Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Wed Aug 8 11:30 PM
TOR 28 @ CGY 13 L 10,000  
Ex
Sat Aug 11
CGY 7 @ HAM W 8,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 18 11:30 PM
BC 17 @ CGY 14 L 12,889  
2
Sat Aug 25
CGY 22 @ EDM 23 L 16,500  
2
Mon Aug 27
CGY 15 @ WPG 16 L 16,687  
3
Sat Sep 1 11:30 PM
SSK 17 @ CGY 27 W 12,000  
4
Sat Sep 8 11:30 PM
CGY 15 @ BC 45 L 28,737  
4
Mon Sep 10 11:30 PM
EDM 28 @ CGY 15 L 12,000  
5
Sat Sep 15 11:30 PM
WPG 6 @ CGY 16 W 12,789  
5
Mon Sep 17 10:00 PM
CGY 1 @ SSK 18 L 14,000  
6
Sat Sep 22
CGY @ EDM 52 L 20,000  
7
Sat Sep 29 11:30 PM
WPG 37 @ CGY 14 L 12,000  
8
Sat Oct 6 11:30 PM
CGY 7 @ BC 24 L 25,663  
8
Mon Oct 8 10:30 PM
EDM 36 @ CGY 8 L 11,261  
9
Mon Oct 15 10:30 PM
BC 22 @ CGY 21 L 10,000  
10
Sat Oct 20
CGY 25 @ WPG 17 W 15,922  
10
Mon Oct 22 10:30 PM
SSK 19 @ CGY 29 W 9,000  
11
Sat Oct 27 3:30 PM
CGY @ SSK 33 L 8,000  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1956.
Regular Season 16 4 12 0 8 229 410 L1 2-4-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 144 182 W1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 85 228 L1 1-5-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (1-8-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 12 (1-11-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (0-10-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (0-12-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.563 3-5-0 (8) 1-7-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Edmonton Elks (4) 0.688
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.563
19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.94 +8.19
Average Winning Score 24.25 +7.00
Average Losing Score 11.00 -0.67
Average Home Score 18.00 +4.75
Average Visitor Score 10.63 -2.25
Average Margin of Victory 9.50 +0.75
Average Margin of Loss 18.25 +7.83
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 361753 121527 414081 551368 144 (18.0)85 (10.6)229 (14.3)
Opponent 335285 7779156 524698 205171 228 (28.5)182 (22.8)410 (25.6)
Head Coaches
1956 Player Awards and Nominations
1956 Most Outstanding
Calgary Stampeders 1956 All-Star Selections
2 All-Division Selections
G Harry Langford
DT Dick Huffman

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1956 Calgary Stampeders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2)   Phil Muntz (FB) Toronto
2–2 (11)   Ted Roman (T) Western Ontario
3–2 (20)   Ted Taporowski (T) McGill
4–2 (29)   Bill Bell (T) McMaster

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway