Season Summary

  • Finished 4th in the Western Conference
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Sat Jul 25 8:00 PM
EDM 20 @ OTT 32 L 10,032  
Ex
Mon Jul 27
EDM 16 @ HAM 29 L 8,500  
Ex
Fri Jul 31
TOR 13 @ EDM 22 W 12,049  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Aug 7
CGY 52 @ EDM 15 L 19,689  
2
Wed Aug 12 9:00 PM
EDM 7 @ WPG 37 L 13,789 CTVW
3
Mon Aug 17 11:00 PM
EDM 6 @ CGY 39 L 14,000  
4
Fri Aug 28 11:30 PM
SSK 56 @ EDM 8 L 12,807 CTVW
5
Fri Sep 4
OTT 1 @ EDM 20 W 12,157  
7
Fri Sep 11 8:05 PM
EDM 19 @ MTL 10 W 22,506  
7
Sun Sep 13 2:00 PM
EDM 22 @ TOR 35 L 21,797 CTV
8
Sat Sep 19
BC 49 @ EDM 6 L 21,000  
9
Sat Sep 26
EDM 11 @ SSK 20 L 13,600  
10
Mon Sep 28
HAM 43 @ EDM 14 L 13,000  
11
Tue Oct 6 11:30 PM
WPG 22 @ EDM 25 W 12,403 CTVW
11
Sat Oct 10
EDM 6 @ BC 26 L 29,277  
13
Sat Oct 17 11:30 PM
BC 24 @ EDM 14 L 12,000  
14
Mon Oct 19 10:00 PM
EDM 13 @ WPG 1 W 14,882 CTVW
14
Sat Oct 24 11:30 PM
CGY 17 @ EDM 16 L 10,000  
15
Sat Oct 31
EDM 20 @ SSK 26 L 10,300  
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1964.
Regular Season 16 4 12 0 8 222 458 L2 2-4-0
    Home 8 2 6 0 4 118 264 L2 2-4-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 104 194 L1 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 2 10 0 4 147 369 L2 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 75 89 L2 2-2-0

Full 1964 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (0-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (1-5-0) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 11 (2-9-0)
After 2nd 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 1 (1-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 13 (1-12-0)
After 3rd 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (0-12-0)
After 4th 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 12 (0-12-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.547 1-5-0 (6) 1-5-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.518 1-1-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.781
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.750
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.563
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.094
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.750
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.429
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.607
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.286
19641963 +/-
Average Combined Score 42.50 +2.19
Average Winning Score 19.25 +5.75
Average Losing Score 12.08 -1.70
Average Home Score 14.75 +0.00
Average Visitor Score 13.00 +0.25
Average Margin of Victory 10.75 +5.75
Average Margin of Loss 23.25 +7.89
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 23427 363268 224567 372360 118 (14.8)104 (13.0)222 (13.9)
Opponent 6436100 9659155 424991 6250112 194 (24.3)264 (33.0)458 (28.6)
Head Coaches
Assistant Coaches
  • Len Younce – Offensive line
  • Harry Buffington – Defensive
1964 Player Awards and Nominations
1964 Most Outstanding
Edmonton Eskimos 1964 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
E Tommy Joe Coffey
1 All-Division Selections
E Tommy Joe Coffey*

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1964 Edmonton Eskimos Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–1 (1)   Barry Mitchelson (E) Western Ontario
2–1 (10)   Tom Thomson (FL) British Columbia (UBC)
3–1 (19)   Jim Fisher (T) Toronto
4–1 (28)   Ray Budds (T) Carleton
5–1 (37)   Maury Van Vilet (E) Alberta
6–1 (43)   Rene Cicotte (HB) Ottawa
7–1 (48)   John Puchniak (HB) Manitoba
8–1 (52)   Bill Gowa (E) Alberta
9–1   Pass
10–1   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Clements