The Calgary Stampeders’ 1959 Season

Season Summary

  • Finished 4th in the WIFU

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 0 3 0 0 38 76 L3 0-3-0
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 356 301 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 186 145 W2 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 170 156 L1 2-4-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.500 4-4-0 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Edmonton Eskimos (4) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Assistant Coaches
  • Bernie Witucki – Assistant
  • Frank Filchock – Assistant

1959 Calgary Stampeders Attendance

  • Capacity: 13,000
  • Total: 117,200
  • High: 17,200
  • Avg: 14,650 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1958 Avg: -644
  • Low: 8,500
  • Sellouts: 6
  • % of Capacity: 112.69
  • Diff from League Avg: +10,364

More 1959 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 41.06 1.94 +
Average Winning Score 30.63 1.96 +
Average Losing Score 13.88 1.32 +
Average Home Score 23.25 0.63 +
Average Visitor Score 21.25 4.63 +
Average Margin of Victory 14.25 5.25 -
Average Margin of Loss 7.38 5.40 -

Stadium

  • 1959 home stadium: Mewata Stadium
  • Capacity: 13,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1952 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 384280 6355118 434487 422971 186 (23.3)170 (21.3)356 (22.3)
Opponent 392463 403979 311546 3578113 156 (19.5)145 (18.1)301 (18.8)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (1-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 5 (3-2-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (4-3-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 6 (3-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (7-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (7-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Joe Kapp (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Opie Bandy (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Tony Pajaczkowski (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
3–4 Pass
4–4 Pass

Calgary Stampeders 1959 All-Star Selections

3 All-Division Selections
HB Gene Filipski
E Ernie “Big Hoss” Warlick
S Harvey Wylie

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A 1
Wed. July 15
EDM 15 @ CGY 10 L 7,000
2
Tue. July 21
CGY 7 @ EDM 33 L 7,500
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
2
Tue. July 28
CGY 21 @ MTL 28 L 21,603
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1 9
Fri. Aug. 14
CGY 28 @ SSK 8 W 13,212
2 10
Mon. Aug. 17
WPG 22 @ CGY 21 L 16,200
13
Thu. Aug. 20
CGY 23 @ WPG 21 W 18,333
3 14
Mon. Aug. 24
BC 17 @ CGY 29 W 17,000
4 19
Mon. Aug. 31
SSK 10 @ CGY 28 W 10,500
5 22
Mon. Sept. 7
EDM 16 @ CGY 10 L 17,200
6 24
Sat. Sept. 12
CGY 20 @ EDM 27 L 20,000
26
Mon. Sept. 14
CGY 8 @ BC 14 L 32,176
7 29
Mon. Sept. 21
WPG 15 @ CGY 10 L 16,000
8 31
Sat. Sept. 26
BC 28 @ CGY 10 L 14,800
32
Mon. Sept. 28
CGY 18 @ SSK 15 W 6,500
9 36
Mon. Oct. 5
CGY 24 @ WPG 38 L 15,813
10 38
Sat. Oct. 10
SSK 13 @ CGY 53 W 8,500
39
Mon. Oct. 12
CGY 41 @ EDM 23 W 15,500
11 41
Sat. Oct. 17
EDM 24 @ CGY 25 W 17,000
12 45
Sat. Oct. 24
CGY 8 @ BC 10 L 31,594