Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sun Jul 7
EDM 3 @ CGY 28 W 12,700  
Ex
Thu Jul 11
CGY 15 @ OTT 15 T 13,067  
Ex
Mon Jul 15 8:00 PM
CGY 30 @ MTL 11 W 13,000  
Ex
Mon Jul 22 10:00 PM
TOR 21 @ CGY 24 W 14,221  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Tue Jul 30 11:00 PM
SSK 25 @ CGY 24 L 21,652  
2
Tue Aug 6
CGY 41 @ BC 7 W 32,765  
2
Sun Aug 11 5:00 PM
WPG 8 @ CGY 43 W 17,027  
3
Sun Aug 18
CGY 31 @ WPG W 11,248  
4
Wed Aug 21 11:00 PM
TOR 19 @ CGY 7 L 23,186  
5
Wed Aug 28 11:00 PM
CGY 12 @ EDM 7 W 21,691  
5
Mon Sep 2
BC 6 @ CGY 26 W 19,736  
6
Sun Sep 8 5:00 PM
EDM 10 @ CGY 8 L 17,761  
8
Wed Sep 18
CGY 35 @ HAM 14 W 25,023  
8
Sat Sep 21 2:00 PM
CGY 27 @ OTT 24 W 24,283  
9
Sun Sep 29
SSK 35 @ CGY 38 W 23,380  
11
Wed Oct 9
MTL 10 @ CGY 26 W 18,450  
11
Mon Oct 14 4:00 PM
CGY 15 @ SSK 19 L 22,157  
12
Sun Oct 20
CGY 13 @ EDM 14 L 19,231  
13
Sat Oct 26
BC 23 @ CGY 42 W    
14
Sun Nov 3 3:30 PM
CGY 24 @ WPG 28 L 12,000 CTVW
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sun Nov 10 4:00 PM
EDM 13 @ CGY 29 W 23,380  
P2
Sat Nov 16 3:00 PM
CGY 32 @ SSK W 18,833  
P2
Wed Nov 20 10:00 PM
SSK 12 @ CGY 25 W 23,380 CTV
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 30 1:00 PM
CGY 21 vs OTT 24 L 32,655 CTV, CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1968.
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 412 249 L1 3-3-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 214 136 W3 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 198 113 L3 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 7 5 0 14 317 182 L1 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 95 67 W3 3-1-0

Full 1968 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 8 (5-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (4-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 7 (4-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 11 (7-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (8-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.445 4-2-0 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.527 1-1-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.281
Edmonton Elks (3) 0.531
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.781
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.188
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.464
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.714
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.643
19681967 +/-
Average Combined Score 41.31 +3.75
Average Winning Score 32.10 +5.85
Average Losing Score 15.17 -1.58
Average Home Score 26.75 -1.62
Average Visitor Score 24.75 +5.38
Average Margin of Victory 18.70 +2.62
Average Margin of Loss 4.00 -3.50
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 464490 6180141 6743110 403171 214 (26.8)198 (24.8)412 (25.8)
Opponent 261844 523385 292049 294271 113 (14.1)136 (17.0)249 (15.6)
Head Coach
1968 Player Awards and Nominations
1968 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Herm Harrison (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Wayne Harris, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Dave Cranmer (Team Nominee)
Calgary Stampeders 1968 All-Star Selections
3 All-Canadian Selections
E Herm Harrison
LB Wayne Harris
DB Frank Andruski
7 All-Division Selections
E Terry Evanshen
E Herm Harrison
G Bob Lueck
DE Dick Suderman
LB Wayne Harris
DB Jerry Keeling
DB Frank Andruski

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1968 Calgary Stampeders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–6 (15)   Bob Johnston (DE) McMaster
3–6 (24)   Mike Ratham (HB) Toronto
4–6 (33)   Jamie Johnson (FL) Queen's
5–6 (41)   John Milne Manitoba
6–6 (49)   Brian Irvine Waterloo
7–6 (56)   Dave Ironside Dalhousie
8–6 (63)   Lyndon “Skip” Best Saskatchewan
9–6 (69)   Earl Johnson Bishop's
10–6 (73)   Vern Lucyk McMaster
11–6   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements