Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sun Jul 6 5:00 PM
BC 10 @ CGY 23 L 9,950  
Ex
Thu Jul 10
MTL 12 @ BC 14 W 21,220  
Ex
Sun Jul 20 5:00 PM
BC 9 @ EDM 8 W 11,000  
Ex
Wed Jul 23
TOR 25 @ BC 27 W 21,310  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Wed Jul 30
CGY 32 @ BC 7 L 28,294  
2
Sun Aug 3 4:00 PM
BC 20 @ SSK 22 L 13,000  
3
Wed Aug 13
BC 24 @ OTT 41 L 20,315  
3
Sat Aug 16
BC @ HAM 25 L 18,635  
4
Sat Aug 23
TOR 42 @ BC 20 L 27,661  
6
Mon Sep 1 4:00 PM
BC 14 @ SSK 32 L 16,470  
7
Sat Sep 6
WPG 7 @ BC 11 W 25,051  
8
Sat Sep 13
BC 20 @ CGY 28 L 18,816  
9
Wed Sep 17 11:00 PM
EDM 13 @ BC 5 L 22,791 CTV
9
Sun Sep 21 3:30 PM
BC 17 @ WPG 19 L 18,361 CTV
10
Sat Sep 27
CGY 22 @ BC 17 L 21,729  
11
Sun Oct 5
BC 13 @ EDM 5 W 16,101  
12
Sat Oct 11 11:15 PM
MTL 12 @ BC 21 W 22,444 CBC
13
Sat Oct 18
EDM 14 @ BC 17 W 31,547  
14
Sun Oct 26
BC 22 @ WPG 3 W 15,340  
15
Thu Oct 30 11:00 PM
SSK 18 @ BC 7 L 32,340  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 8 4:00 PM
BC 21 @ CGY 35 L 22,131  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 5 11 0 10 235 335 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 105 160 L1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 130 175 W2 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 4 8 0 8 170 215 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 65 120 W1 1-3-0

Full 1969 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (3-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (5-5-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 2nd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (3-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 3rd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (0-4-0) 5 (3-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.477 2-4-0 (6) 2-4-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.580 1-1-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.563
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.813
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.219
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.607
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.214
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.714
19691968 +/-
Average Combined Score 35.63 +2.19
Average Winning Score 16.80 +2.05
Average Losing Score 13.73 +1.36
Average Home Score 13.13 +0.75
Average Visitor Score 16.25 +1.50
Average Margin of Victory 8.60 +3.35
Average Margin of Loss 13.00 +1.91
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 302050 356095 102737 302353 105 (13.1)130 (16.3)235 (14.7)
Opponent 295281 543084 363975 415495 175 (21.9)160 (20.0)335 (20.9)
Head Coaches
1969 Player Awards and Nominations
1969 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim Young (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ken Sugarman (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Jim Young (Division Finalist)
BC Lions 1969 All-Star Selections
5 All-Division Selections
RB Jim Young
RB Jim Evenson
G Ken Sugarman
DB Jerry Bradley
DB Rich Robinson

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1969 BC Lions Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7) [TOR] Ted Warkentin (E) Simon Fraser
2–3 (12)   Dave Wray (LB) Alberta
3–3 (20)   Dave Corcoran (LB) British Columbia (UBC)
4–3 (29)   Roger Flewelling (LB) Simon Fraser
5–3 (38)   Paul Dumas (DHB) Simon Fraser
6–3 (45)   Chris Beaton (T) Simon Fraser
7–3 (52)   Wayne Holm (QB) Simon Fraser
8–3   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements