Season Summary

  • Finished 4th in the Western Conference
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Wed Jul 4 10:00 PM
BC 16 @ CGY 15 L    
B
Thu Jul 12 8:00 PM
CGY 10 @ MTL 21 L 12,731  
C
Wed Jul 18
CGY 15 @ EDM 17 L 19,176  
D
Tue Jul 24 10:00 PM
TOR 21 @ CGY 16 L 20,101  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Thu Aug 2 10:00 PM
SSK 15 @ CGY 23 W 25,328  
2
Thu Aug 9
CGY 7 @ WPG 30 L 23,338  
3
Wed Aug 15 10:00 PM
WPG 9 @ CGY 18 W 23,287  
4
Wed Aug 22 10:00 PM
EDM 24 @ CGY 4 L 27,188  
5
Tue Aug 28 11:00 PM
CGY 2 @ BC 9 L 29,132  
6
Mon Sep 3 4:30 PM
WPG 24 @ CGY 25 W 21,445  
7
Sun Sep 9 4:00 PM
CGY 25 @ SSK 8 W 21,490  
8
Sat Sep 15
CGY 22 @ EDM 33 L 22,919  
9
Sun Sep 23 4:30 PM
BC 12 @ CGY 13 W 26,238 CTVW
10
Sun Sep 30 4:30 PM
HAM 31 @ CGY 29 L 21,258  
11
Sat Oct 6 2:00 PM
CGY 10 @ TOR 37 L 33,135  
11
Mon Oct 8 2:00 PM
CGY 0 @ MTL 45 L 22,137  
12
Sun Oct 14 4:30 PM
OTT 32 @ CGY 8 L 18,450  
13
Sun Oct 21 4:00 PM
CGY 7 @ SSK 34 L 20,379  
14
Sat Oct 27 10:00 PM
EDM 10 @ CGY 14 W 21,055  
15
Sat Nov 3
CGY 7 @ BC 15 L 28,479  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 0 4 0 0 56 75 L4 0-4-0
Regular Season 16 6 10 0 12 214 368 L1 1-5-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 134 157 W1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 1 7 0 2 80 211 L5 1-5-0
   Divisional opponent 12 6 6 0 12 167 223 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 0 4 0 0 47 145 L4 0-4-0

Full 1973 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (0-6-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (2-9-0)
After 2nd 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 6 (3-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 13 (3-10-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (1-10-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (0-7-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (0-10-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.477 5-1-0 (6) 1-5-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.563 0-2-0 (2) 0-2-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.375
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.281
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.500
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.536
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.643
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.571
19731972 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.38 -8.94
Average Winning Score 19.67 -7.33
Average Losing Score 9.60 -7.30
Average Home Score 16.75 -8.12
Average Visitor Score 10.00 -6.50
Average Margin of Victory 6.67 -8.67
Average Margin of Loss 19.40 +3.90
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 181028 301848 291342 573996 134 (16.8)80 (10.0)214 (13.4)
Opponent 293059 6577142 274875 365692 211 (26.4)157 (19.6)368 (23.0)
Head Coaches
Calgary Stampeders 1973 Player Awards and Nominations
1973 Most Outstanding
Calgary Stampeders 1973 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
DT John Helton
5 All-Division Selections
WR Tom Forzani
C Basil Bark (Tie)
DT John Helton
OLB Roger Goree
DB Frank Andruski

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1973 Calgary Stampeders Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–3 (3)   Mike Logan (QB) Eastern Michigan
2–3 (12)   Paul Perras (G) McMaster
3–3 (21)   Doug Thompson (RB) Otterbein
4–3 (30)   Wanye Dunkley (QB) Toronto
5–3 (39)   Roan Kane (WR) Waterloo Lutheran
6–3 (47)   Allan Young (G) Montana State
7–3 (55)   Lorne Watters (LB) Calgary
8–3 (63)   Brock Fownes (G) Carleton
9–3 (70)   Dennis Kelly (QB) Simon Fraser

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements