The Calgary Stampeders’ 1969 Season

Season Summary

Calgary Stampeders 1969 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1969 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 1 1 5 79 67 L1 2-1-1
Regular Season 16 9 7 0 18 327 314 W1 3-3-0
    Home 8 4 4 0 8 150 162 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 177 152 L2 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 222 192 W1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 105 122 L1 1-3-0

Full 1969 League Standings

Calgary Stampeders 1969 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.414 4-2-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.580 0-2-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.313
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.813
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.219
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.607
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.214
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.714

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1969 Calgary Stampeders Attendance

  • Capacity: 25,000
  • Total: 162,546
  • High: 23,616
  • Avg: 20,318 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1968 Avg: +147
  • Low: 14,717
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 81.27
  • Diff from League Avg: -840

More 1969 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19691968 +/-
Average Combined Score 40.06 1.25 -
Average Winning Score 24.22 7.88 -
Average Losing Score 15.57 0.40 +
Average Home Score 18.75 8.00 -
Average Visitor Score 22.13 2.63 -
Average Margin of Victory 9.67 9.03 -
Average Margin of Loss 10.57 6.57 +

Stadium

  • 1969 home stadium: McMahon Stadium
  • Capacity: 25,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1969 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 301848 5465119 173855 4956105 150 (18.8)177 (22.1)327 (20.4)
Opponent 513384 5859117 355085 181028 152 (19.0)162 (20.3)314 (19.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (4-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 11 (5-6-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (5-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (3-6-0)
After 3rd 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 9 (9-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0)

Calgary Stampeders 1969 Player Awards and Nominations

1969 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jerry Keeling (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — Granville Liggins (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Larry Robinson (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1969 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–8 (8) Brent Gilbert (T) Waterloo
2–8 (16) Denis Walker (E) Western Ontario
3–8 (25) Doug Walker (T) Queen's
4–8 (34) Jim Silye (HB) Ottawa
5–8 (41) Ross Collett (DE) Calgary
6–8 (48) John Sweetland (E) Calgary
7–8 (55) Tom Coyle (G) Manitoba
8–8 (60) Lyle Culham (E) Alberta

Calgary Stampeders 1969 All-Star Selections

1 All-Canadian Selections
TE Herm Harrison
6 All-Division Selections
TE Herm Harrison
SE Terry Evanshen
T Lanny Boleski
DE John Helton (Tie)
ILB Wayne Harris
DB Frank Andruski

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 2
Sun. July 6
BC 10 @ CGY 23 W 9,950
B 7
Fri. July 11
CGY 24 @ TOR 10 W 27,453
9
Mon. July 14
CGY 22 @ WPG 22 T 15,500
D 14
Mon. July 21
TOR 25 @ CGY 10 L 17,909
1 20
Wed. July 30
CGY 32 @ BC 7 W 28,294
2 26
Wed. Aug. 6
OTT 35 @ CGY 19 L 23,532
3 31
Fri. Aug. 15
CGY 8 @ SSK 24 L 18,416
4 34
Wed. Aug. 20
CGY 17 @ WPG 10 W 19,950
5 37
Mon. Aug. 25
HAM 27 @ CGY 26 L 22,456
6 40
Mon. Sept. 1
EDM 14 @ CGY 16 W 23,616
7 45
Sat. Sept. 6
CGY 20 @ EDM 10 W 20,089
8 50
Sat. Sept. 13
BC 20 @ CGY 28 W 18,816
9 55
Sat. Sept. 20
SSK 31 @ CGY 12 L 23,616
10 59
Sat. Sept. 27
CGY 22 @ BC 17 W 21,729
11 66
Sun. Oct. 5
CGY 35 @ MTL 29 W 10,152
12 68
Wed. Oct. 8
CGY 25 @ TOR 31 L 33,135
70
Sun. Oct. 12
WPG 15 @ CGY 16 W 18,761
13 76
Sun. Oct. 19
CGY 18 @ SSK 24 L 20,120
14 78
Sat. Oct. 25
EDM 11 @ CGY 1 L 17,032
15 83
Sat. Nov. 1
WPG 9 @ CGY 32 W 14,717
P1 87
Sat. Nov. 8
BC 21 @ CGY 35 W 22,131
P2 89
Sat. Nov. 15
CGY 11 @ SSK 17 L 15,955
91
Wed. Nov. 19
SSK 36 @ CGY 13 L 23,625