The BC Lions 1972 Season

BC Lions 1972 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 60 80 L1 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 5 11 0 10 254 380 W1 3-3-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 147 173 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 107 207 L2 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 12 3 9 0 6 178 312 W1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 76 68 L1 2-2-0

Full 1972 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (1-6-0) 4 (4-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (1-9-0)
After 2nd 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (3-8-0)
After 3rd 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (3-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed. July 5
BC 31 @ SSK 23 W 12,264  
B
Thu. July 13
CGY 9 @ BC 14 W 23,969  
C
Mon. July 17
BC 15 @ WPG 14 W 22,055  
D
Tue. July 25
EDM 34 @ BC 0 L 23,411  
1
Tue. Aug. 1
BC 22 @ EDM 34 L 19,844  
2
Tue. Aug. 8
HAM 17 @ BC 19 W 26,488  
3
Mon. Aug. 14
BC 14 @ CGY 19 L 22,611  
3
Thu. Aug. 17
WPG 39 @ BC 7 L    
4
Fri. Aug. 25
BC 7 @ EDM 29 L 22,641  
7
Thu. Sept. 7
BC 7 @ WPG 42 L 25,210  
8
Tue. Sept. 12
SSK 24 @ BC 13 L 21,937  
8
Sun. Sept. 17
BC 17 @ MTL 22 L 11,872  
9
Wed. Sept. 20
BC 23 @ TOR 9 W 33,135  
10
Tue. Sept. 26
OTT 20 @ BC 17 L 22,108  
11
Tue. Oct. 3
WPG 24 @ BC 26 W 20,579  
12
Sun. Oct. 8
BC 14 @ SSK 24 L 16,500  
13
Sat. Oct. 14
EDM 16 @ BC 22 W 22,124  
14
Sat. Oct. 21
CGY 19 @ BC 17 L 21,284  
15
Sat. Oct. 28
BC 3 @ CGY 28 L 17,190  
16
Sat. Nov. 4
SSK 14 @ BC 26 W 22,597  

BC Lions 1972 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.531 3-3-0 (6) 0-6-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 1-1-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.625
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.786
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Team Scoring

19721971 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.63 -0.69
Average Winning Score 23.20 -1.97
Average Losing Score 12.55 +1.43
Average Home Score 18.38 +0.12
Average Visitor Score 13.38 -3.62
Average Margin of Victory 7.20 -6.97
Average Margin of Loss 14.73 -3.72

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 35641 532881 173148 424284 147 (18.4)107 (13.4)254 (15.9)
Opponent 225476 6557122 272350 5973132 207 (25.9)173 (21.6)380 (23.8)

Coaches

Head Coach

BC Lions 1972 Player Awards and Nominations

1972 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim Young (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ray Nettles (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Jim Young (Winner)
  • Rookie — Ray Nettles (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1972 All-Star Selections

2 All-Canadian Selections
WR Jim Young
OLB Ray Nettles
2 All-Division Selections
WR Jim Young (Tie)
OLB Ray Nettles

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

BC Lions 1972 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Steve Szapka (G) Simon Fraser
3–3 (21)   Bob Friend (DB) Simon Fraser
4–3 (30)   Art Lestins (T) Waterloo Lutheran
5–3 (39)   Bill MacDonald (QB) Bishop's
6–3 (47)   Jean Gouin (T) Ottawa
7–3 (56)   Wayne Terry (DB) Ottawa
8–3 (64)   Ron Warner (G) British Columbia (UBC)

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements