The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1968 Season

Season Summary

Edmonton Eskimos 1968 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1968 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 60 59 W3 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 8 7 1 17 228 288 L1 4-2-0
    Home 8 4 3 1 9 112 125 W3 4-2-0
    Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 116 163 L1 3-3-0
   Divisional opponent 12 6 5 1 13 165 195 L1 4-2-0
   Non-divisional opponent 4 2 2 0 4 63 93 L1 2-2-0

Full 1968 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1968 Opponent Appearances

Opponent Opp. Win %
Divisional 0.469 3-2-1 (6) 3-3-0 (6)
Non-Divisional 0.527 1-1-0 (2) 1-1-0 (2)
BC Lions (3) 0.281
Calgary Stampeders (3) 0.625
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3) 0.781
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3) 0.188
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1) 0.464
Montreal Alouettes (1) 0.286
Ottawa Rough Riders (1) 0.714
Toronto Argonauts (1) 0.643

Team Scoring

19681967 +/-
Average Combined Score 32.25 +0.25
Average Winning Score 20.13 -2.76
Average Losing Score 8.14 +0.48
Average Home Score 14.00 -3.50
Average Visitor Score 14.50 -1.25
Average Margin of Victory 7.25 -4.08
Average Margin of Loss 16.86 +3.19

1968 Edmonton Eskimos Attendance

  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Total: 146,849
  • High: 21,691
  • Avg: 18,356 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Diff from 1967 Avg: +302
  • Low: 15,011
  • Sellouts: 2
  • % of Capacity: 88.82
  • Diff from League Avg: -2,398

More 1968 Attendance Numbers

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Stadium

  • 1968 home stadium: Clarke Stadium
  • Capacity: 20,667
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1954 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

288 (18.0)
1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 193453 371956 213556 352863 112 (14.0)116 (14.5)228 (14.3)
Opponent 153449 315788 343064 454287 163 (20.4)125 (15.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (3-0-0) 3 (1-1-1) 2 (0-2-0) 3 (2-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 6 (5-1-0) 3 (1-1-1) 7 (2-5-0)
After 2nd 4 (3-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (2-4-0) 6 (5-0-1) 0 (0-0-0) 10 (3-7-0)
After 3rd 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (1-4-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 8 (1-7-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 3 (0-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 1 (0-0-1) 7 (0-7-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1968 Player Awards and Nominations

1968 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Jim “Long Gone” Thomas (Team Nominee)
  • Lineman — John LaGrone, III (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Roy Shatzko (Team Nominee)

Edmonton Eskimos 1968 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–2 (2) [MTL] Larry Plancke (FL) Queen's
2–4 (13)   Doug Dersch (FL) Calgary
3–4 (22)   Jim Reinson (OG) Calgary
4–4 (31)   Gene Lobay Alberta
5–4   Pass
6–4   Pass
7–4   Pass
8–4   Pass
9–4   Pass
10–4   Pass
11–4   Pass

Edmonton Eskimos 1968 All-Star Selections

1 All-Canadian Selections
DT John LaGrone, III
1 All-Division Selections
DT John LaGrone, III

* – indicates unanimous selection

See an error? Please send corrections.

Week Date/Time (EDT Result Attendance TV
A
Sun. July 7
EDM 3 @ CGY 28 L 12,700  
B
Fri. July 12
SSK 12 @ EDM 16 W 8,500  
B
Mon. July 15
EDM 24 @ WPG 13 W 5,000  
C
Sun. July 21
MTL 6 @ EDM 17 W 12,000  
1
Wed. July 31
EDM 27 @ MTL 10 W 14,500  
1
Fri. Aug. 2
EDM 4 @ TOR 32 L 25,991  
2
Wed. Aug. 7
SSK 10 @ EDM 10 T 16,960  
3
Thu. Aug. 15
EDM 18 @ BC 17 W 25,722  
4
Tue. Aug. 20
BC 12 @ EDM 4 L 17,305  
5
Wed. Aug. 28
CGY 12 @ EDM 7 L 21,691  
5
Mon. Sept. 2
EDM 2 @ SSK 29 L 19,763  
6
Sun. Sept. 8
EDM 10 @ CGY 8 W 17,761  
7
Wed. Sept. 11
OTT 20 @ EDM 25 W 18,600  
8
Sun. Sept. 22
EDM 13 @ WPG 25 L 13,000  
9
Sat. Sept. 28
HAM 31 @ EDM 7 L 21,500  
10
Sat. Oct. 5
BC 5 @ EDM 13 W 16,551  
11
Sun. Oct. 13
EDM 22 @ WPG 8 W 12,000  
12
Sun. Oct. 20
CGY 13 @ EDM 14 W 19,231  
13
Sun. Oct. 27
WPG 22 @ EDM 32 W 15,011  
14
Wed. Oct. 30
EDM 20 @ SSK 34 L 17,048  
P1
Sun. Nov. 10
EDM 13 @ CGY 29 L 23,380