The Calgary Stampeders 1968 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1968 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 0 1 7 97 50 W2 3-0-1
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 412 249 L1 3-3-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 214 136 W3 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 198 113 L3 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 7 5 0 14 317 182 L1 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 95 67 W3 3-1-0

Full 1968 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 8 (5-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (4-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 7 (4-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 11 (7-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 10 (8-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Sun. July 7
EDM 3 @ CGY 28 W 12,700  
B
Thu. July 11
CGY 15 @ OTT 15 T 13,067  
B
Mon. July 15 8:00 PM
CGY 30 @ MTL 11 W 13,000  
D
Mon. July 22 10:00 PM
TOR 21 @ CGY 24 W 14,221  
1
Tue. July 30
SSK 25 @ CGY 24 L 21,652  
2
Tue. Aug. 6
CGY 41 @ BC 7 W 32,765  
2
Sun. Aug. 11
WPG 8 @ CGY 43 W 17,027  
3
Sun. Aug. 18
CGY 31 @ WPG 0 W 11,248  
4
Wed. Aug. 21
TOR 19 @ CGY 7 L 23,186  
5
Wed. Aug. 28
CGY 12 @ EDM 7 W 21,691  
5
Mon. Sept. 2
BC 6 @ CGY 26 W 19,736  
6
Sun. Sept. 8
EDM 10 @ CGY 8 L 17,761  
8
Wed. Sept. 18
CGY 35 @ HAM 14 W 25,023  
8
Sat. Sept. 21
CGY 27 @ OTT 24 W 24,283  
9
Sun. Sept. 29
SSK 35 @ CGY 38 W 23,380  
11
Wed. Oct. 9
MTL 10 @ CGY 26 W 18,450  
11
Mon. Oct. 14
CGY 15 @ SSK 19 L 22,157  
12
Sun. Oct. 20
CGY 13 @ EDM 14 L 19,231  
13
Sat. Oct. 26
BC 23 @ CGY 42 W    
14
Sun. Nov. 3 3:30 PM
CGY 24 @ WPG 28 L 12,000 CTVW
P1
Sun. Nov. 10
EDM 13 @ CGY 29 W 23,380  
P2
Sat. Nov. 16
CGY 32 @ SSK 0 W 18,833  
P2
Wed. Nov. 20 10:00 PM
SSK 12 @ CGY 25 W 23,380 CTV
GC
Sat. Nov. 30 1:00 PM
CGY 21 vs OTT 24 L 32,655 CTV, CBC

Calgary Stampeders 1968 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.445 4-2-0 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.527 1-1-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.281
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.531
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.781
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.188
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.464
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.714
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.643

Team Scoring

19681967 +/-
Average Combined Score 41.31 +3.75
Average Winning Score 32.10 +5.85
Average Losing Score 15.17 -1.58
Average Home Score 26.75 -1.62
Average Visitor Score 24.75 +5.38
Average Margin of Victory 18.70 +2.62
Average Margin of Loss 4.00 -3.50

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 464490 6180141 6743110 403171 214 (26.8)198 (24.8)412 (25.8)
Opponent 261844 523385 292049 294271 113 (14.1)136 (17.0)249 (15.6)

Coaches

Head Coach

Calgary Stampeders 1968 Player Awards and Nominations

1968 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Herm Harrison (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Wayne Harris, Jr. (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Dave Cranmer (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1968 All-Star Selections

3 All-Canadian Selections
E Herm Harrison
LB Wayne Harris
DB Frank Andruski
7 All-Division Selections
E Terry Evanshen
E Herm Harrison
G Bob Lueck
DE Dick Suderman
LB Wayne Harris
DB Jerry Keeling
DB Frank Andruski

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Calgary Stampeders 1968 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–6 (15)   Bob Johnston (DE) McMaster
3–6 (24)   Mike Ratham (HB) Toronto
4–6 (33)   Jamie Johnson (FL) Queen's
5–6 (41)   John Milne Manitoba
6–6 (49)   Brian Irvine Waterloo
7–6 (56)   Dave Ironside Dalhousie
8–6 (63)   Lyndon “Skip” Best Saskatchewan
9–6 (69)   Earl Johnson Bishop's
10–6 (73)   Vern Lucyk McMaster
11–6   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Holloway