Season

Season Summary

BC Lions 1969 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

BC Lions 1969 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 60 68 W3 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 5 11 0 10 235 335 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 105 160 L1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 130 175 W2 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 4 8 0 8 170 215 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 65 120 W1 1-3-0

Full 1969 League Standings

BC Lions 1969 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.477 2-4-0 (6) 2-4-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.580 1-1-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.563
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.813
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.219
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.607
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.214
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.714

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1969 BC Lions Attendance

  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Total: 211,857
  • High: 32,340
  • Avg: 26,482 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1968 Avg: +26,482
  • Low: 21,729
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 81.80
  • Diff from League Avg: +5,323

More 1969 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19691968 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.63 2.19 +
Average Winning Score 16.80 2.05 +
Average Losing Score 13.73 1.36 +
Average Home Score 13.13 0.75 +
Average Visitor Score 16.25 1.50 +
Average Margin of Victory 8.60 3.35 +
Average Margin of Loss 13.00 1.91 +

Stadium

  • 1969 home stadium: Empire Stadium
  • Capacity: 32,375
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Opened 1954

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 302050 356095 102737 302353 105 (13.1)130 (16.3)235 (14.7)
Opponent 295281 543084 363975 415495 175 (21.9)160 (20.0)335 (20.9)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (3-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (5-5-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 2nd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (3-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 3rd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (0-4-0) 5 (3-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)

BC Lions 1969 Player Awards and Nominations

1969 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim Young (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ken Sugarman (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Jim Young (Division Finalist)

BC Lions 1969 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7) [TOR] Ted Warkentin (E) Simon Fraser
2–3 (12) Dave Wray (LB) Alberta
3–3 (20) Dave Corcoran (LB) British Columbia (UBC)
4–3 (29) Roger Flewelling (LB) Simon Fraser
5–3 (38) Paul Dumas (DHB) Simon Fraser
6–3 (45) Chris Beaton (T) Simon Fraser
7–3 (52) Wayne Holm (QB) Simon Fraser
8–3 Pass

BC Lions 1969 All-Star Selections

5 All-Division Selections
RB Jim Young
RB Jim Evenson
G Ken Sugarman
DB Jerry Bradley
DB Rich Robinson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 2
Sun. July 6
BC 10 @ CGY 23 L 9,950
B 5
Thu. July 10
MTL 12 @ BC 14 W 21,220
C 13
Sun. July 20
BC 9 @ EDM 8 W 11,000
D 17
Wed. July 23
TOR 25 @ BC 27 W 21,310
1 20
Wed. July 30
CGY 32 @ BC 7 L 28,294
2 23
Sun. Aug. 3
BC 20 @ SSK 22 L 13,000
3 29
Wed. Aug. 13
BC 24 @ OTT 41 L 20,315
32
Sat. Aug. 16
BC 0 @ HAM 25 L 18,635
4 36
Sat. Aug. 23
TOR 42 @ BC 20 L 27,661
6 43
Mon. Sept. 1
BC 14 @ SSK 32 L 16,470
7 44
Sat. Sept. 6
WPG 7 @ BC 11 W 25,051
8 50
Sat. Sept. 13
BC 20 @ CGY 28 L 18,816
9 54
Wed. Sept. 17
EDM 13 @ BC 5 L 22,791
58
Sun. Sept. 21
BC 17 @ WPG 19 L 18,361
10 59
Sat. Sept. 27
CGY 22 @ BC 17 L 21,729
11 65
Sun. Oct. 5
BC 13 @ EDM 5 W 16,101
12 69
Sat. Oct. 11
MTL 12 @ BC 21 W 22,444
13 75
Sat. Oct. 18
EDM 14 @ BC 17 W 31,547
14 81
Sun. Oct. 26
BC 22 @ WPG 3 W 15,340
15 82
Thu. Oct. 30
SSK 18 @ BC 7 L 32,340
P1 87
Sat. Nov. 8
BC 21 @ CGY 35 L 22,131