The BC Lions 1971 Season

BC Lions 1971 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 1 3 0 2 68 96 W1 1-3-0
Regular Season 16 6 9 1 13 282 363 W1 2-4-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 146 98 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 1 6 1 3 136 265 L3 0-5-1
   Divisional opponent 12 4 7 1 9 203 258 W1 2-3-1
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 79 105 L2 2-2-0

Full 1971 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (0-3-1) 6 (5-1-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (1-4-1)
After 2nd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (1-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 7 (5-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (1-8-0)
After 3rd 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-5-1) 8 (6-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-7-1)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 6 (0-6-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 9 (0-9-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Mon. July 5
EDM 17 @ BC 15 L 22,816  
B
Mon. July 12
OTT 41 @ BC 14 L 23,088  
C
Fri. July 16
BC 17 @ TOR 18 L 32,136  
C
Mon. July 19
BC 22 @ OTT 20 W 15,554  
1
Tue. July 27
SSK 14 @ BC 10 L 30,492  
2
Wed. Aug. 4
BC 19 @ EDM 20 L 19,816  
3
Mon. Aug. 9
BC 29 @ WPG 16 W 19,981  
4
Wed. Aug. 18
EDM 1 @ BC 11 W 32,454  
5
Tue. Aug. 24
BC 1 @ CGY 32 L 23,616  
6
Sun. Aug. 29 5:00 PM
TOR 24 @ BC 27 W 30,242 CTV
7
Mon. Sept. 6 10:00 PM
BC 14 @ SSK 35 L 21,485 CTV
8
Sun. Sept. 12 5:00 PM
CGY 25 @ BC 10 L 30,660 CTV
9
Sun. Sept. 19 3:30 PM
BC 31 @ WPG 31 T 22,083 CTV
10
Sat. Sept. 25
WPG 18 @ BC 25 W 28,063  
11
Sat. Oct. 2 11:00 PM
MTL 0 @ BC 28 W 25,138 CBC
12
Sat. Oct. 9
BC 21 @ OTT 45 L 14,758  
12
Mon. Oct. 11 2:00 PM
BC 3 @ HAM 36 L 25,997 CTV
13
Sat. Oct. 16 11:00 PM
EDM 9 @ BC 4 L 27,207 CBC
14
Sun. Oct. 24
BC 18 @ SSK 50 L 13,801  
15
Sat. Oct. 30 11:00 PM
CGY 7 @ BC 31 W 21,489 CBC

BC Lions 1971 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.508 3-3-0 (6) 1-4-1 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 2-0-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.594
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.375
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.594
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.469
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.500
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.429
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.429
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.714

Team Scoring

19711970 +/-
Average Combined Score 40.31 -2.12
Average Winning Score 25.17 -2.33
Average Losing Score 11.11 -1.89
Average Home Score 18.25 +1.00
Average Visitor Score 17.00 -2.62
Average Margin of Victory 14.17 +0.83
Average Margin of Loss 18.44 +1.54

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 334578 414384 232245 492675 146 (18.3)136 (17.0)282 (17.6)
Opponent 176481 3484118 224365 257499 265 (33.1)98 (12.3)363 (22.7)

Coaches

Head Coach

BC Lions 1971 Player Awards and Nominations

1971 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim Evenson (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Garrett Hunsperger (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Jim Young (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1971 All-Star Selections

1 All-Canadian Selections
RB Jim Evenson
2 All-Division Selections
RB Jim Evenson*
T Ken Sugarman

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

BC Lions 1971 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Archie McCord (T) Simon Fraser
2–3 (12)   Mike Leveille (FL) Ottawa
3–3 (21)   Henry Lodewycks (FL) Manitoba
4–3 (30)   John Chapman (E) Toronto
5–3 (39)   Mike Begg (E) Simon Fraser
6–3 (48)   Ron Fowler (FL) Guelph
7–3 (57)   John Farlinger (DB) Calgary
8–3 (65)   Bryan Ansley (T) Simon Fraser
9–3 (69)   Gerald Fraser (G) Manitoba

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements