The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1954 Season

Season Summary

Edmonton Eskimos 1954 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1954 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
1954 Record for Edmonton Eskimos unavilable as season pending.
Regular Season 16 11 5 0 22 255 163 W4 5-1-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 157 73 W4 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 98 90 W1 4-2-0

Full 1954 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1954 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.453 7-1-0 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.063
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.688
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.563

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1954 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Total: 139,033
  • High: 19,000
  • Avg: 17,379 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1953 Avg: +17,379
  • Low: 15,000
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 84.09
  • Diff from League Avg: +14,549

More 1954 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19541953 +/-
Average Combined Score 26.13 0.94 -
Average Winning Score 20.45 1.29 +
Average Losing Score 6.00 5.50 -
Average Home Score 19.63 2.50 +
Average Visitor Score 12.25 5.13 -
Average Margin of Victory 11.82 0.48 +
Average Margin of Loss 7.60 3.35 +

Stadium

  • 1954 home stadium: Clarke Stadium
  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 362662 343973 241438 631982 157 (19.6)98 (12.3)255 (15.9)
Opponent 61824 462369 102939 112031 90 (11.3)73 (9.1)163 (10.2)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (4-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 9 (8-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (3-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (0-3-0) 8 (7-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 3rd 6 (5-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1954 Player Awards and Nominations

1954 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Rollie Miles (Division Finalist)

Edmonton Eskimos 1954 All-Star Selections

5 All-Division Selections
HB Rollie Miles
HB Jackie Parker
C Eagle “Buddy” Keys
DE Frankie Anderson
HBT Rollie Miles

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
B 3
Mon. Aug. 16
EDM 18 @ OTT 19 L 6,635
1 9
Sat. Aug. 21
EDM 13 @ SSK 21 L 12,000
12
Mon. Aug. 23
EDM 3 @ WPG 7 L 17,385
3 19
Mon. Sept. 6
BC 6 @ EDM 12 W 18,000
4 21
Sat. Sept. 11
CGY 11 @ EDM 30 W 18,795
23
Mon. Sept. 13
EDM 6 @ CGY 20 L 15,090
5 27
Mon. Sept. 20
EDM 23 @ BC 13 W 21,186
6 30
Sat. Sept. 25
WPG 8 @ EDM 12 W 17,841
32
Mon. Sept. 27
SSK 8 @ EDM 6 L 15,161
7 33
Sat. Oct. 2
EDM 13 @ CGY 12 W 10,000
35
Mon. Oct. 4
CGY 6 @ EDM 21 W 17,000
8 38
Sat. Oct. 9
EDM 16 @ WPG 5 W 18,538
40
Mon. Oct. 11
EDM 2 @ SSK 12 L 14,778
9 41
Sat. Oct. 16
BC 3 @ EDM 31 W 15,000
43
Mon. Oct. 18
EDM 22 @ BC 0 W 13,136
10 46
Sat. Oct. 23
SSK 19 @ EDM 24 W 18,236
48
Mon. Oct. 25
WPG 12 @ EDM 21 W 19,000
P2 51
Sat. Nov. 6
WPG 3 @ EDM 9 W 19,817
52
Thu. Nov. 11
EDM 6 @ WPG 12 L 20,953
53
Sat. Nov. 13
WPG 5 @ EDM 10 W 17,000
P3 54
Sat. Nov. 20
KWD 6 @ EDM 38 W 8,000
GC 89
Sat. Nov. 27
1:00 PM
EDM 26 vs MTL 25 W 27,321 R/C, CBCE