The Edmonton Eskimos 1959 Season

Season Summary

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1959 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 3 3 0 0 6 68 24 W3 3-0-0
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 370 221 W2 4-2-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 207 131 W1 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 163 90 W1 4-2-0

Full 1959 League Standings

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 4 (2-2-0) 5 (3-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 7 (5-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 1 (0-1-0) 11 (9-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-1-0) 10 (7-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-3-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A
Wed. July 15
EDM 15 @ CGY 10 W 7,000  
A
Tue. July 21
CGY 7 @ EDM 33 W 7,500  
B
Mon. Aug. 3
OTT 7 @ EDM 20 W 10,000  
2
Mon. Aug. 17
BC 12 @ EDM 0 L 14,000  
3
Mon. Aug. 24
SSK 0 @ EDM 55 W 14,000  
3
Thu. Aug. 27
EDM 16 @ WPG 1 W 18,928  
4
Mon. Aug. 31
EDM 7 @ BC 8 L 34,273  
5
Sat. Sept. 5
WPG 16 @ EDM 8 L 17,143  
5
Mon. Sept. 7
EDM 16 @ CGY 10 W 17,200  
6
Sat. Sept. 12
CGY 20 @ EDM 27 W 20,000  
7
Sat. Sept. 19
EDM 32 @ SSK 0 W 10,000  
7
Mon. Sept. 21
BC 7 @ EDM 29 W 18,000  
8
Mon. Sept. 28
EDM 10 @ WPG 13 L 17,707  
9
Sat. Oct. 3
SSK 15 @ EDM 44 W 17,500  
10
Sat. Oct. 10
EDM 38 @ BC 14 W 28,679  
10
Mon. Oct. 12
CGY 41 @ EDM 23 L 15,500  
11
Sat. Oct. 17
EDM 24 @ CGY 25 L 17,000  
11
Mon. Oct. 19
WPG 20 @ EDM 21 W 15,500  
12
Sat. Oct. 24
EDM 20 @ SSK 19 W 8,000  
P1
Sat. Oct. 31
EDM 20 @ BC 8 W 33,993  
P1
Wed. Nov. 4 10:00 PM
BC 7 @ EDM 41 W 16,000 CBC
P2
Wed. Nov. 11 2:00 PM
WPG 19 @ EDM 11 L 16,000  
P2
Sat. Nov. 14 3:00 PM
EDM 8 @ WPG 16 L 15,872 CBC

Edmonton Eskimos 1959 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.469 5-3-0 (8) 5-3-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.563
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.500
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.063
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.750

Team Scoring

19591958 +/-
Average Combined Score 36.94 -0.81
Average Winning Score 29.80 +5.02
Average Losing Score 12.00 -1.00
Average Home Score 25.88 +5.75
Average Visitor Score 20.38 +1.50
Average Margin of Victory 19.20 +6.64
Average Margin of Loss 7.17 -8.33

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 263561 7569144 283159 7828106 207 (25.9)163 (20.4)370 (23.1)
Opponent 341044 302656 321850 353671 90 (11.3)131 (16.4)221 (13.8)

Coaches

Head Coaches

Edmonton Eskimos 1959 Player Awards and Nominations

1959 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Johnny Bright (Winner)
  • Lineman — Roger Nelson (Winner)
  • Canadian Player — Don Getty, Sr. (Division Finalist)

Edmonton Eskimos 1959 All-Star Selections

7 All-Division Selections
HB Johnny Bright
HB Jackie Parker
T Roger Nelson
DT Art Walker, Jr.
DE Ed Gray
ILB Al Ecuyer
CLB Rollie Miles

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Edmonton Eskimos 1959 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–7 (7)   Julian Porter (T) Toronto
2–7 (16)   Ron Delisle (C) Queen's
3–7 (21)   Brian Aston (QB) Toronto
4–7   Pass

CFLdb is not affiliated with the CFL, CFLPA, any other Canadian Football organization or really anybody at all.
All information located herein is unofficial and not sanctioned by the CFL. For entertainment purposes only.

Original content © Copyright CFLdb 2008–2020 All rights reserved

Server: Clements