Season Summary

  • Finished 5th in the Western Conference
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Fri Jul 9 11:00 PM
CGY 3 @ EDM 18 W 10,000  
Ex
Thu Jul 15
EDM 17 @ TOR 7 W 21,500  
Ex
Fri Jul 23 11:00 PM
OTT 18 @ EDM 23 W 13,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Fri Jul 30 11:00 PM
WPG 21 @ EDM 14 L 16,123  
2
Sat Aug 7
EDM 13 @ BC 38 L 32,055  
3
Fri Aug 13 11:00 PM
SSK 34 @ EDM 15 L 14,297  
4
Wed Aug 18 11:00 PM
EDM 15 @ CGY 16 L 16,000  
5
Mon Aug 23
CGY 20 @ EDM 4 L 17,739  
6
Tue Aug 31
TOR 21 @ EDM 23 W 16,745  
7
Mon Sep 6 4:00 PM
EDM 24 @ SSK 22 W 17,501  
8
Sat Sep 11
WPG 25 @ EDM 30 W 21,955  
10
Mon Sep 20
MTL 24 @ EDM 13 L 16,000  
10
Sat Sep 25 1:00 PM
EDM 1 @ OTT 40 L 15,360 CTV
11
Tue Sep 28
EDM 9 @ HAM 3 W 18,575  
11
Sat Oct 2
EDM 27 @ BC 41 L 31,402  
12
Sat Oct 9 11:00 PM
BC 12 @ EDM 14 W 18,411 CTVW
13
Sat Oct 16 11:00 PM
EDM 19 @ CGY 28 L 21,476 CTVW
14
Sat Oct 23 2:30 PM
EDM 24 @ WPG 40 L 16,104 CTVW
15
Sat Oct 30 11:00 PM
SSK 15 @ EDM 12 L 14,000 CTVW
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season There was no Pre-Season schedule in 1965.
Regular Season 16 5 11 0 10 257 400 L3 2-4-0
    Home 8 3 5 0 6 125 172 L1 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 2 6 0 4 132 228 L3 2-4-0
   Divisional opponent 12 3 9 0 6 211 312 L3 2-4-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 46 88 W1 2-2-0

Full 1965 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (1-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (3-4-0) 0 (0-0-0) 9 (2-7-0)
After 2nd 4 (2-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (4-3-0) 1 (0-1-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 3rd 2 (1-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 5 (3-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (2-9-0)
After 4th 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 11 (0-11-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.594 2-4-0 (6) 1-5-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.446 1-1-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.406
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.750
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.688
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.714
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.357
Ottawa RedBlacks (1) 0.500
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.214
19651964 +/-
Average Combined Score 41.06 -1.44
Average Winning Score 20.00 +0.75
Average Losing Score 14.27 +2.19
Average Home Score 15.63 +0.88
Average Visitor Score 16.50 +3.50
Average Margin of Victory 3.40 -7.35
Average Margin of Loss 14.55 -8.70
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 354378 464793 172340 271946 125 (15.6)132 (16.5)257 (16.1)
Opponent 6845113 265581 264874 5280132 228 (28.5)172 (21.5)400 (25.0)
Head Coach
Assistant Coaches
  • Len Younce – Offensive line
  • Harry Buffington – Defensive
1965 Player Awards and Nominations
1965 Most Outstanding
Edmonton Eskimos 1965 All-Star Selections
1 All-Canadian Selections
E Tommy Joe Coffey
3 All-Division Selections
HB Jim “Long Gone” Thomas (Tie)
E Tommy Joe Coffey*
DE E.A. “Zeke” Sims, Jr.

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1965 Edmonton Eskimos Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
2–3 (12)   Gerry Sternberg (HB) Toronto
3–3 (21)   Paul St. George (FB) Loyola
4–3 (30)   Jim Greenwood (T) Queen's
5–3 (39)   Bill Heinbacker (LB) Waterloo Lutheran
6–3 (47)   Charles McLaughlin (OL) British Columbia (UBC)
7–3   Pass
8–3   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway