The Calgary Stampeders 1959 Season

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 0 3 0 0 38 76 L3 0-3-0
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 356 301 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 186 145 W2 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 170 156 L1 2-4-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 5 (3-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (4-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (3-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (7-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (7-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Thu Jul 30
CGY 21 @ KWD 8 W 3,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 15
EDM 15 @ CGY 10 L 7,000  
A
Tue Jul 21
CGY 7 @ EDM 33 L 7,500  
A
Tue Jul 28
CGY 21 @ MTL 28 L 21,603  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Aug 14
CGY 28 @ SSK 8 W 13,212  
2
Mon Aug 17
WPG 22 @ CGY 21 L 16,200  
2
Thu Aug 20
CGY 23 @ WPG 21 W 18,333  
3
Mon Aug 24
BC 17 @ CGY 29 W 17,000  
4
Mon Aug 31
SSK 10 @ CGY 28 W 10,500  
5
Mon Sep 7
EDM 16 @ CGY 10 L 17,200  
6
Sat Sep 12
CGY 20 @ EDM 27 L 20,000  
6
Mon Sep 14
CGY 8 @ BC 14 L 32,176  
7
Mon Sep 21
WPG 15 @ CGY 10 L 16,000  
8
Sat Sep 26
BC 28 @ CGY 10 L 14,800  
8
Mon Sep 28
CGY 18 @ SSK 15 W 6,500  
9
Mon Oct 5
CGY 24 @ WPG 38 L 15,813  
10
Sat Oct 10
SSK 13 @ CGY 53 W 8,500  
10
Mon Oct 12
CGY 41 @ EDM 23 W 15,500  
11
Sat Oct 17
EDM 24 @ CGY 25 W 17,000  
12
Sat Oct 24
CGY 8 @ BC 10 L 31,594  

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.500 4-4-0 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 41.06 +1.94
Average Winning Score 30.63 +1.96
Average Losing Score 13.88 +1.32
Average Home Score 23.25 +0.62
Average Visitor Score 21.25 +4.62
Average Margin of Victory 14.25 -5.25
Average Margin of Loss 7.38 -5.40

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 384280 6355118 434487 422971 186 (23.3)170 (21.3)356 (22.3)
Opponent 392463 403979 311546 3578113 156 (19.5)145 (18.1)301 (18.8)

Coaches

Head Coach
Assistant Coaches
  • Bernie Witucki – Assistant
  • Frank Filchock – Assistant

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Joe Kapp (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Opie Bandy (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Tony Pajaczkowski (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1959 All-Star Selections

3 All-Division Selections
HB Gene Filipski
E Ernie “Big Hoss” Warlick
S Harvey Wylie

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
3–4   Pass
4–4   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Clements