Season Summary

  • Finished 4th (in tiebreaker) in the Western Conference
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sat Jul 9 11:00 PM
EDM 7 @ CGY 13 W 14,245  
Ex
Mon Jul 18 8:00 PM
CGY 8 @ MTL 15 L 19,052  
Ex
Wed Jul 20
CGY 17 @ TOR 13 W 23,335  
Ex
Wed Jul 27 11:00 PM
HAM 29 @ CGY 24 L 16,103  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Wed Aug 3
BC 21 @ CGY 3 L 19,536 CTV
2
Wed Aug 10 8:00 PM
CGY 6 @ OTT 13 L 20,375 CTV
2
Sat Aug 13
CGY 3 @ HAM 21 L 24,765 CBC
3
Wed Aug 17
SSK 1 @ CGY 26 W 22,119 CTV
4
Tue Aug 23
CGY 9 @ WPG 19 L 20,812  
4
Sat Aug 27
CGY 5 @ EDM 26 L 19,800 CBC
6
Mon Sep 5 5:30 PM
TOR 8 @ CGY 13 W 20,000  
7
Sat Sep 10
CGY 3 @ BC 14 L 27,147 CBC
8
Sat Sep 17 11:00 PM
WPG 8 @ CGY 11 W 18,080  
9
Sat Sep 24 11:00 PM
EDM 18 @ CGY 18 T 19,886  
10
Tue Sep 27
CGY 16 @ WPG 9 W 15,107  
10
Sat Oct 1 11:00 PM
MTL 26 @ CGY 15 L 17,906 CBC
11
Sat Oct 8 10:00 PM
CGY 35 @ SSK 18 W 16,392  
13
Mon Oct 17
BC 13 @ CGY 9 L 18,000  
14
Tue Oct 25 11:00 PM
SSK 28 @ CGY 26 L 18,435  
14
Sat Oct 29 11:00 PM
CGY 29 @ EDM 16 W 21,000 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 6 9 1 13 227 259 W1 3-3-0
    Home 8 3 4 1 7 121 123 L3 2-3-1
    Visitor 8 3 5 0 6 106 136 W3 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 5 6 1 11 190 191 W1 3-2-1
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 37 68 L1 1-3-0

Full 1966 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (2-1-1) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (1-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 8 (3-4-1) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 3 (2-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 6 (4-1-1) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (2-8-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-3-1) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (1-8-1)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (0-4-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 9 (0-9-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.461 2-3-1 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.571 1-1-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.406
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.594
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.531
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.643
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.500
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.357
19661965 +/-
Average Combined Score 30.38 -6.06
Average Winning Score 21.67 -3.67
Average Losing Score 8.78 -0.22
Average Home Score 15.13 -8.12
Average Visitor Score 13.25 -6.00
Average Margin of Victory 11.67 -0.50
Average Margin of Loss 11.33 -0.92
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 242448 163349 531366 283664 121 (15.1)106 (13.3)227 (14.2)
Opponent 332558 463278 204969 243054 136 (17.0)123 (15.4)259 (16.2)
Head Coach
Calgary Stampeders 1966 Player Awards and Nominations
1966 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Don Luzzi, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Wayne Harris, Jr. (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Terry Evanshen (Division Finalist)
Calgary Stampeders 1966 All-Star Selections
2 All-Canadian Selections
DT Don Luzzi, Jr.
ILB Wayne Harris
4 All-Division Selections
E Terry Evanshen
DT Don Luzzi, Jr.
ILB Wayne Harris
DHB Jerry Keeling

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1966 Calgary Stampeders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3) [BC] Fred James (T) Alberta
1–6 (6)   Mike Williams (HB) Loyola
3–6 (24)   Bob Howes (C) Queen's
4–6 (33)   Mike Gray (HB) Toronto
5–6 (41)   Peter Spurr (T) Carleton
6–6   Pass
7–6   Pass
8–6   Pass
9–6   Pass
10–6   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements