Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Fri Jul 9 11:00 PM
CGY 3 @ EDM 18 L 10,000  
Ex
Thu Jul 15 10:45 PM
SSK 7 vs CGY 24 ND    
Ex
Thu Jul 15 11:30 PM
CGY 7 @ BC 5 W    
Ex
Mon Jul 26 11:00 PM
TOR 10 @ CGY 14 W 14,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Mon Aug 2 11:00 PM
SSK 8 @ CGY 37 W 18,000  
2
Fri Aug 6 10:00 PM
CGY 18 @ SSK 20 L 16,000  
3
Wed Aug 11
CGY 8 @ WPG 19 L 20,100  
4
Wed Aug 18 11:00 PM
EDM 15 @ CGY 16 W 16,000  
5
Mon Aug 23
CGY 20 @ EDM 4 W 17,739  
5
Sat Aug 28 11:00 PM
HAM 11 @ CGY 18 W 18,800  
7
Mon Sep 6
WPG 7 @ CGY 35 W 22,711  
8
Sat Sep 11
CGY 10 @ BC 24 L 36,704  
9
Sat Sep 18 10:00 PM
CGY 15 @ SSK 12 W 15,114  
10
Sat Sep 25
BC 7 @ CGY 21 W 19,000  
11
Sat Oct 2 11:00 PM
OTT 18 @ CGY 31 W 21,476 CBC
12
Fri Oct 8 8:00 PM
CGY 27 @ TOR 26 W 16,711 CTVE
12
Mon Oct 11 2:05 PM
CGY 36 @ MTL 21 W 19,838  
13
Sat Oct 16 11:00 PM
EDM 19 @ CGY 28 W 21,476 CTVW
15
Wed Oct 27 11:00 PM
WPG 22 @ CGY L 22,226  
15
Sun Oct 31
CGY 20 @ BC 10 W 24,191  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 13 4:00 PM
WPG 9 @ CGY 27 W 21,226  
P2
Wed Nov 17
CGY 11 @ WPG 15 L 16,100  
P2
Sat Nov 20 4:00 PM
WPG 19 @ CGY 12 L 21,361 CTV, CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1965.
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 340 243 W1 5-1-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 186 107 L1 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 154 136 W4 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 228 167 W1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 4 0 0 8 112 76 W4 4-0-0

Full 1965 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 11 (9-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 13 (11-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (11-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.484 5-1-0 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.446 2-0-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.406
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.357
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214
19651964 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.44 -1.12
Average Winning Score 25.33 -1.75
Average Losing Score 9.00 +2.25
Average Home Score 23.25 -1.25
Average Visitor Score 19.25 -0.25
Average Margin of Victory 12.17 -2.58
Average Margin of Loss 12.25 -6.25
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 5844102 294776 401858 5945104 186 (23.3)154 (19.3)340 (21.3)
Opponent 371350 334477 293261 84755 136 (17.0)107 (13.4)243 (15.2)
Head Coach
1965 Player Awards and Nominations
1965 Most Outstanding
Calgary Stampeders 1965 All-Star Selections
5 All-Canadian Selections
HB Lovell Coleman
G Tony Pajaczkowski
DT Pat Holmes
ILB Wayne Harris
DHB Jerry Keeling
7 All-Division Selections
HB Lovell Coleman
E Herm Harrison
DT Pat Holmes
ILB Wayne Harris
CLB Jim Furlong
DHB Larry Robinson
DHB Jerry Keeling

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1965 Calgary Stampeders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   Brian Conacher (HB) Western Ontario
2–7 (16)   Mike Keenan (T) Western Ontario
3–7 (25)   Irvin Strifler (HB) Alberta
4–7 (34)   Nestor Korchinsky (E) Alberta
5–7 (43)   Darwin Semotiuk (E) Alberta
6–7 (51)   Eric Waller (HB) McGill
7–7   Pass
8–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements