Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Fri Jul 14 11:30 PM
CGY 16 @ EDM 24 W 9,000  
Ex
Fri Jul 21 11:30 PM
HAM 9 @ EDM 17 W 10,000  
Ex
Sat Jul 29 11:30 PM
OTT 3 @ EDM 17 W 11,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Mon Aug 7
EDM 29 @ BC 19 W 28,617  
2
Mon Aug 14
SSK 8 @ EDM 38 W 16,500  
3
Sat Aug 19
MTL @ EDM 33 W 17,000  
4
Thu Aug 24
EDM 35 @ WPG 20 W 19,660  
5
Mon Aug 28
BC 20 @ EDM 21 W 13,000  
6
Mon Sep 4 5:00 PM
EDM 10 @ CGY 9 W 15,000  
7
Sat Sep 9 2:00 PM
EDM 35 @ OTT 26 W 22,152  
8
Mon Sep 11
EDM 15 @ HAM 32 L 27,646  
8
Sat Sep 16
TOR 8 @ EDM 8 T 21,510  
9
Sat Sep 23
WPG 33 @ EDM 10 L 19,198  
10
Mon Sep 25 10:30 PM
EDM 16 @ SSK 1 W 10,182  
10
Sat Sep 30
EDM 9 @ BC 21 L 20,210  
11
Sat Oct 7
CGY 28 @ EDM 21 L 15,106  
13
Sat Oct 14
SSK 10 @ EDM 21 W 12,338  
15
Mon Oct 30 10:30 PM
EDM 20 @ CGY 8 W 10,000  
16
Sat Nov 4
WPG 14 @ EDM 13 L 10,177  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Nov 11 4:00 PM
EDM 8 @ CGY 10 L 18,000  
P1
Mon Nov 13
CGY 17 @ EDM 18 W 14,112  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1961.
Regular Season 16 10 5 1 21 334 257 L1 3-3-0
    Home 8 4 3 1 9 165 121 L1 2-3-1
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 169 136 W1 4-2-0
   Divisional opponent 12 8 4 0 16 243 191 L1 3-3-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 1 1 5 91 66 T1 2-1-1

Full 1961 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (0-2-1) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 5 (1-3-1)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-3-1) 5 (4-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (7-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 6 (1-4-1)
After 3rd 4 (2-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-1-1) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 8 (5-3-0) 1 (1-0-0) 7 (4-2-1)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (10-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 5 (0-5-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.430 3-3-0 (6) 5-1-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.536 1-0-1 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.125
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.438
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.344
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.813
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.321
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.571
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.536
19611960 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.94 +3.00
Average Winning Score 25.80 +2.60
Average Losing Score 13.60 -0.73
Average Home Score 20.63 +0.38
Average Visitor Score 21.13 +1.62
Average Margin of Victory 13.70 -1.10
Average Margin of Loss 12.00 +2.83
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 203656 433679 453782 5760117 165 (20.6)169 (21.1)334 (20.9)
Opponent 301747 304171 315586 302353 136 (17.0)121 (15.1)257 (16.1)
Head Coach
Assistant Coaches
  • Dan Edwards – Line
  • Bob Kellogg – Backfield
1961 Player Awards and Nominations
1961 Most Outstanding
Edmonton Eskimos 1961 All-Star Selections
4 All-Division Selections
QB Jackie Parker
HB Johnny Bright
G Mike Kmech
DHB Oscar Kruger

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1961 Edmonton Eskimos Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
No draft picks for 1961 in database.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway