The Calgary Bronks 1939 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Bronks 1939 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 11 4 7 0 8 144 123 W1 2-4-0
    Home 6 3 3 0 6 85 48 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 5 1 4 0 2 59 75 L2 1-4-0

Full 1939 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (2-2-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (4-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance
1
Fri Aug 25
WPG 12 @ CGYB 1 L  
2
Mon Sep 4
CGYB 12 @ EDM 16 L  
3
Fri Sep 8
EDM 1 @ CGYB 18 W  
4
Fri Sep 15
CGYB 18 @ WPG 19 L  
4
Mon Sep 18
CGYB 12 @ REG 3 W  
5
Fri Sep 22
REG 0 @ CGYB 24 W  
6
Sat Sep 30
CGYB 6 @ WPG 25 L  
7
Fri Oct 6
WPG 19 @ CGYB 17 L  
7
Mon Oct 9
REG 8 @ CGYB 7 L  
8
Sat Oct 14
CGYB 11 @ REG 12 L  
9
Sat Oct 21
EDM 8 @ CGYB 18 W  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance
P1
Sat Nov 4
CGYB 24 @ REG 17 W 3,000
P2
Sat Nov 11
CGYB 13 @ WPG 7 W 6,000
P3
Sat Nov 18 4:00 PM
WPG 28 @ CGYB 7 L 5,000

Calgary Bronks 1939 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.559 3-3-0 (6) 1-4-0 (5)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.273
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.833
Regina Roughriders (4) 0.500

Team Scoring

19391938 +/-
Average Combined Score 24.27 +14.65
Average Winning Score 18.00 +9.67
Average Losing Score 10.29 +10.29
Average Home Score 14.17 +3.92
Average Visitor Score 11.80 +9.55
Average Margin of Victory 15.00 +8.67
Average Margin of Loss 5.57 -1.93

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 19726 351954 242044 71320 85 (14.2)59 (11.8)144 (13.1)
Opponent 32932 211031 131831 111829 75 (12.5)48 (9.6)123 (11.2)

Coaches

Head Coach

Calgary Bronks 1939 All-Star Selections

2 All-Division Selections
HB Paul “Pappy” Rowe*
SN Johnny McKee

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Clements