The Calgary Stampeders 1956 Season

Calgary Stampeders 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 1 1 0 2 20 28 W1 1-1-0
Regular Season 16 4 12 0 8 229 410 L1 2-4-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 144 182 W1 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 85 228 L1 1-5-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 4 (2-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 9 (1-8-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 1 (0-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 12 (1-11-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (0-10-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (0-12-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A
Wed. Aug. 8
TOR 28 @ CGY 13 L 10,000  
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
B
Sat. Aug. 11
CGY 7 @ HAM 0 W 8,000  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1
Sat. Aug. 18
BC 17 @ CGY 14 L 12,889  
2
Sat. Aug. 25
CGY 22 @ EDM 23 L 16,500  
2
Mon. Aug. 27
CGY 15 @ WPG 16 L 16,687  
3
Sat. Sept. 1
SSK 17 @ CGY 27 W 12,000  
4
Sat. Sept. 8
CGY 15 @ BC 45 L 28,737  
4
Mon. Sept. 10
EDM 28 @ CGY 15 L 12,000  
5
Sat. Sept. 15
WPG 6 @ CGY 16 W 12,789  
5
Mon. Sept. 17 10:00 PM
CGY 1 @ SSK 18 L 14,000  
6
Sat. Sept. 22
CGY 0 @ EDM 52 L 20,000  
7
Sat. Sept. 29
WPG 37 @ CGY 14 L 12,000  
8
Sat. Oct. 6
CGY 7 @ BC 24 L 25,663  
8
Mon. Oct. 8
EDM 36 @ CGY 8 L 11,261  
9
Mon. Oct. 15
BC 22 @ CGY 21 L 10,000  
10
Sat. Oct. 20
CGY 25 @ WPG 17 W 15,922  
10
Mon. Oct. 22
SSK 19 @ CGY 29 W 9,000  
11
Sat. Oct. 27
CGY 0 @ SSK 33 L 8,000  

Calgary Stampeders 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.563 3-5-0 (8) 1-7-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.688
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.563

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.94 +8.19
Average Winning Score 24.25 +7.00
Average Losing Score 11.00 -0.67
Average Home Score 18.00 +4.75
Average Visitor Score 10.63 -2.25
Average Margin of Victory 9.50 +0.75
Average Margin of Loss 18.25 +7.83

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 361753 121527 414081 551368 144 (18.0)85 (10.6)229 (14.3)
Opponent 335285 7779156 524698 205171 228 (28.5)182 (22.8)410 (25.6)

Coaches

Head Coaches

Calgary Stampeders 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Earl Lunsford (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Dick Huffman (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Harry Langford (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1956 All-Star Selections

2 All-Division Selections
G Harry Langford
DT Dick Huffman

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Calgary Stampeders 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2)   Phil Muntz (FB) Toronto
2–2 (11)   Ted Roman (T) Western Ontario
3–2 (20)   Ted Taporowski (T) McGill
4–2 (29)   Bill Bell (T) McMaster

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Holloway