The Calgary Stampeders’ 1965 Season

Season Summary

Calgary Stampeders 1965 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1965 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 24 33 W3 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 340 243 W1 5-1-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 186 107 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 154 136 W4 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 228 167 W1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 4 0 0 8 112 76 W4 4-0-0

Full 1965 League Standings

Calgary Stampeders 1965 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 5-1-0 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.446 2-0-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.406
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.357
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1965 Calgary Stampeders Attendance

  • Capacity: 21,000
  • Total: 159,689
  • High: 22,711
  • Avg: 19,961 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1964 Avg: +2,321
  • Low: 16,000
  • Sellouts: 4
  • % of Capacity: 95.05
  • Diff from League Avg: -343

More 1965 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19651964 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.44 1.13 -
Average Winning Score 25.33 1.75 -
Average Losing Score 9.00 2.25 +
Average Home Score 23.25 1.25 -
Average Visitor Score 19.25 0.25 -
Average Margin of Victory 12.17 2.58 -
Average Margin of Loss 12.25 6.25 -

Stadium

  • 1965 home stadium: McMahon Stadium
  • Capacity: 21,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1960 – Opened 1960

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 5844102 294776 401858 5945104 186 (23.3)154 (19.3)340 (21.3)
Opponent 371350 334477 293261 84755 136 (17.0)107 (13.4)243 (15.2)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 11 (9-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 13 (11-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (11-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)

Calgary Stampeders 1965 Player Awards and Nominations

1965 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Lovell Coleman (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Wayne Harris, Jr. (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Larry Robinson (Division Finalist)

Calgary Stampeders 1965 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7) Brian Conacher (HB) Western Ontario
2–7 (16) Mike Keenan (T) Western Ontario
3–7 (25) Irvin Strifler (HB) Alberta
4–7 (34) Nestor Korchinsky (E) Alberta
5–7 (43) Darwin Semotiuk (E) Alberta
6–7 (51) Eric Waller (HB) McGill
7–7 Pass
8–7 Pass

Calgary Stampeders 1965 All-Star Selections

5 All-Canadian Selections
HB Lovell Coleman
G Tony Pajaczkowski
DT Pat Holmes
ILB Wayne Harris
DHB Jerry Keeling
7 All-Division Selections
HB Lovell Coleman
E Herm Harrison
DT Pat Holmes
ILB Wayne Harris
CLB Jim Furlong
DHB Larry Robinson
DHB Jerry Keeling

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 1
Fri. July 9
CGY 3 @ EDM 18 L 10,000
Thu. July 15
10:45 PM
SSK 7 vs CGY 24 W
4
11:30 PM
CGY 7 @ BC 5 W
C 12
Mon. July 26
TOR 10 @ CGY 14 W 14,000
1 17
Mon. Aug. 2
SSK 8 @ CGY 37 W 18,000
2 19
Fri. Aug. 6
CGY 18 @ SSK 20 L 16,000
3 23
Wed. Aug. 11
CGY 8 @ WPG 19 L 20,100
4 28
Wed. Aug. 18
EDM 15 @ CGY 16 W 16,000
5 32
Mon. Aug. 23
CGY 20 @ EDM 4 W 17,739
35
Sat. Aug. 28
HAM 11 @ CGY 18 W 18,800
7 41
Mon. Sept. 6
WPG 7 @ CGY 35 W 22,711
8 45
Sat. Sept. 11
CGY 10 @ BC 24 L 36,704
9 50
Sat. Sept. 18
CGY 15 @ SSK 12 W 15,114
10 55
Sat. Sept. 25
BC 7 @ CGY 21 W 19,000
11 61
Sat. Oct. 2
OTT 18 @ CGY 31 W 21,476
12 65
Fri. Oct. 8
CGY 27 @ TOR 26 W 16,711
68
Mon. Oct. 11
CGY 36 @ MTL 21 W 19,838
13 70
Sat. Oct. 16
EDM 19 @ CGY 28 W 21,476
15 79
Wed. Oct. 27
WPG 22 @ CGY 0 L 22,226
82
Sun. Oct. 31
CGY 20 @ BC 10 W 24,191
P2 86
Sat. Nov. 13
WPG 9 @ CGY 27 W 21,226
88
Wed. Nov. 17
CGY 11 @ WPG 15 L 16,100
89
Sat. Nov. 20
4:00 PM
WPG 19 @ CGY 12 L 21,361 CTV, CBC