The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1956 Season

Season Summary

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 1 2 0 2 48 87 L2 1-2-0
Regular Season 16 11 5 0 22 358 235 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 227 110 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 131 125 L1 3-3-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.453 7-1-0 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.250
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.563

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1956 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Total: 144,737
  • High: 21,737
  • Avg: 18,092 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1955 Avg: +18,092
  • Low: 15,000
  • Sellouts: 1
  • % of Capacity: 87.54
  • Diff from League Avg: +13,747

More 1956 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.06 11.88 +
Average Winning Score 30.82 10.60 +
Average Losing Score 3.80 2.30 +
Average Home Score 28.38 5.50 +
Average Visitor Score 16.38 3.50 +
Average Margin of Victory 20.18 7.18 +
Average Margin of Loss 19.80 13.30 +

Stadium

  • 1956 home stadium: Clarke Stadium
  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 652489 6947116 483280 452873 227 (28.4)131 (16.4)358 (22.4)
Opponent 112940 5050100 242751 251944 125 (15.6)110 (13.8)235 (14.7)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (9-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jackie Parker (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Frankie Anderson (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Normie Kwong (Winner)

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9) Bobby Waugh (G) Toronto
2–9 (18) Earl Ford (G) Toronto
3–9 (27) Frank Geard (HB) Queen's
4–9 (34) Peter Martin (G) McMaster

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 All-Star Selections

7 All-Division Selections
Coach Frank “Pop” Ivy
QB Jackie Parker
HB Normie Kwong
DE Frankie Anderson
SEC Earl Lindley
SEC Ted Tully
DHB Rollie Miles

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A 1
Sat. Aug. 4
EDM 35 @ BC 21 W 23,566
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
B 5
Wed. Aug. 8
5:45 PM
EDM 0 @ MTL 33 L 22,806
6
Fri. Aug. 10
EDM 13 @ OTT 33 L 10,000
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1 6
Sat. Aug. 18
SSK 3 @ EDM 15 W 16,500
2 8
Sat. Aug. 25
CGY 22 @ EDM 23 W 16,500
10
Mon. Aug. 27
EDM 18 @ BC 0 W 30,374
3 14
Mon. Sept. 3
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 W 15,000
4 17
Sat. Sept. 8
EDM 4 @ SSK 31 L 13,500
18
Mon. Sept. 10
EDM 28 @ CGY 15 W 12,000
5 21
Sat. Sept. 15
BC 8 @ EDM 34 W 21,737
6 24
Sat. Sept. 22
CGY 0 @ EDM 52 W 20,000
26
Mon. Sept. 24
EDM 1 @ BC 11 L 23,066
7 29
Mon. Oct. 1
SSK 33 @ EDM 7 L 20,000
8 32
Sat. Oct. 6
EDM 7 @ WPG 10 L 18,700
33
Mon. Oct. 8
EDM 36 @ CGY 8 W 11,261
9 36
Sat. Oct. 13
EDM 37 @ SSK 17 W 14,500
38
Mon. Oct. 15
WPG 11 @ EDM 21 W 20,000
10 42
Mon. Oct. 22
BC 13 @ EDM 54 W 15,000
11 44
Sat. Oct. 27
EDM 0 @ WPG 33 L 14,409
P2 47
Sat. Nov. 10
EDM 22 @ SSK 23 L 13,500
48
Mon. Nov. 12
SSK 12 @ EDM 20 W 19,000
49
Sat. Nov. 17
SSK 7 @ EDM 51 W 22,461
Canadian Football Council
GC 90
Sat. Nov. 24
1:00 PM
EDM 50 vs MTL 27 W 27,425 R/C, CBCE