The Edmonton Eskimos 1953 Season

Edmonton Eskimos 1953 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 2 0 0 4 40 25 W2 2-0-0
Regular Season 16 12 4 0 24 276 157 L2 4-2-0
    Home 8 6 2 0 12 137 71 L2 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 139 86 W2 5-1-0

Full 1953 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 9 (8-1-0) 6 (4-2-0) 1 (0-1-0)
After 2nd 5 (5-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 11 (11-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (0-3-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 12 (11-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (1-2-0)
After 4th 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Fri. Aug. 14
TOR 16 @ EDM 28 W 14,000  
B
Mon. Aug. 17
OTT 9 @ EDM 12 W 12,000  
1
Sat. Aug. 29
EDM 6 @ WPG 7 L 16,108  
1
Mon. Aug. 31
EDM 19 @ SSK 17 W 11,030  
2
Sat. Sept. 5
EDM 18 @ CGY 6 W 15,000  
2
Mon. Sept. 7
CGY 5 @ EDM 19 W 15,500  
3
Sat. Sept. 12
SSK 1 @ EDM 13 W 15,300  
3
Mon. Sept. 14
WPG 7 @ EDM 9 W 16,000  
4
Sat. Sept. 19
EDM 12 @ SSK 6 W 13,024  
5
Sat. Sept. 26
CGY 6 @ EDM 15 W 15,000  
5
Mon. Sept. 28
EDM 21 @ CGY 12 W 12,000  
6
Sat. Oct. 3
EDM 13 @ SSK 19 L 12,646  
6
Mon. Oct. 5
EDM 16 @ WPG 6 W 17,014  
7
Sat. Oct. 10
EDM 34 @ CGY 13 W    
7
Mon. Oct. 12
CGY 6 @ EDM 22 W 15,500  
8
Sat. Oct. 17
WPG 9 @ EDM 32 W    
8
Mon. Oct. 19
SSK 20 @ EDM 19 L 15,000  
9
Sat. Oct. 24
WPG 17 @ EDM 8 L 15,000  
P2
Sat. Nov. 7
WPG 7 @ EDM 25 W 15,500  
P2
Wed. Nov. 11
EDM 17 @ WPG 21 L 17,434  
P2
Sat. Nov. 14
WPG 30 @ EDM 24 L 16,000  

Edmonton Eskimos 1953 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.404 6-2-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
Calgary Stampeders (6) 0.219
Saskatchewan Roughriders (5) 0.531
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (5) 0.500

Team Scoring

19531952 +/-
Average Combined Score 27.06 -8.62
Average Winning Score 19.17 +0.17
Average Losing Score 11.50 -6.17
Average Home Score 17.13 -6.00
Average Visitor Score 17.38 +4.12
Average Margin of Victory 11.33 +3.67
Average Margin of Loss 4.25 -5.42

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 342963 311546 314778 414889 137 (17.1)139 (17.4)276 (17.3)
Opponent 13132 25227 201838 253560 86 (10.8)71 (8.9)157 (9.8)

Coaches

Head Coach

Edmonton Eskimos 1953 Player Awards and Nominations

1953 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Billy Vessels (Winner)

Edmonton Eskimos 1953 All-Star Selections

10 All-Division Selections
Coach Darrell Royal
QB Claude Arnold
HB Rollie Miles
HB Billy Vessels*
FB Normie Kwong
C Eagle “Buddy” Keys
G Jim Quondamatteo
T Leon Manley
DE Frankie Anderson
DHB Ray Willsey

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Holloway