The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1960 Season

Season Summary

Edmonton Eskimos 1960 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1960 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 85 69 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 318 225 W1 2-4-0
    Home 8 5 3 0 10 162 104 L2 3-3-0
    Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 156 121 W1 4-2-0

Full 1960 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1960 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.469 5-3-0 (8) 5-3-0 (8)
Non-Divisional 0.000 0-0-0 (0) 0-0-0 (0)
BC Lions (4) 0.375
Calgary Stampeders (4) 0.438
Saskatchewan Roughriders (4) 0.188
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (4) 0.875

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

1960 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Total: 115,540
  • High: 19,550
  • Avg: 16,505 (7 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1959 Avg: +50
  • Low: 13,500
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 79.87
  • Diff from League Avg: +13,441

More 1960 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19601959 +/-
Average Combined Score 33.94 3.00 -
Average Winning Score 23.20 6.60 -
Average Losing Score 14.33 2.33 +
Average Home Score 20.25 5.63 -
Average Visitor Score 19.50 0.88 -
Average Margin of Victory 14.80 4.40 -
Average Margin of Loss 9.17 2.00 +

Stadium

  • 1960 home stadium: Clarke Stadium
  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 305080 443276 491766 395796 162 (20.3)156 (19.5)318 (19.9)
Opponent 352863 312960 94352 292150 121 (15.1)104 (13.0)225 (14.1)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (3-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 7 (5-2-0) 4 (3-1-0) 5 (2-3-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-1-0) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 4 (3-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 8 (6-2-0) 3 (3-0-0) 5 (1-4-0)
After 3rd 5 (4-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 2 (1-1-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 8 (7-1-0) 1 (0-1-0) 7 (3-4-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1960 Player Awards and Nominations

1960 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jackie Parker (Winner)
  • Lineman — Roger Nelson (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Bill Smith (Team Nominee)

Edmonton Eskimos 1960 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
No draft picks for 1960 in database.

Edmonton Eskimos 1960 All-Star Selections

5 All-Division Selections
QB Jackie Parker
HB Johnny Bright
T Roger Nelson
DE Ed Gray
DHB Bill Smith

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Game Details (EDT
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
A 1
Fri. July 15
MTL 0 @ EDM 38 W 9,000
3
Wed. July 20
EDM 4 @ CGY 17 L 9,000
Eastern Conference
C 7
Mon. Aug. 8
8:00 PM
EDM 14 @ MTL 28 L 19,570
8
Wed. Aug. 10
8:00 PM
EDM 29 @ OTT 24 W 8,350
Western Inter-provincial Football Union
1 10
Mon. Aug. 15
BC 14 @ EDM 33 W 17,500
2 14
Mon. Aug. 22
SSK 1 @ EDM 19 W 17,000
3 15
Thu. Aug. 25
EDM 14 @ WPG 18 L 17,300
17
Mon. Aug. 29
EDM 26 @ BC 0 W 28,420
4 20
Sat. Sept. 3
WPG 15 @ EDM 14 L 19,550
21
Mon. Sept. 5
EDM 29 @ CGY 28 W 19,000
5 23
Sat. Sept. 10
CGY 10 @ EDM 41 W 17,993
6 26
Fri. Sept. 16
EDM 29 @ SSK 6 W 10,100
29
Mon. Sept. 19
BC 10 @ EDM 18 W
8 32
Mon. Sept. 26
EDM 15 @ WPG 2 W 20,950
9 33
Fri. Sept. 30
SSK 2 @ EDM 9 W 14,997
10 36
Thu. Oct. 6
EDM 13 @ BC 21 L 21,707
37
Sat. Oct. 8
CGY 31 @ EDM 11 L 13,500
11 40
Sat. Oct. 15
EDM 17 @ CGY 35 L 17,000
42
Mon. Oct. 17
WPG 21 @ EDM 17 L 15,000
12 44
Sat. Oct. 22
EDM 13 @ SSK 11 W 6,600
P1 47
Wed. Nov. 2
CGY 7 @ EDM 30 W 16,012
48
Sat. Nov. 5
3:00 PM
EDM 40 @ CGY 21 W 20,000 CBC
P2 49
Sat. Nov. 12
WPG 22 @ EDM 16 L 17,500
50
Mon. Nov. 14
9:30 PM
EDM 10 @ WPG 5 W 16,708 CBC
51
Sat. Nov. 19
3:00 PM
EDM 4 @ WPG 2 W 18,600 CBC
Canadian Football League
GC 92
Sat. Nov. 26
4:30 PM
OTT 16 vs EDM 6 L 38,102 R/C, CBC