Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sat Jul 26
CGY 18 @ BC 17 W 13,981  
Ex
Wed Aug 6
CGY 21 @ TOR 13 W 8,506  
Ex
Fri Aug 8
CGY 33 @ SAR 1 W 5,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Mon Aug 18 11:30 PM
BC 0 @ CGY 42 W 15,133  
2
Sat Aug 23 11:30 PM
EDM 7 @ CGY 35 W 17,770  
2
Mon Aug 25 11:30 PM
CGY 34 @ BC 13 W 26,358  
3
Mon Sep 1 5:30 PM
WPG 3 @ CGY 11 W 17,750  
4
Mon Sep 8
CGY 28 @ EDM 32 L 20,000  
5
Sat Sep 13 11:30 PM
WPG 20 @ CGY 7 L 15,700  
5
Mon Sep 15 10:00 PM
CGY 7 @ SSK 30 L 13,012  
6
Sat Sep 20
CGY 9 @ WPG 36 L 20,059  
7
Sat Sep 27 11:30 PM
BC 15 @ CGY 29 W 14,500  
8
Sat Oct 4 11:30 PM
SSK 22 @ CGY 14 L 18,000  
8
Mon Oct 6 11:30 PM
CGY 14 @ BC 15 L 18,574  
9
Sat Oct 11 11:30 PM
CGY 10 @ EDM 17 L 15,000  
9
Mon Oct 13 5:30 PM
EDM 19 @ CGY 14 L 10,000  
10
Sat Oct 18 4:00 PM
CGY 21 @ SSK 17 W 10,148  
11
Sat Oct 25 11:30 PM
SSK 29 @ CGY 29 T 13,500  
11
Mon Oct 27
CGY 10 @ WPG 37 L 15,564  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 6 9 1 13 314 312 L1 1-4-1
    Home 8 4 3 1 9 181 115 T1 2-3-1
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 133 197 L1 1-5-0

Full 1958 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (2-1-1) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (1-3-0) 7 (3-3-1) 4 (2-2-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 2nd 5 (4-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (5-2-1) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 9 (6-2-1) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 9 (0-9-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.523 4-3-1 (8) 2-6-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.188
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.594
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.813
19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 39.13 -0.50
Average Winning Score 28.67 +8.00
Average Losing Score 12.56 +2.86
Average Home Score 22.63 +6.62
Average Visitor Score 16.63 +5.00
Average Margin of Victory 19.50 +12.00
Average Margin of Loss 12.78 -10.92
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 462571 454792 284068 622183 181 (22.6)133 (16.6)314 (19.6)
Opponent 162036 3367100 294372 3767104 197 (24.6)115 (14.4)312 (19.5)
Head Coach
Calgary Stampeders 1958 Player Awards and Nominations
1958 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Don Luzzi, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Don Luzzi, Jr. (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Harry Langford (Team Nominee)
Calgary Stampeders 1958 All-Star Selections
6 All-Division Selections
E Ernie “Big Hoss” Warlick
C Jim Furey
G Harry Langford
T Don Luzzi, Jr.
DT Don Luzzi, Jr.
DHB Jack “Jocko” Gotta

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1958 Calgary Stampeders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–5 (5)   Willie Casanova (HB) Western Ontario
2–5 (14)   Graydon Harrison (G) Queen's
3–5   Pass
4–5   Pass
5–5   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements