The Calgary Stampeders’ 1957 Season

Season Summary

Calgary Stampeders 1957 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1957 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 72 83 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 6 10 0 12 221 413 L6 0-6-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 128 162 L2 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 93 251 L7 0-6-0

Full 1957 League Standings

Calgary Stampeders 1957 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.531 5-3-0 (8) 1-7-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.281
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.875
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.219
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Team Scoring

19571956 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.63 -0.31
Average Winning Score 20.67 -3.58
Average Losing Score 9.70 -1.30
Average Home Score 16.00 -2.00
Average Visitor Score 11.63 +1.00
Average Margin of Victory 7.50 -2.00
Average Margin of Loss 23.70 +5.45

1957 Calgary Stampeders Attendance

  • Capacity: 13,000
  • Total: 102,500
  • High: 16,000
  • Avg: 12,812 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1956 Avg: +1,320
  • Low: 9,500
  • Sellouts: 4
  • % of Capacity: 98.56
  • Diff from League Avg: +12,512

More 1957 Attendance Numbers

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Stadium

  • 1957 home stadium: Mewata Stadium
  • Capacity: 13,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1952 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 223052 312152 35843 403474 128 (16.0)93 (11.6)221 (13.8)
Opponent 414485 3683119 194564 6679145 251 (31.4)162 (20.3)413 (25.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 8 (2-6-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (1-7-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 12 (2-10-0)
After 3rd 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (1-7-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 12 (2-10-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (0-10-0)

Calgary Stampeders 1957 Player Awards and Nominations

1957 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Dick Huffman (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Dick Huffman (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Al Valdes (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1957 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7) [MTL] Norm Williams (HB) Toronto
1–8 (8) [SSK] Santo Martini (T) Toronto
2–2 (11)   Ron Stewart (E) British Columbia (UBC)
3–2 (20)   Walt Schmida (T) Toronto
4–2 (28)   Trevor Eyton (G) Toronto
5–2 (33)   Stewart Winter (HB) Toronto
6–2 (35)   Curtis Russell (G) Toronto

Calgary Stampeders 1957 All-Star Selections

5 All-Division Selections
E Jack Gotta
G Harry Langford
T Dick Huffman
DT Dick Huffman
DHB Jack Gotta

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A
Sat. July 27
CGY 19 @ BC 14 W 15,454  
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
A
Thu. Aug. 1 5:45 PM
CGY 13 @ MTL 39 L 21,184  
A
Fri. Aug. 2 8:30 PM
CGY 14 @ OTT 23 L 9,272  
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
B
Mon. Aug. 12
OTT 7 @ CGY 26 W 10,000  
1
Mon. Aug. 19
BC 1 @ CGY 8 W 10,000  
2
Sat. Aug. 24
EDM 6 @ CGY 10 W 16,000  
2
Mon. Aug. 26
CGY 22 @ BC 20 W 28,100  
3
Sat. Aug. 31
SSK 22 @ CGY 26 W 16,000  
4
Mon. Sept. 9
CGY 2 @ EDM 22 L 20,000  
5
Sat. Sept. 14
WPG 40 @ CGY 13 L 16,000  
5
Mon. Sept. 16
CGY 27 @ SSK 44 L 11,500  
6
Sat. Sept. 21
CGY 7 @ WPG 30 L 18,322  
6
Wed. Sept. 25
BC 21 @ CGY 22 W 11,000  
8
Sat. Oct. 5
SSK 9 @ CGY 36 W 9,500  
8
Mon. Oct. 7
CGY 1 @ BC 27 L 16,928  
9
Sat. Oct. 12
CGY 7 @ EDM 46 L 17,000  
9
Mon. Oct. 14
EDM 32 @ CGY 6 L 14,000  
10
Sat. Oct. 19
WPG 31 @ CGY 7 L 10,000  
11
Sat. Oct. 26
CGY 14 @ SSK 32 L 8,500  
11
Mon. Oct. 28
CGY 13 @ WPG 30 L 12,855  
P1
Sat. Nov. 9
CGY 13 @ WPG 13 T 12,392  
P1
Mon. Nov. 11
WPG 15 @ CGY 3 L 14,000