Season Summary

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Ex
Wed Jul 15 11:30 PM
EDM 15 @ CGY 10 W 7,000  
Ex
Tue Jul 21 8:00 PM
CGY 7 @ EDM 33 W 7,500  
Ex
Mon Aug 3
OTT 7 @ EDM 20 W 10,000  
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
2
Mon Aug 17
BC 12 @ EDM 0 L 14,000  
3
Mon Aug 24
SSK 0 @ EDM 55 W 14,000  
3
Thu Aug 27
EDM 16 @ WPG 1 W 18,928  
4
Mon Aug 31
EDM 7 @ BC 8 L 34,273  
5
Sat Sep 5
WPG 16 @ EDM 8 L 17,143  
5
Mon Sep 7 5:30 PM
EDM 16 @ CGY 10 W 17,200  
6
Sat Sep 12
CGY 20 @ EDM 27 W 20,000  
7
Sat Sep 19 4:00 PM
EDM 32 @ SSK 0 W 10,000  
7
Mon Sep 21
BC 7 @ EDM 29 W 18,000  
8
Mon Sep 28
EDM 10 @ WPG 13 L 17,707  
9
Sat Oct 3
SSK 15 @ EDM 44 W 17,500  
10
Sat Oct 10
EDM 38 @ BC 14 W 28,679  
10
Mon Oct 12 5:00 PM
CGY 41 @ EDM 23 L 15,500 CTVW
11
Sat Oct 17 11:30 PM
EDM 24 @ CGY 25 L 17,000  
11
Mon Oct 19
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 W 15,500  
12
Sat Oct 24 4:00 PM
EDM 20 @ SSK 19 W 8,000  
Week Date/Time (EST Result Attendance TV
P1
Sat Oct 31
EDM 20 @ BC 8 W 33,993  
P1
Wed Nov 4 10:00 PM
BC 7 @ EDM 41 W 16,000 CBC
P2
Wed Nov 11 2:00 PM
WPG 19 @ EDM 11 L 16,000  
P2
Sat Nov 14 3:00 PM
EDM 8 @ WPG 16 L 15,872 CBC
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 370 221 W2 4-2-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 207 131 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 163 90 W1 4-2-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 5 (3-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 7 (5-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (9-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (7-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.469 5-3-0 (8) 5-3-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750
19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.94 -0.81
Average Winning Score 29.80 +5.02
Average Losing Score 12.00 -1.00
Average Home Score 25.88 +5.75
Average Visitor Score 20.38 +1.50
Average Margin of Victory 19.20 +6.64
Average Margin of Loss 7.17 -8.33
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 263561 7569144 283159 7828106 207 (25.9)163 (20.4)370 (23.1)
Opponent 341044 302656 321850 353671 90 (11.3)131 (16.4)221 (13.8)
Head Coaches
Edmonton Eskimos 1959 Player Awards and Nominations
1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Johnny Bright (Winner)
  • Lineman — Roger Nelson (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Don Getty, Sr. (Division Finalist)
Edmonton Eskimos 1959 All-Star Selections
7 All-Division Selections
HB Johnny Bright
HB Jackie Parker
T Roger Nelson
DT Art Walker, Jr.
DE Ed Gray
ILB Al Ecuyer
CLB Rollie Miles

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

1959 Edmonton Eskimos Canadian Amateur Draft Picks
Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   Julian Porter (T) Toronto
2–7 (16)   Ron Delisle (C) Queen's
3–7 (21)   Brian Aston (QB) Toronto
4–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2021. All rights reserved

Server: Holloway