The Edmonton Eskimos’ 1983 Season

Season Summary

1983 Full Schedule and Results

Team Roster and Stats

Edmonton Eskimos 1983 Record
GP W L T PTS PF PA Streak L6
Pre-season 4 1 3 0 2 94 121 L1 1-3-0
Regular Season 16 8 8 0 16 450 377 L2 2-4-0
Home 8 4 4 0 8 222 204 L1 3-3-0
Visitor 8 4 4 0 8 228 173 L3 2-4-0
Intra-division 8 3 5 0 6 204 215 L1 2-4-0
Inter-division 8 5 3 0 10 246 162 L1 3-3-0

Full 1983 League Standings

Edmonton Eskimos 1983 Opponent Appearances

Opponent@ EDMEDM @
BC Lions (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Calgary Stampeders (2)1-0-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Hamilton Tiger-Cats (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Ottawa Rough Riders (2)0-1-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Saskatchewan Roughriders (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)
Toronto Argonauts (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Winnipeg Blue Bombers (2)0-1-0 (1)0-1-0 (1)
Montreal Concordes (2)1-0-0 (1)1-0-0 (1)

Coaches

Head Coaches

More Head Coaches

Edmonton Eskimos 1983 Attendance

  • Capacity: 60,081
  • High: 53,577
  • Avg: 50,021 (8 out of 8 games)
  • Variance over 1982 Avg: -7,879
  • Low: 39,742
  • Sellouts: 0
  • % of Capacity: 83.26
  • Variance from League Avg: +19,818

More 1983 Attendance Numbers

Team Scoring

19831982 +/-
Average Combined Score 51.69 2.50 -
Average Winning Score 39.38 0.92 +
Average Losing Score 16.88 7.33 -
Average Home Score 27.75 4.13 -
Average Visitor Score 28.50 7.63 -
Average Margin of Victory 17.63 6.38 -
Average Margin of Loss 8.50 0.10 -

Stadium

  • 1983 home stadium: Commonwealth Stadium
  • Capacity: 60,081
  • Playing surface: Natural Grass
  • Previous stadium change: 1983 – Expansion

More Stadiums

Regular Season Scoring Summary by Quarter

1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
HVT HVT HVT HVT H (PPG)V (PPG)T (PPG)
Edmonton 354075 7573148 5058108 6257119 222 (27.8)228 (28.5)450 (28.1)
Opponent 424486 7834112 503787 345892 173 (21.6)204 (25.5)377 (23.6)

Lead/Trailed Record by Quarter

Home Visitor Total
Quarter Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record) Lead (Record) Tied (Record) Trailed (Record)
After 1st 3 (2-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 7 (6-1-0) 1 (1-0-0) 8 (1-7-0)
After 2nd 5 (3-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 3 (1-2-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 9 (7-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 7 (1-6-0)
After 3rd 4 (3-1-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (1-3-0) 6 (4-2-0) 0 (0-0-0) 2 (0-2-0) 10 (7-3-0) 0 (0-0-0) 6 (1-5-0)
After 4th 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 4 (4-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 4 (0-4-0) 8 (8-0-0) 0 (0-0-0) 8 (0-8-0)

Edmonton Eskimos 1983 Stars of the Week

Offensive Star

  • 2 – Warren Moon

Defensive Star

  • 1 – James Parker
  • 1 – Larry Highbaugh

Lineman Star

  • 1 – Tom Tuinei
  • 1 – Leo Blanchard
Week Game Date Time (CEST ) Result Attendance TV
A 4 Fri. June 10 BC 52 @ EDM 20 L 42,196
B 9 Sun. June 19 3:00 AM EDM 9 @ SSK 20 L 22,095
C 11 Thu. June 23 3:30 AM WPG 17 @ EDM 34 W 38,951
D 17 Thu. June 30 3:30 AM EDM 31 @ CGY 32 L 21,838
1 22 Sat. July 9 11:00 PM EDM 35 @ HAM 32 W 17,211 CBC
2 24 Sat. July 16 1:30 AM WPG 20 @ EDM 18 L 39,742 CTV
4 31 Fri. July 29 2:00 AM EDM 44 @ OTT 4 W 18,622
5 35 Sat. Aug. 6 1:30 AM SSK 21 @ EDM 36 W 51,448 CTV
6 39 Sat. Aug. 13 1:30 AM BC 43 @ EDM 13 L 52,765 CTV
7 44 Sat. Aug. 20 11:30 PM EDM 28 @ MTL 15 W 20,126 CBC
8 48 Sat. Aug. 27 1:30 AM OTT 17 @ EDM 14 L 49,880 CTV
9 53 Mon. Sept. 5 8:00 PM EDM 15 @ CGY 18 L 30,481 CBC
10 58 Sun. Sept. 11 8:00 PM HAM 21 @ EDM 50 W 51,428 CTV
11 62 Sun. Sept. 18 7:30 PM EDM 46 @ SSK 21 W 28,377
12 66 Sun. Sept. 25 8:00 PM EDM 30 @ BC 31 L 52,430 CBC
13 70 Sun. Oct. 2 7:00 PM CGY 28 @ EDM 31 W 52,255 CTV
14 72 Sun. Oct. 9 6:30 PM EDM 15 @ TOR 19 L 27,746 CBC
15 76 Sun. Oct. 16 12:30 AM MTL 32 @ EDM 45 W 49,074 CTV
16 82 Sun. Oct. 23 7:00 PM EDM 15 @ WPG 33 L 24,206 CBC
17 84 Sun. Oct. 30 12:30 AM TOR 22 @ EDM 15 L 53,577 CTV
Playoffs Week 1 92 Sun. Nov. 13 10:00 PM EDM 22 @ WPG 49 L 31,379 CTV