The BC Lions 1972 Season

BC Lions 1972 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 60 80 L1 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 5 11 0 10 254 380 W1 3-3-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 147 173 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 107 207 L2 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 12 3 9 0 6 178 312 W1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 76 68 L1 2-2-0

Full 1972 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (1-6-0) 4 (4-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (1-9-0)
After 2nd 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 4 (2-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (3-8-0)
After 3rd 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (3-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 5 10:00 PM
BC 31 @ SSK 23 W 12,264  
B
Thu Jul 13 11:00 PM
CGY 9 @ BC 14 W 23,969  
C
Mon Jul 17 9:00 PM
BC 15 @ WPG 14 W 22,055  
D
Tue Jul 25 11:00 PM
EDM 34 @ BC 0 L 23,411  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Aug 1 10:00 PM
BC 22 @ EDM 34 L 19,844  
2
Tue Aug 8 11:00 PM
HAM 17 @ BC 19 W 26,488  
3
Mon Aug 14 10:00 PM
BC 14 @ CGY 19 L 22,611  
3
Thu Aug 17 11:00 PM
WPG 39 @ BC 7 L 29,781 CTVW
4
Fri Aug 25 10:00 PM
BC 7 @ EDM 29 L 22,641 CTVW
7
Thu Sep 7 9:00 PM
BC 7 @ WPG 42 L 25,210  
8
Tue Sep 12 11:00 PM
SSK 24 @ BC 13 L 21,937  
8
Sun Sep 17 2:00 PM
BC 17 @ MTL 22 L 11,872 CTV
9
Wed Sep 20 8:00 PM
BC 23 @ TOR 9 W 33,135 CTV
10
Tue Sep 26 10:30 PM
OTT 20 @ BC 17 L 22,108 CTV
11
Tue Oct 3 11:00 PM
WPG 24 @ BC 26 W 20,579  
12
Sun Oct 8 4:00 PM
BC 14 @ SSK 24 L 16,500 CTVW
13
Sat Oct 14 11:00 PM
EDM 16 @ BC 22 W 22,124 CTVW
14
Sat Oct 21 11:00 PM
CGY 19 @ BC 17 L 21,284  
15
Sat Oct 28 11:00 PM
BC 3 @ CGY 28 L 17,190 CBCW
16
Sat Nov 4 11:00 PM
SSK 14 @ BC 26 W 22,597  

BC Lions 1972 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.531 3-3-0 (6) 0-6-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 1-1-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.625
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.786
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Team Scoring

19721971 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.63 -0.69
Average Winning Score 23.20 -1.97
Average Losing Score 12.55 +1.43
Average Home Score 18.38 +0.12
Average Visitor Score 13.38 -3.62
Average Margin of Victory 7.20 -6.97
Average Margin of Loss 14.73 -3.72

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
BC 35641 532881 173148 424284 147 (18.4)107 (13.4)254 (15.9)
Opponent 225476 6557122 272350 5973132 207 (25.9)173 (21.6)380 (23.8)

Coaches

Head Coach

BC Lions 1972 Player Awards and Nominations

1972 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim Young (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Ray Nettles (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Jim Young (Winner)
  • Rookie — Ray Nettles (Team Nominee)

BC Lions 1972 All-Star Selections

No BC Lions Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1972.

See an error? Please send corrections.

BC Lions 1972 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Steve Szapka (G) Simon Fraser
3–3 (21)   Bob Friend (DB) Simon Fraser
4–3 (30)   Art Lestins (T) Waterloo Lutheran
5–3 (39)   Bill MacDonald (QB) Bishop's
6–3 (47)   Jean Gouin (T) Ottawa
7–3 (56)   Wayne Terry (DB) Ottawa
8–3 (64)   Ron Warner (G) British Columbia (UBC)

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements