The Calgary Stampeders 1979 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Calgary Stampeders 1979 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 108 43 W2 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 382 278 W3 5-1-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 196 137 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 186 141 W4 5-1-0
   Divisional opponent 12 9 3 0 18 292 216 W6 6-0-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 3 1 0 6 90 62 W1 3-1-0

Full 1979 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (4-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (9-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (3-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 9 (6-3-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (4-4-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Sun Jun 10
CGY 35 @ WPG 13 W 21,584  
A
Fri Jun 15 9:00 PM
SSK 21 @ CGY 18 L 25,455  
C
Tue Jun 26
CGY 23 @ HAM 8 W 17,205  
D
Tue Jul 3 9:30 PM
BC 1 @ CGY 32 W 26,554  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
2
Wed Jul 18 9:30 PM
WPG 7 @ CGY 35 W 33,196 CTV
3
Wed Jul 25 8:00 PM
CGY 19 @ MTL 7 W 51,237 CTVE
4
Tue Jul 31 10:30 PM
CGY 9 @ EDM 44 L 42,887  
5
Wed Aug 8 9:30 PM
OTT 17 @ CGY 27 W 32,780 CTV
6
Wed Aug 15 9:30 PM
BC 10 @ CGY 22 W 34,825  
7
Wed Aug 22 10:00 PM
CGY 6 @ SSK 5 W 20,790  
8
Tue Aug 28 11:00 PM
CGY 17 @ BC 18 L 30,018  
9
Mon Sep 3 4:30 PM
EDM 27 @ CGY 1 L 34,825 CTV
11
Sun Sep 16 4:30 PM
CGY 52 @ SSK 10 W 20,021  
12
Sun Sep 23 4:30 PM
WPG 23 @ CGY 28 W 30,125 CBCR
13
Sun Sep 30 4:30 PM
EDM 19 @ CGY 26 W 33,245  
14
Mon Oct 8 3:30 PM
CGY 18 @ WPG 13 W 22,429 CTV
15
Sun Oct 14
HAM 26 @ CGY 16 L 30,925  
16
Sat Oct 20 11:00 PM
CGY 37 @ BC 32 W 25,301 CTVW
17
Sun Oct 28 2:00 PM
CGY 28 @ TOR 12 W 36,226 CBC
18
Sun Nov 4 4:30 PM
SSK 8 @ CGY 41 W 30,654 CBC
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 10 4:00 PM
BC 2 @ CGY 37 W 31,424 CTV
P2
Sun Nov 18 4:00 PM
CGY 7 @ EDM 19 L 43,033 CBC

Calgary Stampeders 1979 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.445 5-1-0 (6) 4-2-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.492 1-1-0 (2) 2-0-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.594
Edmonton Eskimos (3) 0.813
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.125
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.250
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.375
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.719
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.563
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.313

Team Scoring

19791978 +/-
Average Combined Score 41.25 -2.00
Average Winning Score 28.25 +0.69
Average Losing Score 10.75 -5.75
Average Home Score 24.50 -0.25
Average Visitor Score 23.25 +0.38
Average Margin of Victory 14.67 +2.22
Average Margin of Loss 18.00 +7.50

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Calgary 334073 6935104 445599 5056106 196 (24.5)186 (23.3)382 (23.9)
Opponent 24832 6368131 163248 343367 141 (17.6)137 (17.1)278 (17.4)

Coaches

Head Coaches

Calgary Stampeders 1979 Player Awards and Nominations

1979 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Ed McAleney (Team Nominee)
  • Defensive Player — Ed McAleney (Team Nominee)
  • Offensive Lineman — Lloyd Fairbanks (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Tom Forzani (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Mike McTague (Team Nominee)

Calgary Stampeders 1979 All-Star Selections

No Calgary Stampeders Canadian or Division All-Star selections in 1979.

See an error? Please send corrections.

Calgary Stampeders 1979 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   Darrell Moir (WR) Calgary
1–8 (8) [MTL] Darrell Burko (LB) Saskatchewan
2–7 (16)   Ed Thomas (DB) Boise State
3–7 (25)   Jeff Inglis (OL) Guelph
4–7 (34)   Clay Richards (DB) Gavilan JC
5–7 (43)   Dan Hagen (SB) Waterloo
6–7 (52)   Ossie Wilson (SB) McMaster
7–7 (61)   George Fieber (C) Manitoba

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2019. All rights reserved

Server: Clements