The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1979 Season

Season Summary

1979 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1979 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 2 2 0 4 138 98 W1 2-2-0
Regular Season 16 12 2 2 26 495 219 W2 4-2-0
Home 8 8 0 0 16 311 80 W8 6-0-0
Visitor 8 4 2 2 10 184 139 W1 3-2-1
Intra-division 12 9 2 1 19 374 155 W2 4-2-0
Inter-division 4 3 0 1 7 121 64 W3 3-0-1

Full 1979 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1979 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (3)1-0-0 (1)1-0-1 (2)
Calgary Stampeders (3)1-0-0 (1)1-1-0 (2)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (1)--1-0-0 (1)
Montreal Alouettes (1)1-0-0 (1)--
Ottawa Rough Riders (1)--0-0-1 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (3)2-0-0 (2)0-1-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (1)1-0-0 (1)--
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (3)2-0-0 (2)1-0-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coach

More Head Coaches

Edmonton Eskimos 1979 Attendance

  • Capacity: 42,500
  • High: 43,321
  • Avg: 42,540 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1978 Avg: +6,513
  • Low: 40,231
  • Sellouts: 7
  • % of Capacity: 100.10
  • Variance from League Avg: +11,443

More 1979 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19791978 +/-
Average Combined Score 44.63 2.44 -
Average Winning Score 34.42 0.32 +
Average Losing Score 22.00 6.25 +
Average Home Score 38.88 14.75 +
Average Visitor Score 23.00 9.38 -
Average Margin of Victory 23.67 4.07 +
Average Margin of Loss 11.25 -

Stadium

  • 1979 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 42,500
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1978 – Opened 1978

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 7624100 10060160 583593 7765142 311 (38.9)184 (23.0)495 (30.9)
Opponent 142337 284270 134154 253358 139 (17.4)80 (10.0)219 (13.7)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 6 (6-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 1 (1-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 3 (1-1-1) 2 (1-0-1) 9 (8-1-0) 4 (2-1-1) 3 (2-0-1)
After 2nd 6 (6-0-0) 2 (2-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (3-2-1) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (1-0-1) 12 (9-2-1) 2 (2-0-0) 2 (1-0-1)
After 3rd 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (2-1-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (2-1-1) 11 (10-1-0) 1 (0-0-1) 4 (2-1-1)
After 4th 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (4-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 2 (0-2-0) 12 (12-0-0) 2 (0-0-2) 2 (0-2-0)
Week Game Date Time (CEST ) Result Attendance TV
A 3 Tue. June 12 11:30 PM BC 32 @ EDM 27 L 41,326
B 8 Tue. June 19 EDM 31 @ TOR 16 W 35,741
C 10 Sun. June 24 OTT 30 @ EDM 27 L 41,379
14 Sat. June 30 4:00 AM EDM 53 @ SSK 20 W 17,460
1 20 Wed. July 11 2:00 AM EDM 28 @ WPG 10 W 24,024 CBCW
2 24 Wed. July 18 3:30 AM SSK 20 @ EDM 52 W 43,321
4 32 Wed. Aug. 1 4:30 AM CGY 9 @ EDM 44 W 42,887
5 35 Wed. Aug. 8 5:00 AM EDM 14 @ BC 14 T 30,137
6 39 Wed. Aug. 15 2:00 AM EDM 24 @ OTT 24 T 27,050
7 44 Wed. Aug. 22 3:30 AM WPG 13 @ EDM 41 W 42,778
8 48 Wed. Aug. 29 3:30 AM TOR 13 @ EDM 28 W 42,778 CBC
9 51 Mon. Sept. 3 10:30 PM EDM 27 @ CGY 1 W 34,825 CTV
10 56 Sun. Sept. 9 10:30 PM SSK 0 @ EDM 40 W 40,231 CBCW
11 60 Sun. Sept. 16 10:30 PM BC 8 @ EDM 40 W 42,776 CBCW
12 65 Sun. Sept. 23 9:00 PM EDM 22 @ HAM 21 W 18,186 CBC
13 69 Sun. Sept. 30 9:30 PM EDM 19 @ CGY 26 L 33,245
14 72 Mon. Oct. 8 9:30 PM MTL 6 @ EDM 47 W 42,778 R/C, CBC
15 78 Sun. Oct. 14 9:30 PM EDM 25 @ SSK 26 L 20,042
17 85 Sun. Oct. 28 10:30 PM WPG 11 @ EDM 19 W 42,778 CBCR
18 87 Sun. Nov. 4 5:00 AM EDM 25 @ BC 17 W 26,575 CTV
Playoffs Week 2 94 Sun. Nov. 18 10:00 PM CGY 7 @ EDM 19 W 43,033 CBC
Grey Cup 95 Sun. Nov. 25 7:30 PM EDM 17 @ MTL 9 W 65,113 CTV, CBC