The Calgary Stampeders’ 1964 Season

Season Summary

Calgary Stampeders 1964 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1964 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 80 29 W1 2-1-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 352 249 W6 6-0-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 196 87 W4 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 156 162 W3 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 9 3 0 18 267 147 W4 5-1-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 85 102 W3 3-1-0

Full 1964 League Standings

Calgary Stampeders 1964 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.422 4-2-0 (6) 5-1-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 2-0-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.781
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.250
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.563
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.094
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.750
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.429
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.607
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.286

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1964 Calgary Stampeders Attendance

  • Capacity: 21,000
  • Total: 141,121
  • High: 20,000
  • Avg: 17,640 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1963 Avg: -1,367
  • Low: 14,000
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 84.00
  • Diff from League Avg: -2,899

More 1964 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19641963 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.56 9.31 -
Average Winning Score 27.08 4.82 -
Average Losing Score 6.75 11.00 -
Average Home Score 24.50 1.25 -
Average Visitor Score 19.50 8.13 -
Average Margin of Victory 14.75 0.15 -
Average Margin of Loss 18.50 7.25 +

Stadium

  • 1964 home stadium: McMahon Stadium
  • Capacity: 21,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1960 – Opened 1960

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 5943102 543387 402969 435194 196 (24.5)156 (19.5)352 (22.0)
Opponent 263258 176279 253055 193857 162 (20.3)87 (10.9)249 (15.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 9 (7-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (4-2-0)
After 2nd 8 (6-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 11 (9-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (4-2-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (4-4-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)

Calgary Stampeders 1964 Player Awards and Nominations

1964 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Lovell Coleman (Winner)
  • Lineman — Don Luzzi, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Larry Robinson (Division Finalist)

Calgary Stampeders 1964 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–4 (4) Bill Edwards (HB) Queen's
1–6 (6) [SSK] Mike Howllett (E) Toronto
2–4 (13) Ian Brady (C) Queen's
3–4 (22) Dick Suderman (E) Western Ontario
4–4 (31) George Short (HB) Alberta
5–4 (39) Bob Latham (LB) Queen's
6–4 Pass
7–4 Pass
8–4 Pass
9–4 Pass
10–4 Pass

Calgary Stampeders 1964 All-Star Selections

4 All-Canadian Selections
FB Lovell Coleman
G Tony Pajaczkowski (Tie)
LB Wayne Harris
DHB Jerry Keeling
4 All-Division Selections
FB Lovell Coleman
E Pete Manning (Tie)
LB Wayne Harris
DHB Jerry Keeling

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 1
Tue. July 14
CGY 35 @ MTL 7 W 18,858
3
Thu. July 16
CGY 12 @ TOR 15 L 23,698
B 6
Wed. July 22
HAM 7 @ CGY 33 W 15,045
1 15
Mon. Aug. 3
SSK 15 @ CGY 4 L 18,500
17
Fri. Aug. 7
CGY 52 @ EDM 15 W 19,689
2 21
Mon. Aug. 10
CGY 4 @ BC 22 L 32,664
3 26
Mon. Aug. 17
EDM 6 @ CGY 39 W 14,000
4 31
Mon. Aug. 24
CGY 14 @ SSK 13 W 16,443
5 36
Thu. Sept. 3
CGY 13 @ WPG 10 W 15,231
6 38
Mon. Sept. 7
WPG 8 @ CGY 25 W 18,075
7 43
Sat. Sept. 12
CGY 12 @ OTT 52 L 19,560
8 46
Tue. Sept. 15
CGY 20 @ HAM 18 W 25,121
9 51
Tue. Sept. 22
BC 12 @ CGY 7 L 19,546
10 57
Tue. Sept. 29
TOR 25 @ CGY 30 W 15,000
60
Sun. Oct. 4
CGY 24 @ WPG 16 W 11,360
11 65
Sat. Oct. 10
MTL 7 @ CGY 23 W 16,000
13 69
Sat. Oct. 17
SSK 0 @ CGY 42 W 20,000
14 75
Sat. Oct. 24
CGY 17 @ EDM 16 W 10,000
15 78
Wed. Oct. 28
BC 14 @ CGY 26 W 20,000
P1 84
Sat. Nov. 7
CGY 25 @ SSK 34 L 14,462
85
Mon. Nov. 9
SSK 6 @ CGY 51 W 18,455
P2 86
Sat. Nov. 14
BC 24 @ CGY 10 L 21,236
88
Wed. Nov. 18
CGY 14 @ BC 10 W 28,547
90
Sun. Nov. 22
CGY 14 @ BC 33 L 32,504