The Calgary Stampeders 1972 Season

Calgary Stampeders 1972 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 1 3 0 2 58 60 W1 1-3-0
Regular Season 16 6 10 0 12 331 394 L1 2-4-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 199 129 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 132 265 L1 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 12 5 7 0 10 216 251 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 1 3 0 2 115 143 L3 1-3-0

Full 1972 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 6 (5-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 9 (0-9-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (0-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 4 (4-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 9 (0-9-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 5 (5-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 10 (0-10-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (0-10-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Wed Jun 28 8:30 PM
CFLAS 22 @ CGY 23 W 23,616 CTV
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 5
EDM 18 @ CGY 14 L 19,143  
B
Thu Jul 13
CGY 9 @ BC 14 L 23,969  
D
Fri Jul 21
CGY 7 @ SSK 15 L 10,958  
D
Mon Jul 24
HAM 13 @ CGY 28 W 18,103  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Wed Aug 2
WPG 7 @ CGY 31 W 22,386  
2
Tue Aug 8
CGY 14 @ WPG 41 L 25,210  
3
Mon Aug 14
BC 14 @ CGY 19 W 22,611  
4
Tue Aug 22
SSK 12 @ CGY 10 L 23,616  
4
Sun Aug 27
CGY 3 @ SSK 35 L 18,858  
6
Mon Sep 4
EDM 31 @ CGY 19 L 23,616  
7
Sun Sep 10
CGY 20 @ EDM 27 L 22,921  
8
Sat Sep 16
CGY 8 @ WPG 22 L 25,210  
9
Sun Sep 24
MTL 15 @ CGY 34 W 18,903  
10
Sun Oct 1
SSK 14 @ CGY 31 W 23,616  
12
Sat Oct 7
CGY 24 @ HAM 50 L 27,647  
12
Mon Oct 9
CGY 30 @ OTT 45 L 19,606  
13
Sun Oct 15
TOR 33 @ CGY 27 L 18,201  
14
Sat Oct 21
CGY 19 @ BC 17 W 21,284  
15
Sat Oct 28
BC 3 @ CGY 28 W 17,190  
16
Sun Nov 5
CGY 14 @ EDM 28 L 16,107  

Calgary Stampeders 1972 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.516 4-2-0 (6) 1-5-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 1-1-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.313
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.625
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.786
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.786
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214

Team Scoring

19721971 +/-
Average Combined Score 45.31 +13.56
Average Winning Score 27.00 +3.22
Average Losing Score 16.90 +5.40
Average Home Score 24.88 +4.12
Average Visitor Score 16.50 +1.00
Average Margin of Victory 15.33 -3.22
Average Margin of Loss 15.50 -0.33

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 671380 371350 285886 6748115 199 (24.9)132 (16.5)331 (20.7)
Opponent 1793110 5151102 235881 3863101 265 (33.1)129 (16.1)394 (24.6)

Coaches

Head Coach

Calgary Stampeders 1972 Player Awards and Nominations

1972 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Gerry Shaw (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — John Helton (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Gerry Shaw (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Gary Kerr (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1972 All-Star Selections

No Calgary Stampeders Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1972.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Calgary Stampeders 1972 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9)   Don Moulton (DB) Calgary
2–4 (13) [OTT] John Konihowski (WR) Saskatchewan
2–5 (14) [WPG] Bill Hogan (WR) Waterloo Lutheran
2–9 (18)   Bob Bayter (DB) McMaster
3–9 (27)   Geoff Owens (T) Windsor
4–9 (36)   Don Westlake (HB) Guelph
5–9 (44)   Paul Knill (DB) Western Ontario
6–9 (53)   Bill Lockington (QB) McMaster
7–9 (61)   Frank Belvedere (HB) Loyola
8–9 (66)   Scott Henderson (C) Calgary
9–9 (70)   Rick Coleman (DT) Calgary

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements