The Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Season

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 1 2 0 2 48 87 L2 1-2-0
Regular Season 16 11 5 0 22 358 235 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 7 1 0 14 227 110 W2 5-1-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 131 125 L1 3-3-0

Full 1956 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 2 (0-2-0) 9 (9-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (1-3-0)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 10 (9-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0)
After 3rd 6 (6-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 11 (10-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 4th 7 (7-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 11 (11-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (0-5-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Sat Aug 4
EDM 35 @ BC 21 W 23,566  
B
Wed Aug 8 5:45 PM
EDM 0 @ MTL 33 L 22,806  
B
Fri Aug 10
EDM 13 @ OTT 33 L 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
1
Sat Aug 18
SSK 3 @ EDM 15 W 16,500  
2
Sat Aug 25
CGY 22 @ EDM 23 W 16,500  
2
Mon Aug 27
EDM 18 @ BC 0 W 30,374  
3
Mon Sep 3
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 W 15,000  
4
Sat Sep 8
EDM 4 @ SSK 31 L 13,500  
4
Mon Sep 10
EDM 28 @ CGY 15 W 12,000  
5
Sat Sep 15
BC 8 @ EDM 34 W 21,737  
6
Sat Sep 22
CGY 0 @ EDM 52 W 20,000  
6
Mon Sep 24
EDM 1 @ BC 11 L 23,066  
7
Mon Oct 1
SSK 33 @ EDM 7 L 20,000  
8
Sat Oct 6
EDM 7 @ WPG 10 L 18,700  
8
Mon Oct 8
EDM 36 @ CGY 8 W 11,261  
9
Sat Oct 13
EDM 37 @ SSK 17 W 14,500  
9
Mon Oct 15
WPG 11 @ EDM 21 W 20,000  
10
Mon Oct 22
BC 13 @ EDM 54 W 15,000  
11
Sat Oct 27
EDM 0 @ WPG 33 L 14,409  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P2
Sat Nov 10
EDM 22 @ SSK 23 L 13,500  
P2
Mon Nov 12
SSK 12 @ EDM 20 W 19,000  
P2
Sat Nov 17
SSK 7 @ EDM 51 W 22,461  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
GC
Sat Nov 24 1:00 PM
EDM 50 vs MTL 27 W 27,425 R/C, CBCE

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.453 7-1-0 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.250
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.625
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.563

Team Scoring

19561955 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.06 +11.88
Average Winning Score 30.82 +10.60
Average Losing Score 3.80 +2.30
Average Home Score 28.38 +5.50
Average Visitor Score 16.38 +3.50
Average Margin of Victory 20.18 +7.18
Average Margin of Loss 19.80 +13.30

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 652489 6947116 483280 452873 227 (28.4)131 (16.4)358 (22.4)
Opponent 112940 5050100 242751 251944 125 (15.6)110 (13.8)235 (14.7)

Coaches

Head Coach

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Player Awards and Nominations

1956 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jackie Parker (Division Finalist)
  • Lineman — Frankie Anderson (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Normie Kwong (Winner)

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 All-Star Selections

7 All-Division Selections
Coach Frank “Pop” Ivy
QB Jackie Parker
HB Normie Kwong
DE Frankie Anderson
SEC Earl Lindley
SEC Ted Tully
DHB Rollie Miles

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Edmonton Eskimos 1956 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9)   Bobby Waugh (G) Toronto
2–9 (18)   Earl Ford (G) Toronto
3–9 (27)   Frank Geard (HB) Queen's
4–9 (34)   Peter Martin (G) McMaster

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020. All rights reserved

Server: Clements