The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1958 Season

Season Summary

Edmonton Eskimos 1958 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1958 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 2 1 0 4 34 40 L1 2-1-0
Regular Season 16 9 6 1 19 312 292 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 5 2 1 11 161 101 W2 4-1-1
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 151 191 L1 4-2-0

Full 1958 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1958 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.477 5-2-1 (8) 4-4-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.188
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.406
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.813

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

1958 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Total: 126,000
  • High: 20,000
  • Avg: 15,750 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1957 Avg: +15,750
  • Low: 8,000
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 76.21
  • Diff from League Avg: -2,215

More 1958 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19581957 +/-
Average Combined Score 37.75 0.81 -
Average Winning Score 24.78 6.79 -
Average Losing Score 13.00 3.50 -
Average Home Score 20.13 14.63 -
Average Visitor Score 18.88 5.75 -
Average Margin of Victory 12.56 11.59 -
Average Margin of Loss 15.50 13.00 +

Stadium

  • 1958 home stadium: Clarke Stadium
  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 444387 583795 201838 395392 161 (20.1)151 (18.9)312 (19.5)
Opponent 224466 4555100 211536 137790 191 (23.9)101 (12.6)292 (18.3)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 5 (3-1-1) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 5 (2-3-0) 7 (5-1-1) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (4-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 2 (1-0-1) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 7 (2-4-1)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-1-1) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 8 (7-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (2-5-1)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 9 (9-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 6 (0-6-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1958 Player Awards and Nominations

1958 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jackie Parker (Winner)
  • Lineman — Roger Nelson (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Normie Kwong (Team Nominee)

Edmonton Eskimos 1958 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–9 (9) John Tattle (HB) Toronto
2–9 (18) Bill Miller (T) Toronto
3–9 (24) Ray Johnston (T) Western Ontario
4–9 (29) Bill Halverson (G) Queen's
5–9 Pass

Edmonton Eskimos 1958 All-Star Selections

7 All-Division Selections
QB Jackie Parker
HB Johnny Bright
T Roger Nelson
DE Art Walker, Jr.
SEC Rollie Miles
SEC Ted Tully
S Oscar Kruger

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
B 3
Mon. Aug. 4
HAM 7 @ EDM 9 W 14,000
Inter-provincial Rugby Football Union
7
Fri. Aug. 8
EDM 19 @ HAM 7 W 14,000
C 9
Mon. Aug. 11
EDM 6 @ OTT 26 L 8,452
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1 6
Thu. Aug. 14
EDM 21 @ WPG 29 L 18,166
9
Mon. Aug. 18
SSK 6 @ EDM 40 W 18,000
2 11
Sat. Aug. 23
EDM 7 @ CGY 35 L 17,770
13
Mon. Aug. 25
WPG 15 @ EDM 8 L 17,000
4 17
Sat. Sept. 6
EDM 26 @ BC 7 W 26,653
19
Mon. Sept. 8
CGY 28 @ EDM 32 W 20,000
5 21
Sat. Sept. 13
BC 7 @ EDM 13 W 8,000
6 24
Sat. Sept. 20
EDM 26 @ SSK 13 W 12,789
7 27
Sat. Sept. 27
SSK 11 @ EDM 11 T 15,000
29
Mon. Sept. 29
EDM 13 @ WPG 43 L 18,559
8 31
Sat. Oct. 4
WPG 21 @ EDM 15 L 20,000
9 34
Sat. Oct. 11
CGY 10 @ EDM 17 W 15,000
36
Mon. Oct. 13
EDM 19 @ CGY 14 W 10,000
10 38
Sat. Oct. 18
EDM 25 @ BC 22 W 24,700
11 42
Sat. Oct. 25
BC 3 @ EDM 25 W 13,000
12 45
Sat. Nov. 1
EDM 14 @ SSK 28 L 9,000
P1 46
Sat. Nov. 8
EDM 27 @ SSK 11 W 12,000
47
Tue. Nov. 11
SSK 1 @ EDM 31 W 18,000
P2 48
Sat. Nov. 15
WPG 30 @ EDM 7 L 17,000
49
Wed. Nov. 19
EDM 30 @ WPG 7 W 16,880
50
Sat. Nov. 22
EDM 7 @ WPG 23 L 15,671