The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1955 Season

Season Summary

Edmonton Eskimos 1955 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1955 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 2 2 0 0 4 50 24 W2 2-0-0
Regular Season 16 14 2 0 28 286 117 W2 4-2-0
    Home 8 8 0 0 16 183 60 W8 6-0-0
    Visitor 8 6 2 0 12 103 57 L2 4-2-0

Full 1955 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1955 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.406 8-0-0 (8) 6-2-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.313
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.250
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.438

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1955 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Total: 125,000
  • High: 19,500
  • Avg: 15,625 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1954 Avg: +15,625
  • Low: 12,500
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 75.60
  • Diff from League Avg: +14,205

More 1955 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19551954 +/-
Average Combined Score 25.19 0.94 -
Average Winning Score 20.21 0.24 -
Average Losing Score 1.50 4.50 -
Average Home Score 22.88 3.25 +
Average Visitor Score 12.88 0.63 +
Average Margin of Victory 13.00 1.18 +
Average Margin of Loss 6.50 1.10 -

Stadium

  • 1955 home stadium: Clarke Stadium
  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 472875 522577 422365 422769 183 (22.9)103 (12.9)286 (17.9)
Opponent 131932 28634 13132 18119 57 (7.1)60 (7.5)117 (7.3)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (5-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 10 (9-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (3-0-0)
After 2nd 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 3 (2-1-0) 11 (11-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (3-1-0)
After 3rd 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 12 (12-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0)
After 4th 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 14 (14-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1955 Player Awards and Nominations

1955 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jackie Parker (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Dale Meinert (Division Finalist)
  • Canadian Player — Normie Kwong (Winner)

Edmonton Eskimos 1955 All-Star Selections

12 All-Division Selections
Coach Frank “Pop” Ivy
QB Jackie Parker
HB Normie Kwong
C Kurt Burris
G Art Walker, Jr.
T Dale Meinert
DT Dale Meinert
DE Frankie Anderson
SEC Ted Tully
SEC Kurt Burris
DHB Rollie Miles
S Rupe Andrews, Jr.

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
A 2
Wed. Aug. 10
HAM 6 @ EDM 21 W 10,000
B 3
Sat. Aug. 13
TOR 18 @ EDM 29 W 10,000
1 7
Sat. Aug. 20
EDM 13 @ CGY 10 W 14,000
9
Mon. Aug. 22
EDM 13 @ WPG 9 W 16,835
2 10
Sat. Aug. 27
BC 12 @ EDM 29 W 17,500
3 14
Sat. Sept. 3
SSK 12 @ EDM 19 W 19,500
4 18
Sat. Sept. 10
EDM 18 @ BC 13 W 29,503
20
Mon. Sept. 12
CGY 12 @ EDM 24 W 15,000
5 23
Sat. Sept. 17
EDM 26 @ SSK 9 W 14,500
24
Mon. Sept. 19
WPG 8 @ EDM 14 W 12,500
6 27
Sat. Sept. 24
EDM 15 @ CGY 0 W 10,000
28
Mon. Sept. 26
EDM 15 @ BC 0 W 24,241
7 31
Sat. Oct. 1
EDM 0 @ WPG 12 L 18,884
32
Mon. Oct. 3
SSK 9 @ EDM 17 W 15,000
8 34
Sat. Oct. 8
BC 2 @ EDM 38 W 16,500
9 39
Sat. Oct. 15
EDM 3 @ SSK 4 L 11,590
10 40
Sat. Oct. 22
WPG 0 @ EDM 12 W 16,000
11 44
Sat. Oct. 29
CGY 5 @ EDM 30 W 13,000
P2 48
Fri. Nov. 11
EDM 29 @ WPG 6 W 15,553
49
Wed. Nov. 16
WPG 6 @ EDM 26 W 12,000
GC 81
Sat. Nov. 26
4:30 PM
MTL 19 vs EDM 34 W 39,471 R/C, CBCE