The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1977 Season

Season Summary

Edmonton Eskimos 1977 Full Schedule/Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1977 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 3 1 0 6 92 79 W1 3-1-0
Regular Season 16 10 6 0 20 412 320 W5 5-1-0
Home 8 5 3 0 10 215 138 W3 4-2-0
Visitor 8 5 3 0 10 197 182 W2 3-3-0
Intra-division 12 9 3 0 18 337 222 W4 4-2-0
Inter-division 4 1 3 0 2 75 98 W1 1-3-0

Full 1977 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1977 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)0-1-0 (1)1-1-0 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)2-0-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1)--0-1-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (1)0-1-0 (1)--
Ottawa Rough Riders (1)--0-1-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)1-0-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (1)1-0-0 (1)--
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3)1-1-0 (2)1-0-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Edmonton Eskimos 1977 Attendance

  • Capacity: 24,000
  • High: 25,875
  • Avg: 25,324 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1976 Avg: -373
  • Low: 23,123
  • Sellouts: 7
  • % of Capacity: 105.52
  • Variance from League Avg: -5,978

More 1977 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19771976 +/-
Average Combined Score 20.94 0.44 -
Average Winning Score 29.60 9.49 +
Average Losing Score 19.33 2.17 +
Average Home Score 26.88 10.13 +
Average Visitor Score 24.63 2.50 +
Average Margin of Victory 29.60 9.49 +
Average Margin of Loss 25.83 1.50 +

Stadium

  • 1977 home stadium: Clarke Stadium
  • Capacity: 24,000
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1975 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 6340103 5455109 6153114 374986 215 (26.9)197 (24.6)412 (25.8)
Opponent 363672 5864122 231437 216889 182 (22.8)138 (17.3)320 (20.0)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 4 (3-1-0) 3 (1-2-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (2-2-0) 8 (6-2-0) 3 (1-2-0) 5 (3-2-0)
After 2nd 3 (3-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 5 (2-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 7 (7-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (2-6-0)
After 3rd 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)
After 4th 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 5 (5-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (0-3-0) 10 (10-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (0-6-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1977 Player Awards and Nominations

1977 Most Outstanding
  • Player — Larry Highbaugh (Team Nominee)
  • Defensive Player — Dan Kepley (Winner)
  • Offensive Lineman — Charlie Turner (Team Nominee)
  • Canadian Player — Dave Fennell (Team Nominee)
  • Rookie — Jim Germany (Team Nominee)

Edmonton Eskimos 1977 Draft Picks

Round–Pick
(Overall)
[Via]Player (Position)College/Program
1–6 (6) Bob Cameron (QB) Acadia
1–7 (7) [HAM] Tom Chad (DB) Saskatchewan
2–6 (15) J.P. Brescacin (TE) North Dakota State
3–6 (24) Dave Beaton (DT) Simon Fraser
4–6 (33) Ray Clark (DB) Simon Fraser
5–6 (42) Larry Sandre (WR) Windsor
6–6 (51) Jim Duncan (RB) Queen's
7–6 (60) Mike Warbick (WR) Wilfrid Laurier
8–6 (69) Dale Gullekson (RB) Alberta
9–6 (78) Lubomir Alexov (DE) Toronto
10–6 (None) ()
Week Details (CST
B 6
Sat. June 18
OTT 24 @ EDM 27 W 24,680
C 10
Sun. June 26
EDM 18 @ MTL 16 W 22,147
D 15
Fri. July 1
BC 19 @ EDM 8 L 25,118
18
Tue. July 5
EDM 39 @ SSK 20 W 17,073
2 24
Mon. July 18
8:00 PM
WPG 29 @ EDM 26 L 25,842 CTVW
3 31
Wed. July 27
7:00 PM
EDM 43 @ WPG 13 W 25,210 CTVW
4 32
Tue. Aug. 2
7:30 PM
SSK 9 @ EDM 34 W 25,618 CBCW
5 36
Tue. Aug. 9
EDM 24 @ BC 18 W 26,131
6 40
Tue. Aug. 16
8:00 PM
CGY 19 @ EDM 32 W 25,761 CBCW
7 47
Wed. Aug. 24
6:00 PM
EDM 22 @ HAM 27 L 23,725 CTV
8 49
Tue. Aug. 30
7:30 PM
MTL 25 @ EDM 20 L 25,875 R/C
9 52
Mon. Sept. 5
2:30 PM
EDM 22 @ CGY 8 W 26,657
11 61
Sat. Sept. 17
7:30 PM
BC 20 @ EDM 18 L 25,858
12 64
Sat. Sept. 24
EDM 13 @ BC 30 L 32,419
13 68
Sat. Oct. 1
12:00 PM
EDM 17 @ OTT 34 L 21,312 CTV
14 74
Mon. Oct. 10
2:30 PM
WPG 24 @ EDM 31 W 23,123 CBC
15 78
Sun. Oct. 16
2:30 PM
EDM 33 @ SSK 31 W 22,452 CTV
16 81
Sun. Oct. 23
3:00 PM
TOR 12 @ EDM 16 W 25,388 CTV
17 85
Sun. Oct. 30
3:30 PM
EDM 23 @ CGY 21 W 24,890 CBC
18 90
Sun. Nov. 6
3:30 PM
SSK 0 @ EDM 38 W 25,131 CBCW
P2 95
Sun. Nov. 20
3:00 PM
BC 1 @ EDM 38 W 25,327 CBC
GC 96
Sun. Nov. 27
12:00 PM
EDM 6 @ MTL 41 L 68,205 R/C, CTV, CBC